We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
IsaS
Pongola, South Africa

A place to return whenever in Durban area!

Review of Lavender Moon
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Jun 2023
Superb location, close to restaurants and beach, very quiet and safe area. Very warm welcome of host, rooms are modern and practically decorated. Great view from breakfast room onto the Indian Ocean! We will definitely be back soon.
Date of stay: May 2023
Room Tip: Great location, quiet and safe area, wonderful welcoming host
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 099
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.6 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 144
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 144
0.8 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor Pool
R 2 040
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    R 2 038
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 265
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 248
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 649
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 649
1.0 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior with pool and ocean views
R 4 991
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 490
  • Algotels
1.1 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 949
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Expedia.com
    R 949
0.9 km from Lavender Moon
Free parking
Pool
nice big beds
R 2 779
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
2.0 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 755
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 6 625
  • Booking.com
1.1 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 017
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Lavender Moon
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
33
3
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 37 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2021 via mobile

The team make you feel welcome. Breakfast is served promptly while you enjoy the beautiful view of the sea or sitting by the pool. The rooms and living area is tastefully modern furnished and more importantly, practical. I love the setting.

Room tip: Pack light. Everything is in the room, soap, cream, towels.. The full bouquet of DSTV and decent filter coffee.
Date of stay: September 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Road01393017748
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire Cocks, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2021

Thank you Natie….
It is always lovely to have you and your staff stay here, the more you stay the more it feels like family coming to visit ☺️

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2019 via mobile

How absolutely stunning! Beautifully furnished and decorated rooms that tie in with the overall feel of the guest house. The calming scent that lingers across the space, the honesty bar, the sparkling cleanliness and the lovely ocean view are all just as impressive as the warm, friendly owner/hostess. Conveniently located just around the corner from Gateway shopping Centre in an upmarket area of Umhlanga, and a 15 minute Uber from King Shaka airport. I’m so impressed with the value for money, comfort and sophistication of Lavender Moon - looking forward to returning! Thank you Claire for being so welcoming and helpful!

Date of stay: December 2019
Thank Nikki_CapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
claire225c, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 10 December 2019

Thank you for your kind words!! I am glad you had a great stay with us!! And we look forward to having you back next time you this side of the country.

All our reviews mean so much to us and we appreciate the time you took to write them. Thank you very much!!!

Will see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2019

My wife and I had a brilliant 3 night stay at the Lavender Moon guest house. The owner, Claire, really cares about her guests and makes them feel special. The guest house is modern and finished to a very high standard. There is also a pool and sun lounger area which has sun from early morning to around 4.45pm (in February). The house is located almost equidistant between the beach / the majority of good restaurants and the Gateway shopping centre, so it has the best of both worlds. In addition, breakfasts are a real delight. I cannot recommend the Lavender Moon highly enough.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 668garyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
claire225c, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2019

Hi Gary,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. I am so grateful for every word.
It was really so lovely having you both here, I was genuinely sad when you guys left..
Park Runs back over there must be a breeze now after running here in Feb :)

Hopefully we get to see you again one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Private and exlusive transfer done from this great B&B that has great sea view while clients rest there one night before being charted off next day to Thula Thula Private Game Reserve thats 2hours 30min 185km drive, clients raved how great breakfast and staff were while traveling with me.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank shalomshuttle711
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

One of the best place to stay in the Umhlanaga area. Nice rooms and a good view of sea. Near to the main part of Umhlanga where one can look for good restaurants and bars. Once you are back the place is peaceful and calm.

Date of stay: June 2018
Thank andesudhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Thank you for the lovely review, everyone dreams of being called "the best', so thank you very much.
We look forward to having you with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews