We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$315
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$109
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$137
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$144
US$135
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$215
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$108
US$90
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
179
196
49
21
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
179
196
49
21
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage safari lodgezulu nyalacharity auctiongame drivesthe reserveelephant interactionrented a carindian oceansouth africafront porchwear layersbuffet stylethree nightsday triprichard's bayincredible tripside trips
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We spent three nights in the Hemingway Tents and 3 nights in the lodge. Mannie was our guide and he was OUTSTANDING! The people working there were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent with quite a wide variety. But the very best part was seeing all the animals. It truly was an amazing experience. For over an hour we watched four elephants interact. We went to Phinda one evening and saw a pride of lions. We never tired of seeing the zebras, giraffes, rhinos, warthogs, cape buffalo, wildebeest, hippos and more!

Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
3  Thank mzimmerlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

The development that has taken place in the last few years have been colossal.
The large number of game that you see in the property is really worthwhile to mention.
The new Zulu Village be something to talk about.
The Management and staff are taking a lot of pain to make the Heritage a dream place to visit.
Well done keep it up.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
3  Thank Randolph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We started our Safari experience at the Heritrage Lodge having self driven from J'Burg that morning. The drive was easy but took 6 or so hours.

The lodge was lovely. We stayed in a King Bed room which had a fan and air con. The shower was also great.

No sooner had we arrived, we headed out on our very first drive with Erika our guide. We were treated to seeing the Cheetah consuming his meal (Impala caught only 3 hrs before). Erika was fantastic, very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. The following day we met the other members of our group who were all fantastic.

Dinner, lunch and breakfast were all very well catered for, needless to say we never went hungry.

As others have said, Zulu Nyala does not have Lions but that just meant you went to another lodge to see same. With Erika's expertise, our group had the most wonderful experience with a Black Rhino - up close who came back for a second 'check out' of our vehicle. Erika informed us all that this type of experience is not at all common so we were very blessed to experience this with Erika.

We then went to the Game Lodge - go to review for further information

Room Tip: Room v Tent - rooms are closer to reception with air con and fans
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank AtripleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Our room was comfortable, clean and quite large. It felt safe and within a short walk to the reception and dining area. The people working were kind and helpful. There wasn't internet service in the rooms but you could go to the reception area and use the internet connection there.

Room Tip: If you stay in a tented room, it may be nosy
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank artful-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge from 8th to 10th April 2016.
When we arrived, we booked a game drive at the reception for the day after on the morning at 6.00 am. We choosed this hotel because they organize their own game drives with their own rangers.
Unfortunately, we received a call on the d-day at 05.30 am in our room to cancel our game drive. It was told us the game reserve was full !
In fact, we saw three cars with rangers going on game drive this morning but it was for a group and not for individual clients like us. They gave clearly advantage to them . Be careful !!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
2  Thank isabelle00352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews