We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful first 3 nights”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hluhluwe
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Wonderful first 3 nights”
Reviewed 23 April 2016

We started our Safari experience at the Heritrage Lodge having self driven from J'Burg that morning. The drive was easy but took 6 or so hours.

The lodge was lovely. We stayed in a King Bed room which had a fan and air con. The shower was also great.

No sooner had we arrived, we headed out on our very first drive with Erika our guide. We were treated to seeing the Cheetah consuming his meal (Impala caught only 3 hrs before). Erika was fantastic, very knowledgeable with a great sense of humour. The following day we met the other members of our group who were all fantastic.

Dinner, lunch and breakfast were all very well catered for, needless to say we never went hungry.

As others have said, Zulu Nyala does not have Lions but that just meant you went to another lodge to see same. With Erika's expertise, our group had the most wonderful experience with a Black Rhino - up close who came back for a second 'check out' of our vehicle. Erika informed us all that this type of experience is not at all common so we were very blessed to experience this with Erika.

We then went to the Game Lodge - go to review for further information

Room Tip: Room v Tent - rooms are closer to reception with air con and fans
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AtripleC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    160
    37
    16
    7
See reviews for
65
188
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2016

Our room was comfortable, clean and quite large. It felt safe and within a short walk to the reception and dining area. The people working were kind and helpful. There wasn't internet service in the rooms but you could go to the reception area and use the internet connection there.

Room Tip: If you stay in a tented room, it may be nosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank artful-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2016

We stayed 2 nights at Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge from 8th to 10th April 2016.
When we arrived, we booked a game drive at the reception for the day after on the morning at 6.00 am. We choosed this hotel because they organize their own game drives with their own rangers.
Unfortunately, we received a call on the d-day at 05.30 am in our room to cancel our game drive. It was told us the game reserve was full !
In fact, we saw three cars with rangers going on game drive this morning but it was for a group and not for individual clients like us. They gave clearly advantage to them . Be careful !!

  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
1 Thank isabelle00352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016

First of all let me start my review by noting that I purchased the Zulu Nyala (ZN) at a silent auction like most of the guests who were at the property. We were a little apprehensive about this trip having never heard of ZN and also never having visited South Africa or even the continent of Africa before. So first let me state that overall we had an excellent experience at both ZN and in Johannesburg where we stayed for 2 nights prior to traveling to ZN,

So that is why I gave our overall experience at ZN and South Africa 5 stars. I read a lot of reviews about other peoples experiences prior to coming. I think it is best to address that negative things I read first and provide a comment about our experience:

- "ZN is too small and gets boring after awhile"- We did not find this to be the case at all. We did almost every game drive that our driver arranged and we saw something new and different every time. We looked forward to every trip because our guide, Erika was very knowledgeable and knew what she was talking about. We also were teamed up with a nice group so we had a lot of fun. We did a few side trips and those were very good. I'll provide some more details later.

- "The food was terrible"- We did not find this to be true at all. First of all the food appears to be very safe, fresh and nutritious. We had no problems at all and never heard one complaint about the food from other guests. ZN has especially great breakfasts with an omelet stations that was outstanding. And you get a great value on all wine, beer and mixed drinks. They had some nice wines priced around $US15. Beers were about $2 a bottle. They also provide each guest with a liter of bottled water everyday which was very nice.

- "Rooms are not that great"- Our room was very nice. We stayed at the Heritage lodge the 7 days, 6 nights we were there and had not problems. The room was plenty large and had a very large bathroom with two sinks and a large shower. The AC worked well and cleaning service was very good.

- "Unfriendly Staff"- Not true at all in case. We found the staff at the Heritage Lodge to be extremely customer service oriented. They tried to do everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. Lloyd and Valentine were at the front most of the time and they couldn't have been more helpful.

I'll share a few things that we did or heard about that made the trip more enjoyable:

-- Get a picked up at airport when you arrive. We flew into Johannesburg and had a driver meet us and drove us straight to the hotel we were staying at in Sandton. We arranged that through the hotel. It cost about $US 40 total. It makes your arrival all that much easier rather than trying to find the train or a taxi. When we left Jo-burg to fly to Richards Bay, we took the train to the airport as we knew how that worked by then. That was about $US 8.00 each.
-- We rented a car in Richards Bay. You have to drive on the left side of the road but did not find it to be a problem. The roads were very good but you will see people and livestock walking right next to the road so be very attentive. Having a car made it much easier to get around and see things near ZN.
-- Side Trips from ZN. We did Phinda which is the large game reserve next to ZN. Our guide arranged that for us and it was outstanding. They have everything there including lions. We did the Elephant interaction tour which again was outstanding. Also, we went to St. Lucia which took a whole day which was OK but not that great. Finally, we drove to Hluhluwe game reserve which is only about 15 miles from ZN. This is the oldest park in South Africa and is a self drive. It was outstanding as we saw a lot of wildlife including two male elephants who were right next to our car.
-- Research, Research, Research-- Read as much as you can on Trip Advisor and other travel cites about ZN. You will find a lot of useful information that will help you plan your trip. Also, I used Skype to call the various places we were visiting to ask questions before hand which helped.

Room Tip: We stayed at the Heritage Lodge only. The Game Lodge is only accessible via a fairly long drive on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank ssmarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scituate, ma
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2016

A clean, fun, professional place to begin your adventure. The car service from the airport is what most people used, we rented a car. The grounds are constantly cared for, the zebras grazing next in the tents in the morning were a surprise. Caged crocs (natural setting - pond and water lilies) baking in the sun during the day. Plenty animals on the morning and evening drives. Plan on taking excursions. Hippo (St Lucia) and elephant fun. Some game food at dinner and breakfast. Jeanine was our guide and she was great.

Room Tip: Room 34 is an end unit with TV, AC and a frig.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank macmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hluhluwe
8.3 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
7.4 km away
Protea Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.1 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
330.5 km away
Nkambeni Safari Camp
Nkambeni Safari Camp
#91 of 171 in Kruger National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.0 km away
Leopard Walk Lodge
Leopard Walk Lodge
#8 of 33 in Hluhluwe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
11.9 km away
Bushwillow Collection
Bushwillow Collection
#2 of 33 in Hluhluwe
5.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Property: Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Price range (per night): R833 - R1 283
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing