We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 03/08
Book now, pay at stay
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$135
Protea Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$87
US$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AHA Gateway Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$88
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Royal Palm Hotel(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
US$305
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Sibaya Lodge(Umhlanga Rocks)
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$98
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Garden Court Umhlanga(Umhlanga Rocks)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$124
US$107
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$145/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Oyster Box(Umhlanga Rocks)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$398
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 306)
Filter reviews
1 306 results
Traveller rating
975
224
58
32
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
975
224
58
32
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssugar clubnespresso machineattention to detailthe general managerstar hotelindian oceanpool areaexceptional servicetsogo sunbeautiful hotelout of this worldview of the oceanbeach frontsouth africahis teamtop classhigh tea
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 1 306 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017

Hotel went out of their way to give us the romantic getaway we were looking for : champayne, balloons, the works. Being located on the beach, waking up at sunrise, beautiful sea views and enjoying the promenade and beach all added to the special occassion.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank M7208LCmarkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for choosing the Beverly Hills and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful beach location.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

warm wishes
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Great service..... It was simply unbelievable.... Married for 30 Years.... What a way to do the celebration in style...
We will be back... Definitely before our next Anniversary... Thank You Team...Kind Regards H&K

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 668kamilt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2018

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for choosing the Beverly Hills and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you celebrated your 30th Anniversary with us and
we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

warm wishes
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

What a wonderful expiernce! The location is pefect. Staff and service make this a top class hotel. I love the old world charm of the dining room. The rooms were serviced twice daily and the quality never faltered in the 5 days I spent there.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 639annelisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for choosing the Beverly Hills and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful location and friendly intuitive staff .
We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

warm wishes
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

Maintained and managed to a high standard. Attention to detail and attentive service from the minute you enter. Inviting interior facilities and beachside pool area make for a pleasant stay. One negative aspect is that public areas are at times overrun with day visitors leaving no space for hotel guests to enjoy the facilities.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at Beverly Hills, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for choosing the Beverly Hills and for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted you enjoyed our wonderful location and friendly intuitive staff.Your constructive comment regarding public areas have been noted.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

warm wishes
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017

We stayed two nights at the Beverley Hills hotel. Although an old hotel, the location was great, being right on the beach by the light house. Parking is minimal but we managed most times to get our car parked in the car park and parking was free. The welcome was great with a glass of local champagne. However, although already 2pm our room was not ready. We waited for another hour and had to go back ans ask if it was ready as they did not bother to call us. The elevators are fast and efficient. The room was very basic and although the bed was comfortable and having a balcony, the facilities did not live up to expectation. The hair conditioner was like putting paint stripper on your hair. It was definitely below standard. The balcony door didnt close properly and here were too few hangers in the cupboard.
We had dinner in the sugar club restaurant which is the main restaurant and although the food was good, the service was shocking. No one at the entrance desk to seat you, waiters few and far between. The pool area was excellent and the service there was very good with jugs of fruit water available next to your lounger free of charge.
Over all it was the service that let the hotel down and the old room facilities. But being there with the love of my life made the disappointments almost unoticable.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Harties55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews