We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$312
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$158
US$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (459)
Filter reviews
460 results
Traveller rating
182
201
49
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
182
201
49
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage safari lodgezulu nyalacharity auctiongame drivesthe reserveelephant interactionrented a carindian oceansouth africafront porchwear layersbuffet stylethree nightsday triprichard's bayincredible tripside trips
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 460 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2016

I stayed at Zulu Nyala with my 17 year old son in July 2016. There is not much I can say that already hasn't been covered in the other reviews. We had a wonderful time and I would definitely recommend this as an introduction to African safari. We spent 3 nights at the Heritage Safari Lodge in the tented camp, and 3 nights at the Game Lodge. Although the Game Lodge seems a bit more "luxurious", we preferred the staff, ambiance (and food), at the Heritage. We rented a car in Durban and drove the 2-3 hours to Zulu Nyala. Once you get the hang of driving on the left side of the road, it's really not very difficult. Most of the drive is on highway and with the help pf GPS is very easy. It was nice to have the flexibility of our own transportation, although we did do some of the day excursions with the rest of the group. Our guide for the week was Christiaan. Chris was very knowledgeable, kind and friendly. He went out of his way to try to enable us to see as much as possible. As previously reviewed in winter, the drives are quite cold in the early mornings-- do bring a hat and gloves and wear layers. As previously reviewed, this is a very small (in comparison) game reserve. The advantage to this is that the guides are very familiar with the animals' habits, and thus can get you quite up close and personal with a number of the animals. This makes for excellent photo ops. There are countless types of safaris, and the possibilities are almost endless. I would highly recommend this experience as an introduction to southern African wildlife. It is the perfect way to begin learning about this incredibly vast continent and it's enormous quantity of species.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

After reading some other reviews, I was apprehensive about our stay. The worry was for nothing as it turned out to be a very nice facility. We ended up staying at the Game Lodge as well. Both are very nice in their own way. Heritage is more spread out and zebra graze right by the tents. At both locations we had Nyala and warthogs right by our rooms. The room and food were good. The service was excellent. There is an outdoor lounging area at Heritage that was very pleasant for a meal or drink. Our guides' name was Peace and he was superb! He was an excellent driver and tracker, we saw so many amazing animals. Do yourself a favor and get to know the people, they are so lovely! We booked a sidetrip to Hluluwe Umfolozi and I would HIGHLY recommend going there. We tried to go to Phindi, but they were already full on the first day. We took Zulu Nyalas' shuttle and booked excursions through them. I had thought about trying to rent a car, but so glad I spent the money and had a worry free and SAFE vacation. Aside from the safety factor of driving yourself, if you do some excursions on your own you won't see anywhere near what you could with a tracker!

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016 via mobile

I visited Zulu Nyala in July 2016 and we had the time of our lives! The accommodations were better than we had expected. Nice clean room and huge bathroom with a large shower and an old style tub and two separate sinks.

The game reserve itself is very nice, but small and after a few days it gets old. That being said, there are many excursions that can be booked at the hotel at reasonable cost. We did the cheetah outing where you get to pet cheetah and play with cubs, the elephant outing where you get to feed elephants, and the larger reserve next door (Phinda) that has a greater diversity of animals, including lions.

The best part of Zulu Nyala is the staff. Everyone is very welcoming and friendly. The safari guides are knowledgable, funny and ensure you have a wonderful experience.

All of our meals were included in our package, which I believe is their standard practice. I have to admit I'm very parochial in my tastes, so a lot of the food was not attractive to me. That being said, there was always something available that I liked, and some of the food was amazing. The beer and wine list was very good, and they have the usual variety of spirits.

If you are looking for a Four Seasons or Ritz-Carlton experience, Zulu Nyala is not for you. That being said, I would not hesitate to recommend this trip to a friend and I will be returning. Budget maybe an extra $1000 for drinks the available excursions while you are there and you'll love it!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
6  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

There are two locations about 8 km apart. The first one is the Game Lodge, which is the older of the two and sits up overlooking the reserve. The second area is the Heritage Lodge, which is at the bottom, newer, and seems to have more to do (two swimming pools, near to the Zulu Cultural Village, outdoor eating area, more varied accommodations such as tents). We stayed at the Heritage, though visited the Game Lodge for lunch and a diamond viewing. Security is very tight and the lodges are both very secure and safe. There is a high awareness of security because of rhino poaching.

First of all, most of the guests won this trip through an auction, as we did. It is a great value (we paid $1500 for a couple for 6 nights). Airfare is not included, but all meals are included. Alcohol is extra, but very reasonably priced (about 145R per bottle of wine, which is about $10 at a 14.5 exchange rate). If you do win this through an auction and want to invite other guests, call Zulu Nyala directly for the best rate - do not try to go through the travel agent who will sponsor the auction or you will be up charged dramatically.

Fly into Durban or Richard's Bay. We stayed at Umhlanga for a few days before and after, near the beach. I strongly recommend renting a car to save big on excursions. You will get bored on the reserve and definitely want to venture out. Without a car, expect to spend more than $200 per person per day for organized, group excursions. The car rental was about $300 for the week. However, it's left side driving and a little chaotic on the main highway to the reserve (drivers passing, speeding, livestock and pedestrians wandering around the side of the highway). Be sure to get a GPS.

The accommodations are quite nice. We stayed in Room 22, which is "Mr. Shaw's" room (Trevor Shaw, jewelry guy, is the owner of Zulu Nyala). It was spacious, beautiful, and very comfortable with a giant TV, which is apparently unique to that room. Three buffet style meals are provided per day, and unfortunately, this is the low point. There were a few decent dishes and a pretty large selection. I wouldn't say it is terrible, but it is not great. Zulu Nyala would do well to open a reservations-based specialty restaurant to complement the buffet choices. There are no local restaurants in the area that we could find. We ventured to the Hluhluwe Protea Hotel (Marriott property) for some drinks and a change of scenery, but couldn't find anything else.

The Zulu Nyala staff are wonderful. They are very friendly, go out of their way to accommodate, and seem genuinely kind and interested in the guests. Wifi is slow, and available only in the restaurant/bar areas. While we were there, though, they were building a pavilion/lounge for Wifi users, so there may be some plan to increase the speed and access. Also, tipping is encouraged and expected, but they weren't pushy about it in our experience. We did do the diamond and jewelry viewing with Veena Joory, who was fabulous. We didn't feel pressured and got to privately view a beautiful selection of diamonds, other stones, and jewelry designs from Shaw's collection.

For activities, you will go out on two 2-hour game drives per day with an assigned ranger and the same group of 6-8 people (early morning around 6am and then at about 3pm in winter). Keep in mind that if you go during the regional winter months, it gets quite cold in the mornings and evenings (50s F at night and 70s F during the day) and the trucks are open air. Our ranger, Philamond, was great. He is very knowledgeable about the animals, informative, very punctual, and patient. You will see elephants, black and white rhinos, tons of nyala, warthogs, buffalo, giraffe, zebras, monkeys, hippos, and the cheetah.

There are no lions at Zulu Nyala, so you'll definitely want to do a trip to nearby Phinda to see the lions. Phinda was a pricey game drive, but well worth it as we got to see lion cubs, as well as a pride feeding on a hippo carcass. The Cheetah Rehab Center at Emdoneni Lodge is a nice side trip if you want to pet cheetahs. It is a breed and release facility, but the cheetahs you can pet are the few that will spend their whole lives there in captivity.... Not a pleasant thought, but they seem to be well loved and taken care of.

Another activity worth doing is going on a day trip to Saint Lucia, which has an expansive, beautiful, unspoiled beach. There are hippo viewing and whale watching cruises, which we didn't do, but many people highly recommend. There are some nice restaurants in town to try, such as Braza and Ocean Basket.

For trinket shopping, near to the reserve is the Ilala Weavers, which is a nice visit with reasonable prices. The best value and super large selection of crafts is at Zamampilo, which is about 15 km from the reserve. Local crafts are weaving, wood carving, and bracelet/necklace beading. This is where we found the best selection and prices.

Overall, this was a great value, and a perfect first safari experience. Would highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
13  Thank MPuzziferro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed here a while back, and it was average at best. The food wasn't anything special, and the rooms weren't all that cosy. It seemed to be best suited for foreign tourists who were looking for a rustic experience.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeganR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews