We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$62
View deal
Booking.com
US$61
View deal
Hotels.com
US$65
View deal
PricelineUS$64
eDreamsUS$61
Agoda.comUS$67
View all 13 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
33
16
7
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
33
16
7
2
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2019

We stayed in a very nice and big room. There was a lovely garden with a pool and an oceanview. The breakfast was good. You can not have diner, but nearby you can find several restaurants. The staff was very friendly and you can reach the beach by a 10 minute walk :-).

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank marievdvel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
88Chartwelldrive, General Manager at Chartwell Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2019

Thank you for your positive review and kind words. They are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2019

The guesthouse is nothing special and offers standard rooms. No special luxury. We had a two-bedroom suite. Wifi exceptionally good here! Ocean view.

Friendly and very helpful manager and staff.

Location is very good. 20 minute walk to some good up-class restaurants.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IgnazW
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

Very cramped room with no privacy from driveway or entrance to house and the room opposite. Huge windows on the bedroom and bathroom with no privacy screening. The huge window in bathroom is lightly frosted but you can see right through it. It has NO CURTAINS! So don't bath or shower with the lights or staff and neighnours will see everything

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank MichelleC9334
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 April 2019

Room adequate, clean, well equipped but aircon would not go below 17C. Our room only had a loose fitting sliding bathroom door which did not close properly and there was extraction fan in the bathroom so not the greatest experience for other room guest. Felt safe and security guard on duty overnight. Did not need breakfast as going to airport early. Good location, short drive to local restaurants and shops. Have stayed there before and would stay there again but suggest you choose a room closer to the pool area.

Room tip: Choose poolside room not car park side for safety and view.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank onholidayDave2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

We stayed for one short night, which unfortunately was not enough to see the entire Umhlanga/Durban area. We stayed in the Chartwell Guest House, which is in a lovely district well worth driving around in. Service was excellent, we had an early check out and the staff had no issues providing us with an early breakfast even though staff wasn't readily available at that time yet. Accommodation is great too and the staff helped us pick out some local hotspots worth checking out in our short time there.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChielB19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews