We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and unique safari experience”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Salem, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Romantic and unique safari experience”
Reviewed 18 May 2016

So you have won a "I dreamed of Africa Safari" at a charity auction and now that it's the next morning you have been searching feverishly everywhere to figure out what you have gotten yourself into. If this is your first trip to South Africa then you have scored a great trip at a wonderful private reserve. The few complaints I heard about Zulu Nyala when researching in advance was that it is a smaller reserve without all the big five animals. This is true, but this was our first safari and the size of the location worked to our advantage as our ranger Ruan was able to find all of the animals. We took two side excursions and were able to see the lions that Zulu Nyala doesn't have. You're going to find plenty of reviews of the food, rooms, and service; we found them all to be good, but so much of that is preference. Here are our recommendations and experience as we booked the trip: We flew into Johannesburg from Washington DC and immediately took one of the many hopper flights to Durban; 21 hours flying total! We just wanted to crash at that point and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express near the airport (good call.) We rented a car through AAA that was $110 for 10 days unlimited miles. If you're brave and can drive on the left side of the road, we would highly recommend getting a car and extending your stay. We drove to Zulu Nyala the next morning and I was amazed how easy it was. The main road N2 runs north (you can follow it on goggle earth) and is well maintained. Heritage Lodge is only two well marked turns and about 5 minutes from N2. Took less than 3 hours. People are courteous on the roads and the biggest distraction is the livestock along the sides. When you have a car you can do all of the excursions plus more for less. I think the price Zulu Nyala charges for excursions is fair considering they provide a ranger and safe transportation, but we never regretted trekking out on our own. Highly recommend the elephant encounter, cat rehab center, and zulu croc. We also took a guided trip at the next door larger Phinda reserve where we saw the lions and their cubs. Ruan was a fantastic guide not just on the safari, but also on getting around and things to do. Nearby is also ilala Weavers which is the best place to stock up on Zulu curio items. We would really suggest splitting your time between both of the properties. The Game Lodge is beautiful, but also a little constricting as it's built on a peak and not a lot of room to roam. The Heritage Lodge and Tent camp has plenty of room to walk around among the animal. The first day we were there we had Zebra and Impala walking within 30' from our tent. The balance of 3 days at each was right for us. Make sure to upgrade your room. We figured we're going all the way to Africa then it's worth the extra couple of hundred to get the huge tent and room. After Zulu Nyala we spent a few days in Durban exploring. Highly recommend a day trip south to the Lake Eland reserve for the high adventure activities. Hope this helps; Sawubona!

Room Tip: Pay to upgrade to a deluxe tent and then request something number 1-8. They have unobstructed views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank maaronsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    140
    160
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
188
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hillsboro, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2016

We spent three nights in the Hemingway Tents and 3 nights in the lodge. Mannie was our guide and he was OUTSTANDING! The people working there were friendly and very helpful. The food was excellent with quite a wide variety. But the very best part was seeing all the animals. It truly was an amazing experience. For over an hour we watched four elephants interact. We went to Phinda one evening and saw a pride of lions. We never tired of seeing the zebras, giraffes, rhinos, warthogs, cape buffalo, wildebeest, hippos and more!

Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank mzimmerlund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2016 via mobile

The development that has taken place in the last few years have been colossal.
The large number of game that you see in the property is really worthwhile to mention.
The new Zulu Village be something to talk about.
The Management and staff are taking a lot of pain to make the Heritage a dream place to visit.
Well done keep it up.

Stayed April 2016, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Randolph P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We started our Safari experience at the Heritrage Lodge having self driven from J'Burg that morning. The drive was easy but took 6 or so hours.

The lodge was lovely. We stayed in a King Bed room which had a fan and air con. The shower was also great.

No sooner had we arrived, we headed out on our very first drive with Erika our guide. We were treated to seeing the Cheetah consuming his meal (Impala caught only 3 hrs before). Erika was fantastic, very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. The following day we met the other members of our group who were all fantastic.

Dinner, lunch and breakfast were all very well catered for, needless to say we never went hungry.

As others have said, Zulu Nyala does not have Lions but that just meant you went to another lodge to see same. With Erika's expertise, our group had the most wonderful experience with a Black Rhino - up close who came back for a second 'check out' of our vehicle. Erika informed us all that this type of experience is not at all common so we were very blessed to experience this with Erika.

We then went to the Game Lodge - go to review for further information

Room Tip: Room v Tent - rooms are closer to reception with air con and fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtripleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Our room was comfortable, clean and quite large. It felt safe and within a short walk to the reception and dining area. The people working were kind and helpful. There wasn't internet service in the rooms but you could go to the reception area and use the internet connection there.

Room Tip: If you stay in a tented room, it may be nosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artful-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
8.3 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
7.4 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.1 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
330.5 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#90 of 171 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.9 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price range (per night): R813 - R1 226
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing