We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (497)
Filter reviews
497 results
Traveller rating
200
218
49
23
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
218
49
23
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheritage safari lodgezulu nyalacharity auctiongame drivesthe reserveelephant interactionindian oceanrented a carbuffet stylesouth africacanvas rooffront porchwear layersday tripst luciarichard's baythree nights
Filter
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 497 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2016

We stayed at the Heritage safari lodge for 5 nights, and participated in the property's included daily safari drives. The lodging itself is very nice, the food is all-inclusive and truly fantastic. My expectation for all-inclusive food is generally that it will be average, but give it to this resort for preparing excellent meals three times per day.

The resort provides you a list of additional activities that are not part of the all-inclusive deal, and we participated in several of them. Because the Rand is in such bad shape versus the dollar, this was very affordable. Be forewarned, however, that you will be paying for certain activities beyond the safari drives in an a la carte fashion.

Our guide, Chris Beukes, was fantastic. He was very knowledgeable about the habitat, all of the flora and fauna, and contextualized the current fight for survival for all of these majestic creatures (most notably the rhino). He's a funny, patient, and intelligent person that will guarantee your satisfaction. He made sure that any booking question or issue we had was handled flawlessly. We can't wait to return with our boys and will be requesting his services specifically. I'd recommend him, but also heard many other guests bragging on their guides quite a bit in the hotel. I don't think you can get a bad one. My wife and I are still biased though!

Finally, one of the best parts of the trip is the pairing with other people in your safari group. You get assigned with others who have the same rough schedule as you, and we were paired with very lovely couples from Australia, England and the U.S. as well. We all had a really fun time getting to know each other and hopefully made some long-term bonds. Chris was helpful in getting the ice broken quickly, and that was just a cherry on top.

We stayed in both the Hemingway tent (which was very nice and romantic as well), and the regular hotel room. The regular room was nice and had a more modern aesthetic, including AC, which was nice. The people who work at the resort are very kind and considerate. Make sure to befriend Princess, the restaurant manager. She is very sweet and works hard in her role.

The only wifi is in the reception and front restaurant/bar area, but this seems intentional. We would end our day there briefly checking internet before going back to the room and being glad to not be connected to devices.

You will not be disappointed in booking with this lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank Andrew N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016

Stayed at the Heritage Lodge from 1/30/2016 to 2/2/2016. We had won this trip through Bidding For Good auction. Our room was very clean and was equipped with a refrigerator and TV and a large bathroom. The food for breakfast and lunch was very good but the main entrees for dinner was usually not to my liking. There was a charge for all drinks but the prices was reasonable. For an example, we ordered a bottle of white wine which was 135 Rand ( under $10 US). We paid for a side trip to Phinda Reserve to view the Lions and spent several hours trying to find a lion of which we finally found a male Lion and 2 females that was pregnant. We was treated to refreshments and snacks at the end of the trip but I felt for what we saw and did we overpaid for this trip. We was offered a morning and afternoon trip through Zulu Nyala reserve each day with our great guide Peace whom took different routes each time and the interactions of the animals was different each trip. Peace, our guide, was very informative and went out of his way to keep us safe and informed.
We met the head of Maintenance who was a joy to listen to regarding his life in South Africa and one of their Chefs even tap danced with my husband. People are very friendly here. We was warned about Malaria by our children but had no problem during our stay in South Africa. In fact none of the guides, etc. take Malaria pills which eased my mind. One thing tho that bothered me was each time you made a purchase and charged it to your room there was a line for a gratuity on the slip and they also ask you to give 10% on your final bill to tip all employees. It should either be one or the other.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank RedontheheadIndiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016

We really enjoyed our week stay at Zulu nyala. We had two Hemingway tents (22 and 6) and watched the sun set each night from our porch. The tents are not what you would call a tent if you are into camping and are very comfortable and modern. On windy nights - they can be loud if you are a light sleeper. But we loved being in them. William was our guide and was excellent in providing information about the animals, geography and history ... Along with a lot of laughs. We won this via an auction like all who we met while staying. While the game reserve is smaller it does make it a guarantee that you will see animals each drive. We rented a car and drove ourselves from Richards Bay. An easy drive and then had flexibility to explore St. Lucia on our own and took the Hippo Cruise and saw a lot of Hippo as well as explored the town. We did two other excursions. The elephant interaction and game drive and also a Safari led by our Ranger at Hluhluwe–Imfolozi Park where we were able to see lions and large herds of Elephants both AMAZING. Pinda reserve was not available while we were there but have heard it is well worth it if it is while you are there. Our tents were very comfortable. Food was good... We had plenty of choices and variety. The staff were wonderful and friendly! I would stay there again if we return to South Africa.

Stayed: December 2015
4  Thank MFP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2016 via mobile

Wife and I spent 6 days at the Heritage
First off it was a great experience, not sure you can call this a vacation!
But, you can be as busy as you wish, and we opted to experience as much as we could during our visit.
Multiple morning and afternoon safaris during our visit, and we need to add - Amon our guide was the greatest!!
Very helpful and knowledgeable!!
We started out in a tent, and although it was appointed nicely it just wasn't us. I thought that it would be, but after one night knew we needed to move to a room with air.
Also, we would recommend staying at the lodge in place of the Heritage.
Accommodations are more resort like and the food and bar service is better.
But, again this was us. We could have moved, but we had already moved once.
For excursions we did the following, and again Amon did great job getting them arranged:
Phinda - not always available but Amon made it happen!! Lifetime experience!!
St Lucia ocean cruise and Indian Ocean visit
Tiger fishing - we didn't catch anything but I had one on, it was more about seeing more of the country and another experience. We greatly enjoyed the 4 hours and Douglas our fishing guide and he tried his best.
Elephant interaction very enjoyable and worthy
Service and staff were very helpful and friendly.
Would highly encourage the experience!!

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Tboeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

We spent 6 days on safari at Zulu Nyala. We stayed in one of the Hemingway Tented Cabins. Everything about Zulu Nyala exceeded our expectations. It's the type of place you leave and immediately start planning a return visit! We loved it so much! Our guide was Peace and he was wonderful- friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. We did game drives in the morning and afternoon and loved seeing the animals everyday. We took advantage of the excursions to St. Lucia, Elephant Interaction, Game drive at another reserve to see a lion, and the Cheetah rehab centre. All well-worth it and reasonably priced. Like many of the other guests at Zulu Nyala we won the safari through a charity auction (Artists Repertory Theatre, Portland, Oregon). I was nervously excited about the prospect of the trip and was prepared to be outside my comfort zone during the safari. I was not - even for a second. The accommodation, the food, the excellent service, the bottled water they provided all made for an extremely comfortable experience. We flew into Duban via Jo'Burg (South African Airways - very happy with our experience on SAA) and used Zulu Nyala's transfer service to pick us up and return us to the airport. It worked well for us as we were extremely tired from the journey. After our 6 days at Zulu Nyala we spent an additional 5 days in Cape Town (we flew to CT from Duban - internal flight was very inexpensive). We loved, loved CT and wish we had spent twice as long there. We stayed at the Westin and although it was excellent we would probably choose an independent hotel next time on the V&A Waterfront. We booked a couple excursions with Hylton Ross (small group tours), but the final two days we hired a personal guide (approx $165/day) to drive us around and show us all the sights we couldn't see from a tour bus. We visited coffee shops, cool restaurants & bakeries, he took us to a gorgeous beach and even wine tasting. We had tried to book a private guide prior to our arrival, but being over the holidays everyone that had been recommended to us was fully booked. We actually found our guide when we took a taxi (also extremely affordable) from Camp's Bay to Hout Bay and he mentioned we could hire him for the day. Overall this was the best vacation we've ever taken and although it was our first time to South Africa, I can guarantee it won't be our last!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
9  Thank lawoodrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews