We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Scenic11195830285

Best birthday

Review of Breakers Resort
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Sept 2023
Went away for my birthday and WOW the staff, the resort and the experience was just amazing. We booked directly with Suzan, and we had such a pleasant stay. Would definitely recommend this resort if you looking to relax and unwind. Also, the location was amazing.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Just enjoy
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 093
R 1 972
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 975
  • Protea Hotels
    R 1 955
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 975
1.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior with pool and ocean views
R 4 195
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 808
  • Hotels.com
    R 4 195
  • Trip.com
    R 4 195
1.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 539
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 539
  • Agoda.com
    R 1 475
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 695
2.5 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 5 500
  • Priceline
    R 5 500
  • Expedia.com
    R 5 369
  • Hotels.com
    R 5 357
2.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Outdoor Pool
R 2 040
  • Protea Hotels
  • Priceline
    R 2 058
  • Booking.com
    R 2 060
2.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 241
Save more with IHG One Rewards
  • Priceline
    R 1 240
  • Algotels
    R 1 201
  • Booking.com
    R 1 240
2.6 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
R 1 667
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 666
  • Trip.com
    R 1 647
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 650
2.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 068
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 1 318
  • Agoda.com
    R 972
  • Trip.com
    R 1 317
2.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 950
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Tripadvisor
    R 950
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 960
2.8 km from Breakers Resort
Free parking
Pool
R 8 762
  • Expedia.com
    R 8 762
  • Agoda.com
    R 5 378
  • Hotels.com
    R 8 762
1.7 km from Breakers Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Umhlanga Rocks
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveller rating
100
114
37
20
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
100
114
37
20
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nature reserve controlled access your doorstep indian ocean pools unit facilities umhlanga promenade
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 315 reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2023

Best family vacay resort! We are frequent guests at Breakers!This stay deserved a great review. Check in was so quick - Warm, friendly welcome, no queues and our room was ready. We had a beautiful seaview! The apartment was so clean and comfortable. The kids entertainment 10/10. In SA Great weather calls for a braai! We enjoyed the new braai area and the kids enjoyed hours of fun at the brand new jungle gym!

Room tip: The kids pool is heated. Amazing beauty spa and salon onsite! So dont worry if you break a nail packing!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Katherine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 September 2023

Unfortunately have to say my experience with the hairdresser in the Breakers Resort was not a good one. After sending an email specifically asking for a stylist that can give me a consultation that did not materialise. Somebody called and I can only assume that is the owner after sending an email. At first I was impressed about the quick call after my email enquiry. But when I walked into the salon the one person there had no idea what I was booked for. She was certainly not the problem - but something is off about whoever is making the bookings vs what capability is in the salon. The treatment I paid for the stylist had to go get help from the Spa because she was just not coping with everything coming at her in the salon. I feel sorry for the stylist and I hope this review will not result in a retaliation against her. But I will not go back, that is certain.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank dawoelsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 August 2023 via mobile

The view on the 6th floor is amazing... Enjoy beautifull sunsets and the laggon on the left.The ressort is family friendly.The two bedrooms apartment is clean and spacious.Lots of activities available for kids.One of the best durban has to offer

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sezls
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 July 2023

When we arrived at our room 318 our unit was without electricy. There was a terrible damp smell in the apartmemt as well. This is a list of the other defects we encountered.
1. Fridge took extremely long to cool.
2. Microwave not working.
3. Extremely low pressure coming out of hot water tap.
4. Sofas in bad condition. Sinking in.
5. Toilet seat broken
6. No soap and towel rail in the bathroom.
7. Bed in a terrible condition. Sinking in. No support.
8. We were notsupplied with toiler paper.
We reported it to management with no joy watsoever.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travel13948876762
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 May 2023

When we first booked in and went to our room, there was a jackhammer noise from above. It was horrendous & lasted a few hours. The studio room we were in was aweful. The bed was good but other than that, nothing was good. The sofa was totally worn out & uncomfortable. The kitchen was so small. The cupboards & microwave were so high I would need stepladder to reach. There was no room in the cupboards, so where are we supposed to put our groceries. There was no scatter rugs. The room just had no comfort at all. The bathroom was so small. The shower was over the bath. There was no anti-slip mat. I went to the reception to ask for one and the guy said he didn't think they have such a thing. I was going to the shop to buy one when my husband asked a lady at the reception about the non slip mat & she said she would organize this. The shower was high to climb in. The safety rail was in the wrong place. We are in our 70s. We could easily have had an accident in there. The telephone in the room was not working. There is no Wi-Fi in the rooms, When we had loadshedding, the generator only supplies power to the corridors & lifts. There is no emergency light in the rooms. We found this out in the middle of the night when the power went off and we were in pitch black. No-one told us about this. The restaurant, bar closes at 7.30pm. So when loadshedding starts at 8pm everyone goes to the lounge to get some light & a drink/coffee, but they are closed. If we had known about any of the above, we would never have booked in there. Absolute disgrace.

Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank maureen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews