We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$316
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$139
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$111
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
179
196
49
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
196
49
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage safari lodgezulu nyalacharity auctiongame drivesthe reserveelephant interactionrented a carindian oceansouth africafront porchwear layersbuffet stylethree nightsday triprichard's bayincredible tripside trips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 4 November 2016 via mobile

What a fantastic experience!! Everything and everyone were awesome. Our guide Bernie aka "danga ranga " is the best. So very knowledgeable & such fun. Always aware of how each person could get the best photo, even used her lens on my camera to get a great close up of cheetah with its kill. Meals served buffet style, plenty of options, even for a vegetarian. Staff very gracious. Side trips well worth it. Am already planning a return trip!!

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
1  Thank nosliwda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2016 via mobile

My daughter and I went to Zulu safari. Firstly, if you do end up there , stay at the Game Lodge( on the Reserve) rather then the Heritage . Although, it was off the beaten track, it did have a vista.

This place is a big zoo. There is no "search" for animals. You get on the jeep at the feeding time which the Zulu provides and the animals are right there. They have 500 acres which is way too small for the number of animals they have. Ridiculous. They say that the food they offer is "authentic" African. Maybe so if you like sandy lettuce and Mac and cheese. Our guide was fantastic though. He is very bright, knowledgeable and friendly. The rest of the staff was mostly nice, but limited in their ability to lean into customers. It felt like big brother was looking over their shoulder. Tipping didn't seem optional. Even when one night ( the only night) there was entertainment of African dancers they asked for tips. A zoo.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
7  Thank gailflynn00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2016

Packed with tour buses & tame wildlife roaming around with lethargic crocodiles in an enclosure...???!!!! Really!??? Great staff but dont bother otherwise. Ive no idea how they do their advertising & get away with what they deliver - its ridiculous.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Bwana-Rafiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2016

We stayed for 3 nights on an introductory discount voucher which made it affordable. We were disappointed that the distance between the car park and our room was 280 metres, which is hard going with a bundle of luggage for an extended holiday and a wife with a moon boot thanks to an ankle sprain. It is very comfortable and teh food was excellent. The landscaping is well maintained but a monotony of one type of aloe -- try going in May/June when they will be a mass of flowers. There is very little to do apart from a game drive in the connecting game lodge -- unless you use is as a base for touring, or the government is sponsoring you to attend a "conference" (I thought the Minister of Finance had banned luxury events). Our overall impression was that it is designed for foreign tourists, as are the room rates and prices of food and drink.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cameronbrisbane57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2016

We bought the trip at a charity auction like everyone else. We had an absolutely fabulous time. Our driver for our twice daily safaris was Sandiso and he was so interesting, friendly. and knowledgeable.Seeing the animals up close was amazing. Our room was nice and clean, had a coffee maker, and was supplied with bottled water. All meals were buffet style with plenty to choose from. Daily croissants and yogurt were awesome! Every evening when dinner was served, we made a plate of cheese and crackers (the honey figs were delicious) and got a bottle of wine and had our own private little cocktail hour on the huge veranda. The weather was absolutely perfect the entire time we were there. There were NO BUGS!! (last week of August and they are in a drought) Never used any of the copious amounts of bug spray we brought. The incredible photos we took will forever keep the memories fresh. Be sure to bring layers of clothing for warmth during the early morning drives. Have a little bit of cash for tipping the singers and dancers who show up a couple times during your stay.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank cakelady1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews