We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (750)
Filter reviews
751 results
Traveller rating
365
281
63
28
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
365
281
63
28
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage safari lodge zulu nyala charity auction elephant interaction the reserve game drives buffet style extra excursions south africa other guests st lucia day trip richard's bay silent auction side trips boat tour cape buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 751 reviews
Reviewed 15 February 2024 via mobile

We had a fabulous 6 night stay in Zulu Nyala. I’d recommend this safari experience to anyone. It is a little off the beaten path, a true hidden gem. If you are looking for a safari experience that is not “over touristed” pick this one! Our our very first day we saw elephants, cheetahs, rhinoceros (black and white), nyalas, impalas, monkeys! It only got better. There are offsite excursions that can be booked in addition to the daily guided game drives. We loved the trips to St Lucia with the boat ride on the estuary, to Hluhluwe national park, to the pineapple farm. Our guide Adam Park, was fantastic, personable, willing to answer questions and very knowledgeable, he made the difference. There are also spa services, Zamile gives the best massage I’ve ever had. The manicure was perfect too! In short, wonderful.

Room tip: Fly to Durban and book the hotel transfer to get there. There are not many flights to Richard’s Bay.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sgec1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2024

Thank you for your review and 5 star rating. It's always such a pleasure to welcome and host our safari guests.

Seeing a good variety of animals is ever important when coming to Africa on safari. Ranger Adam is an important member of the Team and assisted in you having the opportunity to do just this. The off-site excursions do enhance one's time when with us - your choice of excursions would have enabled you to create even greater forever memories.

A good massage in our spa is a great way to rid one's body of travel fatigue and to just relax, rejuvenate and give oneself that deserved 'spoil'. Please do review our spa on TripAdvisor if possible - find it - Spas @ Zulu Nyala - that would be greatly appreciated.

We greatly appreciate your recommendation and thank you for choosing us as your safari destination. Perhaps we'll see you again? That would be awesome!

Kind regards - The Zulu Nyala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2024

We were so lucky to stay at Zulu Nyala in a Heritage Suite for an amazing weekend! We arrived and checked in to our beautiful suite, with much needed air conditioning to take a break from the heat. There are amazing gardens all around the property and we saw some monkeys and nyala while walking to our suite. We joined the afternoon safari and saw most of the animals kept in their reserve. Big thank you to Welcome and Siya - amazing guides on our safari outings! Delicious meals every day and great service from all the staff. We absolutely loved our stay and want to come back with our family and friends!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jason Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for awarding Zulu Nyala with five stars, throughout. We were lucky to have the opportunity to welcome and host you, as well... Aren't our suites amazing? So much space and yes, aircon is a welcome addition for sure.

The landscaping/gardening team work tirelessly to keep the gardens in immaculate condition which you noticed. A bonus to have wildlife living freely within them for the guests to enjoy.

Ranger Welcome and Siya are valuable members of the Ranger Team and host their safari guests with enthusiasm, remaining professional at all times. Their experience and knowledge are certainly noticeable and they know our private reserve well always being aware of safety and respect towards the animals and their guests.

Delicious meals and great service - much appreciation from all for your compliments. We would love to welcome and host you at our establishment again - do bring ALL your family and friends to - EXPERIENCE THE MAGIC OF AFRICA!

Kind regards - The Zulu Nyala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2024

My boyfriend and I had an incredible week at Zulu Nyala in Hluhluwe. The amenities were lovely, our guide (Musa) was extremely knowledgeable and the overall experience blew us away. The staff was very hospitable and accommodating - I have specific dietary restrictions and I always had something to eat, thanks to the inclusive and thoughtful dining hall staff. This was our first safari in South Africa, and we were very impressed. The daily game drives were just the right amount of time and Musa knew how to engage with animals on the reserve in a way that allowed us to get up close and personal without invading their personal space. I'd highly recommend this resort to anyone looking for an authentic South African experience!

Room tip: December/January is rain season, so pack appropriately!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Flyer27663403896
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Thank you for your review and five star rating throughout. We appreciate your complimentary words and recommendation, greatly. Musa is a valuable member of the Ranger Team which is highly respectful of the animals at all times - safety of animals and guests remains a top priority. The Catering Team strives to assist each and every guest with their own requirements and delivered to you - fantastic!

The twice daily game-drives on our private reserve (early morning and late afternoon() are truly a way to get up close and personal under the experienced and professional eye of your allocated Ranger. We hope you got many photos. If you can and get the opportunity, please do share them on our Facebook Group - Zulu Nyala Guest Photos - if possible.

Thanks for choosing us as your safari destination.
Kind regards from the Zulu Nyala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2024

The friendly ladies at Reception are amazing and the room service ladies and gents are kind the Manager is very rude. The chefs are absolutely amazing and very warm and helpful. I booked a tent only to be accommodated on an hold house with old furniture no plugs in the room no mosquito repellellers

Room tip: It wasn’t a pleasant experience the game drive was the worst only saw 3 animals no common spot or drinks offered not user friendly at all
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Guide32300667227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Good day. In response to your comments. Firstly, thanks for the compliments given. The tour guides/guides/tour drivers are allocated rooms as per availability not against specific room bookings. These allocations are for single occupancy with additional charges should there be another person wishing to stay over that is not the specific guide guest. We don't have any 'old' rooms on our property and continually work on each room to improve and upgrade. Meals are included during the stayover - to be eaten in the restaurant. If you would like to reply with your name and any other company details, management will be able to fully understand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2024

Our visit was absolutely amazing! Our guide, Musa, was so knowledgable, friendly, and accommodating. He made sure to find out what our interests were and tried very hard to make sure that we got to experience everything possible. The only reason I rated this a 4 instead of a 5 is because of the food. It was not as good as I was expecting and was very monotonous. More of the local cuisine would have been appreciated. I also thought that only alcoholic beverages cost extra, but all drinks were an extra charge at meals, other than coffee and tea. We were there for New Year's Eve, and they had a live band and partied until after midnight. The owner was there and it was lovely. Thank you for a wonderful safari experience!

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2024

Thank you for reviewing and rating our venue. Your input and comments are appreciated.

Ranger Musa is an excellent host to his safari guests and is certainly a valued member of the Ranger Team. We strive to cater to suit all palettes and to make sure no-one goes to bed hungry. Our policy is as you mention on drinks whether alcoholic, soft or water over and above the water supplied in the rooms for our photo safari guests.

It's wonderful that you had the opportunity to 'party' with the owner Mrs Shaw! What a fun way to welcome 2024.

You are so welcome and this pleases us - 'Thank you for a wonderful safari experience!'

Arrive as strangers, leave as part of the Zulu Nyala Family - welcome to our World!

Regards.
The Zulu Nyala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews