We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing, welcoming and a great host”
Review of Lavender Moon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lavender Moon
Ranked #17 of 43 Umhlanga Rocks B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 May 2016 via mobile

Myself and two daughters (1 and 4) stayed at Lavender Moon for two weeks and had such a wonderful time. We had family occupying two of the other rooms and it was lovely that we could all feel relaxed and enjoy the guesthouse together. The owner, Claire went above and beyond to meet our needs and was so very welcoming. My children and sister's children adored her as she was so helpful and made an effort to get to know them and play with them so well. The staff were also very friendly, helpful and also were very good with the children.

Our room (suite 3) was very spacious, as were all the rooms, well equipped, clean, and extremely comfortable - Claire ensured that the children were well catered for also by supplying a single bed for my four year old and travel cot for the baby, everything had been well thought out and taken care of. The bathroom was clean, spacious and perfect for what we needed.

One of the best things about our stay were the delicious breakfasts - everyday there was a lovely selection of fruit, yogurts, cereals (including the best homemade granola), and juices for us to help ourselves too, we were then brought out a hot breakfast which was something different each day, my favourites were the breakfast burger and the pancakes. All of this was made even more special by being able to enjoy it by the balcony with a great view of the sea.

Overall I cannot rate this guesthouse enough, the whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay and the service we received was second to none and far more personable than any chain hotel would ever be. It is certainly a place I would recommend to anyone. As we have family in South Africa, we will definitely be going again and staying at Lavender Moon - looking forward to seeing you then Claire!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
Thank Faith_1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire225c, Owner at Lavender Moon, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Thank you Crystal,
We missed all of you when you had left, breakfasts were so quiet again.
We loved having your family here and look forward to having you here every time you back in Durban.
Hope the girls are doing well. Cant wait to see how much they will have grown by the time you all come back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2015

I can't recommend this B&B highly enough. Maria is a charming and attentive hostess. The rooms are well appointed and spotless. The breakfasts are varied and delicious. It is no wonder this establishment has so many regular customers. She went out of her way to offer us a sea-facing room and the service here cannot be faulted. Sorry Maria, it's taken me so long to write this review. We are very happy back in Durban. We got off to a very good start by staying with you.

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank Yogajoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2015

Came to Aviletta with my girks beginning of October and we were so impressed! Received the best treatment from Maria and the ladies, we really didnt want to go home! We will definitely be back! Great rooms, very clean, beautiful view of Umhlanga and the food AMAZING! :)

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kele_Mo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2015

I have stayed at 'a Viletta a few times in 2015 on my frequent visits to Umhlanga/Durban. The rooms are very comfortable (with large beds). The house and car park is secure. The breakfast is good and there are many lunch/dinner options in the Umhlanga Rocks area (5 minutes). I can highly recommend 'a Viletta for a stay in Umhlanga/Durban.

  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

I had a wonderful 2 nights stay here while in Durban for work. It has a lovely relaxed atmosphere that allows you to unwind, and was the best 2 nights sleep I have had in weeks.

The breakfast is also amazing! My first morning there I was surprised with a breakfast burger, which tastes even better than it sounds!

Maria and her staff are also incredibly welcoming and helpful, and their personal touches and friendly manor helps round off a great stay.

This will definitely be my preferred accommodation when in Durban in future.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David_Hobson_ZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Umhlanga Rocks
1,1 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
1,7 km away
Sandals Guest House
Sandals Guest House
#4 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
92 reviews
0,5 km away
Maison H Guest House
Maison H Guest House
#2 of 7 in Umhlanga
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3 km away
Manaar House
Manaar House
#3 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
248 reviews
3,7 km away
Sylvan Grove Guest House
Sylvan Grove Guest House
#13 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
131 reviews
1,6 km away
Tesorino B&B
Tesorino B&B
#10 of 43 in Umhlanga Rocks
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lavender Moon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender Moon

Address: 58 Westridge Road, Umhlanga Rocks 4319, South Africa (Formerly 'a Viletta Guest House)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Umhlanga Rocks
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Umhlanga Rocks
Price Range: R1 253 - R1 401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3,5 star — Lavender Moon 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Previously known as A'Viletta, Lavender Moon is perfectly positioned in Umhlanga Rocks, with its mixed unique facilities is able to accommodate holiday makers and business professionals alike. If you are looking for a quiet getaway, the privacy of Lavender Moon will suit you perfectly. Durban offers a multitude of entertainment, whether it be to enjoy the city lights, the Village atmosphere of Umhlanga Rocks and its street-side cafe's, restaurants and pubs, The Gateway Theatre of Shopping experience, a sunny time on our golden beaches or a quiet time at our Guest House. Luxurious. Serene. Lavender Moon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Lavender Moon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing