We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Nearby Hotels
Karkloof Safari Villas(Pietermaritzburg)
US$648
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tancredi B&B(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ukuthula Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Inn(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bancroft B&B(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Jays Guest House(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gateside Guesthouse(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duvet and Crumpets(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
111
96
31
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
96
31
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmidlands meanderseparate toiletold world charmlovely hotelgeneral managerideal locationa la carte menurooms are spaciouscurryclean hotelfood was fantasticbuffet breakfastnatal midlandsroom serviceprawnsreception areawill stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 255 reviews
Reviewed 18 December 2017

The Protea Hilton hotel, situated about 30 minutes drive out of Pietermaritzburg city, is well-established, recently revamped, and effectively managed. Rooms are spacious, staff are friendly, food is varied . Overall, good value , especially if you are a Prokard member.

Room Tip: Preferably not a room overlooking the parking areas.
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bill434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Good Day,
Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

We really appreciate your good comment. We will share with the entire TEAM to motivate them to always exceed GUEST expectation.

We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2017 via mobile

We arrived 8th Dec and despite front desk confirming that our room was for full bathroom with bathtub and shower, we only got a room with a shower only. The aircon was not working, we asked for a blown light bulb in the room to be replaced on Saturday and despite reassurance, nothing was done for the entire duration. Both Friday and Saturday nights there was loud party music from one of the halls downstairs. On enquiring we were told the party would end at 20:00 - which it did - what a relief. Despite the tv guide list, not all channels were available.

Some positives - Fani helped us to carry our luggage upstairs as there is no lift to the first floor. We enjoyed the dinner and atmosphere at the restaurant. The property is clean and well kept, and secure. Staff are polite and welcoming. The hotel bar closes early at 22:30 and not enough time to unwind after dinner. Interesting was the market-day on Sunday - exhibitors all over the property from clothing, food, ornaments, etc...

We most probably would return but would prefer the correct room as booked, working aircon, and party venue away from the hotel rooms so as not to disturb other guests.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Archie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2017

Good Day,

Thank you for taking time to complete the GUEST Satisfaction Survey. I am very disappointed to hear about your recent experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton. This comment has been shared with the entire management TEAM to make sure similar situations do not occur in future.

Please accept our apologies for everything that went wrong and the empty promises that our TEAM made and failing to keep up to our function to exceeding your expectations.

Kind Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

As a group of friends we try a new restaurant every month in the Midlands area, so for the first time we tried the restaurant at The Protea Hotel in Hilton because of the special.
We were quite dissatisfied. The atmosphere is very posh and the service very poor. Prices are very unaffordable.

However despite all that, having the chief come speak to us and ask about our meal was the best part of the evening! What a friendly and welcoming face! He is a prized character and I would try the restaurant again just because of him!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Lauren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Good Day,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent visit to Protea Hotels by Marriott Hilton.

We appreciate your feedback and are delighted to hear that you had a great time, it is disappointing though to hear that there were lapses on service. Your feedback has been shared with the rest of the TEAM.

With a spirit to serve, we take great pride in not only meeting, but exceeding your expectations. Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service. Thank you again for your time and come visit us again soon!

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for three night for the first time, what a disappointment, very expensive for what you get, only few tv stations that work, poor internet service and the food very poor quality, lucky for me, I will never use my own money to stay there...where do you pay R195 for breakfast that looks like a wimpy, the City Lodge has better breakfast. I have inform my company that we should never stay there again

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Gerrie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Good Day,

Thank you for taking the time to complete the Guest Satisfaction Survey in regards to your recent stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

Please accept our apology for not meeting your expectations during your stay. As we strive to deliver a flawless GUEST, your feedback has been shared with the entire TEAM to look into all the issues so that we can continue to improve our hotel operations.

We do not want to loose you as our GUEST. We hope we will get another chance to redeem ourselves to gain your trust again.

Thank you and kind regards

Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

Really good hotel!! The staff made the difference.
Initially my boyfriend and I were traveling for three weeks in SA. Then he got a hernia and we had to go to the hospital in Hilton. Next to the hospital there is the Pretoria Hotel. We stayed for 4 days because my boyfriend could not walk. All the staff members were so friendly. Everyday the asked if they could do something for us (from manager till housekeeping). The room of this hotel is perfect (clean, good bed, every day new sheets, enough space in the room, wifi worked well). Quality of the food is good (really good curry). We enjoyed breakfast (a lot of choice and delicious). Unfortunately we had to go home due to the illness of my boyfriend. The staff helped us a lot with arranging to go back home (printing tickets and they give us also a pillow for the ride to the airport). Keep up the good work Pretoria Hotel Hilton!!!!!!
Thank you all!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank helenniks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Helen,

Thank you for taking time to complete the GUEST Satisfaction Survey on you recent stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

I am delighted to hear that the TEAM at Protea Hotel Hilton made your stay most memorable with the assistance that you got when you least expected it, you experience Protea Hotel's hospitality at its best.

I am sure your boyfriend has recover by now.Your feedback is integral to our ability to continue to improve our service, we have shared your feedback with the rest of the TEAM.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you again in good health.

Regards
Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews