We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wendy K
Grand Cayman

A Wonderful Experience!

Review of Breakers Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 May 2024
This is my second experience at Breakers and each time it gets even better! The friendliness and efficiency of the staff was consistently great. The resort has an excellent Spa and Hair Salon as well as a good restaurant, lovely pools for adults and children, and daily activities. The scenery is magnificent and it has a beautiful beach and forest walkway. I highly recommend Breakers Resort for everyone, and look forward to my next trip!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 8 758
  • Booking.com
1.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 222
  • Booking.com
1.5 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior with pool and ocean views
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 4 266
  • Algotels
1.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 983
  • Booking.com
1.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 5 990
  • Hotels.com
2.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 595
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Protea Hotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 009
  • Hotels.com
2.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 241
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
getlstd_property_photo
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 658
  • Booking.com
2.2 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 954
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Breakers Resort
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
100
114
37
20
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
114
37
20
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve controlled access your doorstep indian ocean pools unit facilities umhlanga promenade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 26 April 2024 via mobile

We stayed in a studio unit and opened to balcony. Lovely kitchenette has build in oven, stovetop, microwave oven, fridge freezer. Dining table, sleep couch for kids. Hairsalon, spa, gym, warm and cold swimming pools, gate leading to beach

Room tip: Open parking is free, paid covered parking available on premises. Comfy walking shoes for walkways leading to lighthouse, pier and beyond. No pets allowed. Malls.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Polfyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2024

Overall stay at Breakers

Positive
Staff:
Friendly staff at checking and the porters assistance was really great. Thanks Emm for your assistance and great customer service.

Location of the resort:
The resort is central and one has quick access to the malls, restaurants and highway.

View
Stunning view and good seenary

Negative review:
The blanks in room 802 had bed bugs. This was reported to the housekeeping manager. They manage to change the linen but it’s unacceptable for a 4 star hotel

Price
The cost of the stay was not worth the value I paid. The prices vary on a daily basis but I paid a flat rate of R3396.60 for weekday and weekend stay. I stayed 4 days / 5 nights.

Cleanliness of the apartment
Bathrooms were still dirty at check in. One can see they redo the walls and tiles however the peel paint was still on the floor throughout my stay. Please go check it might still be behind the bathroom door.

Shop
No shop at the premises to buy swim goodies for kids.

Entertainment for kids:
It is limited, I tried accessing the games area and it was locked through my stay. There is only one pool table at the pool area.

Swipe facilities for put put is not available all is cash. My proposal is to charge the fees to the room and bill the guest at checkout.

Braai area
Braai-ing is not allowed Friday’s and Saturday’s, not on, as South Africans we prefer to braai over these days and on certainly on holiday.

Beach access
Breaker’s resort has no stair case to the Beach, one has to walk right down to bronze beach to have access and enjoy.

Swimming
No swimming between 7-9am and pools closes at 10pm.

Ekko time shares
In terms of the POPI act one need to consent for personal information to be shared with a 3rd party. I received a call from a lady by the name of Nadia from Ekko leisure requesting me to go down reception. At arrival she has a full presentation and selling time shares. She had a list of all guest and was exposed to all our personal information. This is not on. Please review the POPI act this is a breach, and kindly provide me with confirmation that the information was collected and destroyed in terms of tbe cloud governance destruction policy.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Sightsee46169588621
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 January 2024

The complex requires a substantial investment to upgrade. A lot of the external amenities have been allowed to down grade over time and haven't been replaced. The bar and snack facility is fine and the staff great. The units themselves are good. The rooms are serviced well, despite there being the ever present pest of flies. This is my third visit. I wont be returning until something is done.

Room tip: Only a few units in the main block have patios
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank gms0404
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 November 2023

The wheelchair accessibility at the resort was very good. There is a generous ramp from the undercover parking garage to the reception floor. There are three lifts that service all the floors (big enough for a wheelchair and perhaps two other people). Generators keep the lifts in working order during load shedding. The outside passages (from the lifts to the units) are wide enough.
All the units are classified as wheelchair friendly and in essence they are. The only problem is that the bathrooms can only be classed as tiny, with no chance of a wheelchair fitting through the door. On the 5th and 9th floors, there is a disabled bathroom outside in the passage, located between units 1 and 2 on those floors, that provide spacious facilities and a shower with a built-in shower chair.
The lounge and outside space are accessible, with a disabled bathroom located on Floor 0 where the lounge/restaurant/spa/hairdresser are. The pathway outside to the beach and promenade is a little steep but quite do-able in a wheelchair. Likewise with the wooden pathway to the Hawaan forest, although there are some steep areas that require a push.

Room tip: The higher up the unit, the less noise from the pool and outdoor areas below, especially noisy during week ends
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 32annelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 November 2023

This is just a relaxing an beautiful place to spend a holiday. The rooms are clean, neat. There is wifi available. This is a place where family, kids of any age can relax an unwind. I enjoyed the facilities, miniature golf, volleyball, the slides at the pool is so awesome. There is a game room for the kids to enjoy. There is never a dull moment. Easy access to the beach. Would recommend this place if anyone looking to book a holiday.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SundreeMiles567
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews