We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hluhluwe Umfolozi Hilltop Camp(Hluhluwe Game Reserve)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Ghost Mountain Inn(Mkuze)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
179
196
49
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
196
49
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage safari lodgezulu nyalacharity auctiongame drivesthe reserveelephant interactionrented a carindian oceansouth africafront porchwear layersbuffet stylethree nightsday triprichard's bayincredible tripside trips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Rooms were good, meals were good, good staff especially at the restaurant & bar
The game drive was excellent, rangers take you close to the wildlife. At the lodge there is crocodile enclosure, boma with bonfire for the winter months. Baai area and viewing decks

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2017

Large, comfortable rooms in a breathtaking setting. All meals included. Wild antelope and zebra roam the area. A pool was included and refreshing after a two hour drive. All the safaris were awesome and the Driver's were unbelievably informative.

Stayed: November 2016
3  Thank Charlene209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

My friend and I purchased this safari at a non-profit gala event. It was the first time the non-profit had this trip up on the block, so we were flying blind into this but figured it's an adventure!

Lodging: The Heritage Lodge was where we stayed for 3 of our 6 nights at Zulu Nyala. We liked our little Hemingway tent minus one thing...when the wind is ripping through it makes it impossible to sleep because of the amount of noise. There is wifi available which is nice for playing music while sitting on the patio watching the zebras and other animals cruise by.

Food: It's a buffet every morning and evening. Lunch is a really limited menu in the dining hall. The buffets are not that amazing. It's exactly the same every morning and night. The wine is really inexpensive so that makes up for some things. Dinner is also really busy as the bus tours come in for the night with lots of people who are just there for the evening.

Safari: We participated in our 2x daily safaris. These happened super early in the morning and then late afternoon. We loved our ranger and had a lot of fun and laughs with him and our 'camp mates.' We were lucky enough to see the Big Five while there. The safaris were by far the best part of the stay and of course were why we were there...to see the animals.

Overall: I don't think if friends were asking for a recommendation if we would tell the to stay here. There is absolutely NOTHING to do during the day between safaris. The only time we saw other people were when the giant tour buses came in during the evening for the food and to stay one night. You can't exactly go for a run or exploring...you might get eaten, lol. We did a few of the excursions that were addition fees and were very glad that we did. They were great times. Had we not done those, it would have been extremely boring between safaris. The staff overall was ok on the friendliness level.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mozerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Zulu Nyala Heritage Lodge offers a bucket list overflowing with picturisque charm.Nestled in breathtaking natural surroundings,leading to the Game Reserve that dissapoints none.We were fortunate to view all of the Big 4.A destination that requires sufficient time to absorb rare views & unique opportunities.A definitely highly recommended destination.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mogni_naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

An abundance on Zulu traditional lifestyle. Luxurious accomodation & wide varieties of delicious meals.Guests were treated to entertaiment of Zulu traditional dances clad in Zulu costumes with Zulu instruments.
The Game drive & viewing of the Big 4,with the exception of the Lion.Sighting of the cheetah is deemed rare but we were fortunate to this sight.All animals were plentiful ,even at watering holes.
We will wholeheartedly recommend a visit to this unusual destination.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mogni_naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews