We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton
Nearby Hotels
Redlands Hotel and Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Imperial Hotel(Pietermaritzburg)
US$72
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
StayEasy Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thorn Tree Lodge(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Road Lodge Pietermaritzburg(Pietermaritzburg)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveller rating
111
95
31
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
95
31
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmidlands meanderseparate toiletold world charmlovely hotelgeneral managerideal locationa la carte menurooms are spaciouscurryclean hotelfood was fantasticbuffet breakfastnatal midlandsroom serviceprawnsreception areawill stay there again
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 254 reviews
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

Great stop over from Durban to the Wild Coast. Th hotel has a old feel to it and is cozy in the ever present Hilton chilly weather. Our room was comfortable. Staff friendly, efficient and always greet you. Had a meal in the bar and it was as great.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2017

Dear Louise,

Thank you on this comment on Trip Advisor about the stay at Protea Hotel Hilton.

WE look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards

Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Ultra white linen, super clean bathrooms and very efficient staff in.the restaurant. It was a very cold night with snow on the mountains. It would be wise for the hotel to invest in electric blankets especially for the long distance traveller.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
Thank Sureshinee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Public Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2017

Thank you for the comment on your stay at the Protea Hotel Hilton.

We value your comment. we have shared this comment with the senior management of the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards

Faith L Mabele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017

We had 4 Buffet lunch Vouchers we had won , upon phoning it was cancelled due to bookings, but management deducted the cost of the buffet for four off our bill no problem for the A lA CARTE MENU
.Food was fantastic, kiddies meals super, especially the meatballs and spagetti ,and chicken and chips with a cheese sauce my grandaughters had.
My starter of smoke salmon and theThai salad and Tempuri prawns by my daughter and her hubby could not be faulted.
Mains of Rack of Lamb , Thai Curry, and Chicken Schintzel DELICIOUS, highly recommended.
We had Cheese Cake, and Choc Mousse for dessert and the kids had jelly and custard and icecream and chocolate sauceWe finished off with CAPUCCINO COFFEES , which rounded off a lovely dining experience.
We all enjoyed and will definately return to try other menu items, we cannot understand why not packed aswe were the only table booked, followed one hour later by a couple.Come on you midlands people enjoy a great ding experience, my little grandaughter wants her Birthday Party there as her food was so good.
Prices reasonable, staff pleasant and in a lovely room.The Kids Menu , especially good value , but drinks the downside a bit pricey.but will definately go again,

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LINDASGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faith M, Guest Relations Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Linda,

Thank you for taking time to comment on your dining experience at the Protea Hotel Hilton. I am glad to hear that you had a great time.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Regards
Faith L Mabele.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2017

Enjoyed our stay, Visited about 4 times, which tells you that it is a good relaxing atmosphere away from Durban. Old hotel but excellent position to do the Midlands meander route. Staff are pleasant and food is good.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 15 July 2017

Good Afternoon Ralph,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us,

We are delighted to hear that you found us relaxing, our STAFF pleasant and our food good.

We look forward to welcoming you back when your road map leads you back to Hilton

Kind Regards
Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel as a result of an emergency trip to Pietermaritzburg (all the other better hotels were fully booked)

The outside of the hotel does not look pleasing. Located directly opposite a police station and the was told the parking was around the block was a bit of a drive. The entrance to the parking has a security guard that barely moved a muscle to check the cars going in and out.

The check in was smooth and simple and the room allocated was huge. Out on the first floor facing the police station. Shower had broken fittings and the shower tap was very sensitive controlling the water temperature. The wash basin took forever to drain the water. For the rest was of 2 star hotel.

That first night we didn't get any sleep due to the outside noise of cars moving and the police station. The next morning we requested another room. After 5 attempts of finding me a similar room in size and facilities I had to settle for a much smaller room.

We didn't eat at this hotel so I cannot comment on the room service not the food or meals.
The housekeeping was pathetic. I waited just over an hour for an iron and ironing board and each time I called they said they forgot and someone was on the way.

We paid R850 per night (special discounted price) whilst the normal price was R1400. This place is nothing more that a 1.5 star hotel that I will not recommend.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ShilohNaiken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 12 July 2017

Dear ShilohNaiken,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay, however the review is for the Imperial Hotel that is located across the police station, in the heart of Pietermaritzburg. We are located along the meander route in Hilton

It is unfortunate that you had a less than perfect stay. As the Imperial Hotel is part of the Aha Hotel Group, we have sent your review to the General Manager of the property and feel certain that they will contact you shortly

Kind Regards

Protea Hotel by Marriott Hilton TEAM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews