We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Very pleasant hotel with attentive and professional staff. Rooms are sufficiently spacious and supported by a all facilities one would normally expect from a 4 star hotel. The al la carte menu in the dining room offers something for everyone, but the prices are steep and the quality is quite average. Breakfast menu is extensive and quality of food is good.
Will stay again.

Room Tip: The rooms added to the original hotel are more comfortable than the old rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerrit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2017

Good Day,

Thank you for the comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton. glad that you experienced our hospitality and enjoyed your stay.

We value your comment, we have shared it with the rest of the TEAM. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Faith

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great stop over from Durban to the Wild Coast. Th hotel has a old feel to it and is cozy in the ever present Hilton chilly weather. Our room was comfortable. Staff friendly, efficient and always greet you. Had a meal in the bar and it was as great.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Louise,

Thank you on this comment on Trip Advisor about the stay at Protea Hotel Hilton.

WE look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Ultra white linen, super clean bathrooms and very efficient staff in.the restaurant. It was a very cold night with snow on the mountains. It would be wise for the hotel to invest in electric blankets especially for the long distance traveller.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sureshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for the comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

We value your comment. we have shared this comment with the senior management of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We had 4 Buffet lunch Vouchers we had won , upon phoning it was cancelled due to bookings, but management deducted the cost of the buffet for four off our bill no problem for the A lA CARTE MENU
.Food was fantastic, kiddies meals super, especially the meatballs and spagetti ,and chicken and chips with a cheese sauce my grandaughters had.
My starter of smoke salmon and theThai salad and Tempuri prawns by my daughter and her hubby could not be faulted.
Mains of Rack of Lamb , Thai Curry, and Chicken Schintzel DELICIOUS, highly recommended.
We had Cheese Cake, and Choc Mousse for dessert and the kids had jelly and custard and icecream and chocolate sauceWe finished off with CAPUCCINO COFFEES , which rounded off a lovely dining experience.
We all enjoyed and will definately return to try other menu items, we cannot understand why not packed aswe were the only table booked, followed one hour later by a couple.Come on you midlands people enjoy a great ding experience, my little grandaughter wants her Birthday Party there as her food was so good.
Prices reasonable, staff pleasant and in a lovely room.The Kids Menu , especially good value , but drinks the downside a bit pricey.but will definately go again,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDASGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your dining experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton. I am glad to hear that you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Faith L Mabele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Enjoyed our stay, Visited about 4 times, which tells you that it is a good relaxing atmosphere away from Durban. Old hotel but excellent position to do the Midlands meander route. Staff are pleasant and food is good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2017

Good Afternoon Ralph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us,

We are delighted to hear that you found us relaxing, our STAFF pleasant and our food good.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your road map leads you back to Hilton

Kind Regards
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pietermaritzburg
35,1 km away
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
Brahman Hills Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Nottingham Road
125 reviews
10,2 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#7 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
72 reviews
14,1 km away
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg
#6 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13,8 km away
Thorn Tree Lodge
Thorn Tree Lodge
#5 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
16 reviews
30 km away
Wartburger Hof Hotel
Wartburger Hof Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wartburg
24 reviews
8,1 km away
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
Redlands Hotel and Lodge
#3 of 8 in Pietermaritzburg
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton

Address: 1 Hilton Avenue, Pietermaritzburg 3245, South Africa (Formerly Protea Hotel Hilton)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Pietermaritzburg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Pietermaritzbu...
Price Range: R 1 124 - R 1 697 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Protea Hotel Hilton - Opulent Elegance in the heart of the Kwa-Zulu Natal Midlands. Situated right on the doorstep of the Midlands Meander, this four star architectural show piece with its imposing Tudor lines, is a must stay for a meandering country charm seeker. Originally established in 1936, the elegant and upmarket hotel boasts all the modern amenities expected from holiday-makers to businessmen alike, making it the first choice for Pietermaritzburg accommodation. When bringing the family don’t forget your tennis rackets. Our on-site tennis court offers a great opportunity for the whole family to have some fun. Win or lose, a quick dip in the pool will calm everyone down and clear the air. Whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner; a visit to our very own Ellingtons Restaurant offers a mouth-watering choice of local cuisine fit for Royalty. We also offer a private dining area for those special occasions or when entertaining clients. Don’t forget about our Cocktail Lounge that is ready to welcome you for pre or post dinner drinks. So for business or pleasure, Protea Hotel Hilton will take care of your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing