We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
smatho814342

Great location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Apr 2024
It's a great place. Everything was perfect except wifi connection and pricy breakfast. But the location, staff and rooms it's top notch. One more thing I enjoyed was the view of tennis Courts. You can spend all day watching as a VIP.
Date of stay: March 2024
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 062
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 906
  • ZenHotels.com
1.6 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 2 295
R 2 083
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 295
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 295
0.4 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Rooftop Pool
R 1 975
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 1 975
  • Priceline
1.8 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Outdoor Pool
R 2 040
  • Protea Hotels
  • Booking.com
    R 2 060
  • Priceline
0.3 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 140
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 941
  • Algotels
    R 1 229
0.3 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 500
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 500
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 309
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 500
2.0 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 985
R 950
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    R 950
  • Tripadvisor
    R 950
  • Trip.com
0.5 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free parking
Pool
R 1 260
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Booking.com
    R 1 259
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 220
  • Priceline
0.8 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior with pool and ocean views
R 4 795
R 4 353
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 795
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 795
  • Trip.com
2.1 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 8 008
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 762
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 473
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 762
2.1 km from AHA Gateway Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviews (715)
Filter reviews
715 results
Traveller rating
304
225
93
45
48
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
304
225
93
45
48
Show reviews that mention
All reviews enjoyed my stay room service easy access great stay short stay south africa mall gateway conference umhlanga
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 715 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

The service was good rooms were clean staff was very friendly and helpful from the door till the parking area everyone was just nice to us. We also ordered dessert which was really good the drinks aswel

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank shaylangovende951772
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024

Staff are super friendly and helpful and made us feel like family from the minute we walked in the door!
Phumeza was a highlight of our stay… checking in on us throughout the stay when we were in the loby

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kylevarga93
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2024

The rooms were very spacious, but the OPEN bath is not conducive if you share a room with a colleague OR use the loo. A pull away curtain (netting) might do the trick? But all in all, a very nice experience. I've always wanted to stay there and now that I have, I would love to go back again. Breakfast is very nice with a lot to choose from. Even though it is on a busy road, you don't feel it or hear it. With direct access to the Gateway Mall, this could be my go-to-hotel. Just don't stay in the "standard rooms" - NO fridges. There could be a lot of students at the hotel, check before you go as they do get loud at night.

Room tip: Ask to NOT be put in the Standard Room.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ashley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2024

We had attended a 2 day conference at this hotel and the lunch buffet was poor with limited options available. There was no set meal for vegetarians, the options were the side dishes, which frankly was not up to a decent standard. Really disappointed. Please look at freshening up your menu.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Virek R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 February 2024

No options for vegetarians ... you will be hungry. Was at hotel for training and ate undercooked roast veg with rice for two days in a row. Even after complaining on the first day, options for vegetarians were the same on the second day. Rather look for another hotel.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Jyoti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews