We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Zulu Nyala, Hluhluwe”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2017

Rooms were good, meals were good, good staff especially at the restaurant & bar
The game drive was excellent, rangers take you close to the wildlife. At the lodge there is crocodile enclosure, boma with bonfire for the winter months. Baai area and viewing decks

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Ravi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 40 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2017

Large, comfortable rooms in a breathtaking setting. All meals included. Wild antelope and zebra roam the area. A pool was included and refreshing after a two hour drive. All the safaris were awesome and the Driver's were unbelievably informative.

Stayed: November 2016
3  Thank Charlene209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2017

My friend and I purchased this safari at a non-profit gala event. It was the first time the non-profit had this trip up on the block, so we were flying blind into this but figured it's an adventure!

Lodging: The Heritage Lodge was where we stayed for 3 of our 6 nights at Zulu Nyala. We liked our little Hemingway tent minus one thing...when the wind is ripping through it makes it impossible to sleep because of the amount of noise. There is wifi available which is nice for playing music while sitting on the patio watching the zebras and other animals cruise by.

Food: It's a buffet every morning and evening. Lunch is a really limited menu in the dining hall. The buffets are not that amazing. It's exactly the same every morning and night. The wine is really inexpensive so that makes up for some things. Dinner is also really busy as the bus tours come in for the night with lots of people who are just there for the evening.

Safari: We participated in our 2x daily safaris. These happened super early in the morning and then late afternoon. We loved our ranger and had a lot of fun and laughs with him and our 'camp mates.' We were lucky enough to see the Big Five while there. The safaris were by far the best part of the stay and of course were why we were there...to see the animals.

Overall: I don't think if friends were asking for a recommendation if we would tell the to stay here. There is absolutely NOTHING to do during the day between safaris. The only time we saw other people were when the giant tour buses came in during the evening for the food and to stay one night. You can't exactly go for a run or exploring...you might get eaten, lol. We did a few of the excursions that were addition fees and were very glad that we did. They were great times. Had we not done those, it would have been extremely boring between safaris. The staff overall was ok on the friendliness level.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank mozerdoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

Zulu Nyala Heritage Lodge offers a bucket list overflowing with picturisque charm.Nestled in breathtaking natural surroundings,leading to the Game Reserve that dissapoints none.We were fortunate to view all of the Big 4.A destination that requires sufficient time to absorb rare views & unique opportunities.A definitely highly recommended destination.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mogni_naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2016 via mobile

An abundance on Zulu traditional lifestyle. Luxurious accomodation & wide varieties of delicious meals.Guests were treated to entertaiment of Zulu traditional dances clad in Zulu costumes with Zulu instruments.
The Game drive & viewing of the Big 4,with the exception of the Lion.Sighting of the cheetah is deemed rare but we were fortunate to this sight.All animals were plentiful ,even at watering holes.
We will wholeheartedly recommend a visit to this unusual destination.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Mogni_naidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
7.5 km away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.4 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
135 reviews
14.5 km away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
8.2 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
17.7 km away
Gooderson DumaZulu Lodge and Traditional Zulu Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing