We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (513)
Filter reviews
513 results
Traveller rating
208
223
51
23
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
223
51
23
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews heritage safari lodge zulu nyala charity auction elephant interaction game drives the reserve rented a car indian ocean buffet style ilala weavers st lucia south africa canvas roof day trip richard's bay side trips tented rooms
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 513 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2016

We stayed here a while back, and it was average at best. The food wasn't anything special, and the rooms weren't all that cosy. It seemed to be best suited for foreign tourists who were looking for a rustic experience.

Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeeganR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2016

After a lot of visits and staying as a tour operator at the lodge, on my last visit I spent the day and the night and it was a wonderful experience with friendly excellent service and superb meals. The chef arranged us breakfast packs as we left at 04:30am to be able to catch a connecting flight. A big thank you to the staff and chef and carry on looking after your guests just as you looked after us.

Thank you
1st Zulu Safaris Team

Room tip: Chalets have views of fantastic sunsets
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zulu_Safaris_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2016

So you have won a "I dreamed of Africa Safari" at a charity auction and now that it's the next morning you have been searching feverishly everywhere to figure out what you have gotten yourself into. If this is your first trip to South Africa then you have scored a great trip at a wonderful private reserve. The few complaints I heard about Zulu Nyala when researching in advance was that it is a smaller reserve without all the big five animals. This is true, but this was our first safari and the size of the location worked to our advantage as our ranger Ruan was able to find all of the animals. We took two side excursions and were able to see the lions that Zulu Nyala doesn't have. You're going to find plenty of reviews of the food, rooms, and service; we found them all to be good, but so much of that is preference. Here are our recommendations and experience as we booked the trip: We flew into Johannesburg from Washington DC and immediately took one of the many hopper flights to Durban; 21 hours flying total! We just wanted to crash at that point and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near the airport (good call.) We rented a car through AAA that was $110 for 10 days unlimited miles. If you're brave and can drive on the left side of the road, we would highly recommend getting a car and extending your stay. We drove to Zulu Nyala the next morning and I was amazed how easy it was. The main road N2 runs north (you can follow it on goggle earth) and is well maintained. Heritage Lodge is only two well marked turns and about 5 minutes from N2. Took less than 3 hours. People are courteous on the roads and the biggest distraction is the livestock along the sides. When you have a car you can do all of the excursions plus more for less. I think the price Zulu Nyala charges for excursions is fair considering they provide a ranger and safe transportation, but we never regretted trekking out on our own. Highly recommend the elephant encounter, cat rehab center, and zulu croc. We also took a guided trip at the next door larger Phinda reserve where we saw the lions and their cubs. Ruan was a fantastic guide not just on the safari, but also on getting around and things to do. Nearby is also ilala Weavers which is the best place to stock up on Zulu curio items. We would really suggest splitting your time between both of the properties. The Game Lodge is beautiful, but also a little constricting as it's built on a peak and not a lot of room to roam. The Heritage Lodge and Tent camp has plenty of room to walk around among the animal. The first day we were there we had Zebra and Impala walking within 30' from our tent. The balance of 3 days at each was right for us. Make sure to upgrade your room. We figured we're going all the way to Africa then it's worth the extra couple of hundred to get the huge tent and room. After Zulu Nyala we spent a few days in Durban exploring. Highly recommend a day trip south to the Lake Eland reserve for the high adventure activities. Hope this helps; Sawubona!

Room tip: Pay to upgrade to a deluxe tent and then request something number 1-8. They have unobstructed views out onto the animal area
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank maaronsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We spent three nights in the Hemingway Tents and 3 nights in the lodge. Mannie was our guide and he was OUTSTANDING! The people working there were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent with quite a wide variety. But the very best part was seeing all the animals. It truly was an amazing experience. For over an hour we watched four elephants interact. We went to Phinda one evening and saw a pride of lions. We never tired of seeing the zebras, giraffes, rhinos, warthogs, cape buffalo, wildebeest, hippos and more!

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
3  Thank mzimmerlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

The development that has taken place in the last few years have been colossal.
The large number of game that you see in the property is really worthwhile to mention.
The new Zulu Village be something to talk about.
The Management and staff are taking a lot of pain to make the Heritage a dream place to visit.
Well done keep it up.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Travelled solo
3  Thank Randolph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews