We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service!”
Review of Lavender Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Moon
Ranked #17 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 March 2017

Great place to stay at if you are passing by the area - nice rooms, common area and pool.

The owner was extremely helpful as well, and helped with arranging dinners and transfers. She even did some research for us that saved us quite a lot of money.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarlLeijonhufvud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2017

Thanks for the review Carl. Glad I could help, know when we travel saving every penny can put the pennies on something more valuable
It was lovely having you here, just a pity it was so short.
But the doors are always open if you ever come this side again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2017

Thanks Claire for making our stay so relaxing and perfect! And thanks to Siya, Lydia, Sandile and Pretty (hopefully I have the names right) for servicing our rooms everyday! You guys are AMAZING!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarahalicia2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2017

Hi Sarah,

I am so glad you guys all had a perfect and relaxing stay. Our goal is always to make sure our guests feel at home, and only home can be relaxing :)
Hope we see you again soon on your next trip to South Africa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

My stay with my husband was very wonderful. We would go back a million times, brilliant staff with great service. Well done guys..

This is the best place for everyone, would recommend to people to try it for these holidays.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank boka15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2016

Thank you for the lovely review. I do hope we see you a million times more :).
And love hearing the staff are brilliant, I will be sure to pass on the message to them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016

I am a UK citizen and been working in SA for the past 6 months, stayed in many guesthouses, B&B's and hotels in Jozi and Durban. I have to say that this, by far is the best place I have stayed. We arrived on Tuesday afternoon after an 18 hour total travel time from Glasgow and we were welcomed by Claire(the host). She made sure that everything was in order, helped us with our bags. The rooms are lovely and spacious and nicely decorated, Air Con works great and the bathrooms are clean.

Next morning, when we had breakfast, I had mentioned that the internet had switched off the night before and Claire advised that she was on PAYG until her Fibre was installed and not to worry about it and use it to our hearts content. This was very reassuring as we had travelled from the UK, we had to use Skype to call back home.

The breakfast is freshly cooked every morning with a great choice and cannot be faulted. They even made a special breakfast for my 2 year old daughter.

The location is great, safe and secure, close to both Gateway Mall and Umhlanga Village which has many many restaurants.

I had read her reviews before booking the accommodation and thought it must be her friends and family writing these reviews as they were so positive but after staying there I can see why.

Keep up the great work Claire, you are an ambassador for Umhlanga and South Africans everywhere!!!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are stunning in the morning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ShahidAli7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2016

This is terrible, I thought I had responded to your review Shahid. I can even remember some of my response, but see here it is not... But thank you for the lovely review!! We all loved having you and your family here and I was sorry I couldn't accommodate you longer. I hope you have met other wonderful South Africans during your stay.
Our wifi is all up[ and running and is much better now, thank goodness. :)
We hope next time you need a place to stay here in Umhlanga you come here again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

Claire and her team are exceptional. The rooms are beautiful and very comfortable. We felt at home from the time we arrived and I was made to feel very special on my birthday. The breakfast was unique and we even requested the same on our second morning. The guest house is in a wonderful location and is so convenient for the airport, the beach, restaurants and for the ladies...shopping! Any visit to Natal will have to start and end at Lavender Moon for us as we fly up from the Cape.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Helheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire C, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2016

Thank you Heather, I am glad we could make you feel even half as special as you are. It was wonderful having you and your husband here, and wait to see the photos of the breakfast when you try it :)
We all look forward to welcoming you back here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Umhlanga Rocks hotels
2,1 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Umhlanga
2,5 km away
AHA Gateway Hotel
AHA Gateway Hotel
#7 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
387 reviews
3 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1,7 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
88 reviews
3,7 km away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#10 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
129 reviews
2,2 km away
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
The Sandringham Bed & Breakfast
#13 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Moon

Address: 58 Westridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly 'a Viletta Guest House)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: R1 215 - R1 375 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Lavender Moon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as A'Viletta, Lavender Moon is perfectly positioned in Umhlanga Rocks, with its mixed unique facilities is able to accommodate holiday makers and business professionals alike. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, the privacy of Lavender Moon will suit you perfectly. Durban offers a multitude of entertainment, whether it be to enjoy the city lights, the Village atmosphere of Umhlanga Rocks and its street-side cafe's, restaurants and pubs, The Gateway Theatre of Shopping experience, a sunny time on our golden beaches or a quiet time at our Guest House. Luxurious. Serene. Lavender Moon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lavender Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing