We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It worked for us.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 April 2016

A clean, fun, professional place to begin your adventure. The car service from the airport is what most people used, we rented a car. The grounds are constantly cared for, the zebras grazing next in the tents in the morning were a surprise. Caged crocs (natural setting - pond and water lilies) baking in the sun during the day. Plenty animals on the morning and evening drives. Plan on taking excursions. Hippo (St Lucia) and elephant fun. Some game food at dinner and breakfast. Jeanine was our guide and she was great.

Room Tip: Room 34 is an end unit with TV, AC and a frig.
  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank macmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (390)
There are newer reviews for Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 66 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 11 April 2016

The first time I've been in South Africa and I had an incredible trip. We stayed at the Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge and took two tours a day. Our tour guide, Bernie was amazing. she was so knowledgable and so positive with our touring different locations. We didn"t want to go home.

Room Tip: tented rooms are somewhat noisy - the other rooms are good and quite
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We stayed at the Heritage safari lodge for 5 nights, and participated in the property's included daily safari drives. The lodging itself is very nice, the food is all-inclusive and truly fantastic. My expectation for all-inclusive food is generally that it will be average, but give it to this resort for preparing excellent meals three times per day.

The resort provides you a list of additional activities that are not part of the all-inclusive deal, and we participated in several of them. Because the Rand is in such bad shape versus the dollar, this was very affordable. Be forewarned, however, that you will be paying for certain activities beyond the safari drives in an a la carte fashion.

Our guide, Chris Beukes, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the habitat, all of the flora and fauna, and contextualized the current fight for survival for all of these majestic creatures (most notably the rhino). He's a funny, patient, and intelligent person that will guarantee your satisfaction. He made sure that any booking question or issue we had was handled flawlessly. We can't wait to return with our boys and will be requesting his services specifically. I'd recommend him, but also heard many other guests bragging on their guides quite a bit in the hotel. I don't think you can get a bad one. My wife and I are still biased though!

Finally, one of the best parts of the trip is the pairing with other people in your safari group. You get assigned with others who have the same rough schedule as you, and we were paired with very lovely couples from Australia, England and the U.S. as well. We all had a really fun time getting to know each other and hopefully made some long-term bonds. Chris was helpful in getting the ice broken quickly, and that was just a cherry on top.

We stayed in both the Hemingway tent (which was very nice and romantic as well), and the regular hotel room. The regular room was nice and had a more modern aesthetic, including AC, which was nice. The people who work at the resort are very kind and considerate. Make sure to befriend Princess, the restaurant manager. She is very sweet and works hard in her role.

The only wifi is in the reception and front restaurant/bar area, but this seems intentional. We would end our day there briefly checking internet before going back to the room and being glad to not be connected to devices.

You will not be disappointed in booking with this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Stayed at the Heritage Lodge from 1/30/2016 to 2/2/2016. We had won this trip through Bidding For Good auction. Our room was very clean and was equipped with a refrigerator and TV and a large bathroom. The food for breakfast and lunch was very good but the main entrees for dinner was usually not to my liking. There was a charge for all drinks but the prices was reasonable. For an example, we ordered a bottle of white wine which was 135 Rand ( under $10 US). We paid for a side trip to Phinda Reserve to view the Lions and spent several hours trying to find a lion of which we finally found a male Lion and 2 females that was pregnant. We was treated to refreshments and snacks at the end of the trip but I felt for what we saw and did we overpaid for this trip. We was offered a morning and afternoon trip through Zulu Nyala reserve each day with our great guide Peace whom took different routes each time and the interactions of the animals was different each trip. Peace, our guide, was very informative and went out of his way to keep us safe and informed.
We met the head of Maintenance who was a joy to listen to regarding his life in South Africa and one of their Chefs even tap danced with my husband. People are very friendly here. We was warned about Malaria by our children but had no problem during our stay in South Africa. In fact none of the guides, etc. take Malaria pills which eased my mind. One thing tho that bothered me was each time you made a purchase and charged it to your room there was a line for a gratuity on the slip and they also ask you to give 10% on your final bill to tip all employees. It should either be one or the other.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We really enjoyed our week stay at Zulu nyala. We had two Hemingway tents (22 and 6) and watched the sun set each night from our porch. The tents are not what you would call a tent if you are into camping and are very comfortable and modern. On windy nights - they can be loud if you are a light sleeper. But we loved being in them. William was our guide and was excellent in providing information about the animals, geography and history ... Along with a lot of laughs. We won this via an auction like all who we met while staying. While the game reserve is smaller it does make it a guarantee that you will see animals each drive. We rented a car and drove ourselves from Richards Bay. An easy drive and then had flexibility to explore St. Lucia on our own and took the Hippo Cruise and saw a lot of Hippo as well as explored the town. We did two other excursions. The elephant interaction and game drive and also a Safari led by our Ranger at Hluhluwe–Imfolozi Park where we were able to see lions and large herds of Elephants both AMAZING. Pinda reserve was not available while we were there but have heard it is well worth it if it is while you are there. Our tents were very comfortable. Food was good... We had plenty of choices and variety. The staff were wonderful and friendly! I would stay there again if we return to South Africa.

Stayed: December 2015
4  Thank MFP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hluhluwe hotels
7.5 km away
Anew Hotel Hluhluwe & Safaris
8.4 km away
Zululand Tree Lodge
Zululand Tree Lodge
#2 of 7 in Hluhluwe
133 reviews
14.5 km away
Bayala Game Lodge
Bayala Game Lodge
#6 of 7 in Hluhluwe
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 km away
Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
8.2 km away
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
#5 of 7 in Hluhluwe
73 reviews
8.2 km away
Zululand Safari Lodge
Zululand Safari Lodge
#10 of 32 in Hluhluwe
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge

Address: 45 Bree Street Cradock 1969 | PO Box 247, Hluhluwe 3960, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Zululand > Hluhluwe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Hluhluwe
Hotel Class:4 star — Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Heritage Safari Lodge was originally built in the 1940’s as a hotel and was a landmark pit-stop for weary travelers between Maputo and Durban. Acquired in 1996, the gracious building was lovingly restored to its original colonial grandeur, enhanced with new accommodation, and tastefully themed to highlight Zululand’s unique cultural heritage.With buffet-style meals in our restaurant, the wide, welcoming veranda and our ‘human watering hole’ - the pub or thatched boma, warm and relaxing atmosphere is conducive to shared good times and conviviality. The sparkling pool is always inviting, and you’re sure to enjoy browsing our beautifully stocked curio shop for a few authentic African mementos. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Zulu Nyala Heritage Safari Hotel Hluhluwe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing