We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$88
View deal
Free cancellation until 21/10/01
Expedia.com
US$103
View deal
Agoda.com
US$75
View deal
Hotels.comUS$103
PricelineUS$91
TravelocityUS$103
View all 15 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
160
143
94
50
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
160
143
94
50
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gateway mall the penthouse spacious rooms upon check excellent location hotel is situated awesome stay business trip easy access umhlanga microwave lounge leisure africa
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2020 via mobile

I requested a double room in a quiet location.
I was informed on arrival that all was available was a duplex apartment facing Gateway on a busy road.
As that was all that was available, I had to accept it.
The room was shabby, chipped paint on mismatched furniture, and the fridge did not work.
I decided not to stay and checked out, but was told I couldn’t get a refund as the manager was not there.
I do not recommend The Royal Palm Hotel. It must have been stunning 15 years ago but now it’s tired and feels dirty.

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Nicolanegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 31 March 2021

Dear Valued Guest

We truly appreciated your feedback as it is through the feedback of our valued guests that we have an opportunity to improve on our guests experience at our hotel. At Royal palm Hotel we pride ourselves on ensuring guest satisfaction and we are deeply remorseful that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2020

The reception is always friendly and welcoming. hotel is value for money. the overall service is always excellent. I choose to stay with Royal Palm hotel Mhlanga everytime I visit Durban due to its location, central and tranquil.

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank amandaM2305FT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 November 2020

From the mismatched furniture, the TV plug being held in place by the bin, the eyesore carpets. The hotel look dated and not in a chic sort of way. The view of the alleyway. The staff don't seem like they want to be there. Not sure if it was due to Covid or if that is the norm, but one would think that with the hotel industry in its current state staff and management would be bending over backwards to ensure return business.

Room tip: Tip: choose another hotel
Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Terence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 31 March 2021

Dear Valued Guest

We truly appreciate your feedback as it is through the feedback of our valued guests that we have an opportunity to improve on our guests experience at our hotel. At Royal Palm Hotel we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests satisfaction and we are deeply remorseful that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2020

Quality hotel and staff. Made my stay very pleasant. Located at prime location. Parking facilities very safe and secure. The declines when u are going to lower levels parkings a bit to sharp as the undercarriage of the vehicle touches. Overall stay very comfortable and pleasant

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sinothilehlophe0887
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 November 2020

Unfriendly management, bad service and lack of respect for guests. Was given a room with a broken aircon. It made so much noise could not sleep. Manager not friendly and arrogant. No value for money..

Date of stay: November 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Zmyaka518945
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded 31 March 2021

Dear Valued Guest

We truly appreciate your feedback and it is through the feedback from our valued guests that we have an opportunity to continuously improve on our guests experience at our Hotel. At Royal Palm Hotel we pride ourselves on ensuring our guests satisfaction and we are deeply remorseful that our hotel did not meet your expectations.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews