We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our October stay at Zulu Nyala exceeded our expectations...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Our October stay at Zulu Nyala exceeded our expectations...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2016

Some of the rooms are more spacious than others... if you're not happy with the assigned 'standard room', you have the option to upgrade or move rooms, and if space if available, the staff will do what they can to accommodate. We stayed in Rm. 10 - it had a great view and close to the pool. The shower head was the only issue with this room, as well as the water took some time to warm up in the bathroom. There are no tv's in any of the rooms. 6 nights was more than enough time to spend at the game lodge. We enjoyed the game rides and met some fun people. Our guide was wonderful (Ronnie) and went out of his way to find the animals and make our game rides memorable and fun. We saw 4 of the 5 'big 5' (no lions) at this reserve. The animals seem happy and healthy...especially at the feed lots!

Room Tip: If you're not happy with a standard room, the staff will do what they can to accommodate, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    151
    35
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
176
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic experience!! Everything and everyone were awesome. Our guide Bernie aka "danga ranga " is the best. So very knowledgeable & such fun. Always aware of how each person could get the best photo, even used her lens on my camera to get a great close up of cheetah with its kill. Meals served buffet style, plenty of options, even for a vegetarian. Staff very gracious. Side trips well worth it. Am already planning a return trip!!

Stayed September 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nosliwda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I went to Zulu safari. Firstly, if you do end up there , stay at the Game Lodge( on the Reserve) rather then the Heritage . Although, it was off the beaten track, it did have a vista.

This place is a big zoo. There is no "search" for animals. You get on the jeep at the feeding time which the Zulu provides and the animals are right there. They have 500 acres which is way too small for the number of animals they have. Ridiculous. They say that the food they offer is "authentic" African. Maybe so if you like sandy lettuce and Mac and cheese. Our guide was fantastic though. He is very bright, knowledgeable and friendly. The rest of the staff was mostly nice, but limited in their ability to lean into customers. It felt like big brother was looking over their shoulder. Tipping didn't seem optional. Even when one night ( the only night) there was entertainment of African dancers they asked for tips. A zoo.

Stayed October 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank gailflynn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus, South Africa
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2016

Packed with tour buses & tame wildlife roaming around with lethargic crocodiles in an enclosure...???!!!! Really!??? Great staff but dont bother otherwise. Ive no idea how they do their advertising & get away with what they deliver - its ridiculous.

  • Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bwana-Rafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights on an introductory discount voucher which made it affordable. We were disappointed that the distance between the car park and our room was 280 metres, which is hard going with a bundle of luggage for an extended holiday and a wife with a moon boot thanks to an ankle sprain. It is very comfortable and teh food was excellent. The landscaping is well maintained but a monotony of one type of aloe -- try going in May/June when they will be a mass of flowers. There is very little to do apart from a game drive in the connecting game lodge -- unless you use is as a base for touring, or the government is sponsoring you to attend a "conference" (I thought the Minister of Finance had banned luxury events). Our overall impression was that it is designed for foreign tourists, as are the room rates and prices of food and drink.

  • Stayed September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cameronbrisbane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
7.3 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
7.5 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.2 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#4 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#94 of 170 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
11.8 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 34 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 34 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price range (per night): R1 759 - R2 670
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing