We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
debbiem1932017
Durban, South Africa

A great experience

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 07 Apr 2024
A great experience, the chalet was clean and the beds comfortable, everything in the kitchen worked and there were teas, coffees and sugar sachets. The dstv didnt work and the one aircon. It gets serviced daily. The buffet breakfasts were delicious. The pool was crystal clear and we saw so much game, just no cats, but it was very rainy for half the time. Just be careful of the baboons when unpacking the car and keep all doors and windows closed at all times!
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: Watch out for baboons when unpacking the car Bring your own drinking water There are generators...
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 000
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 000
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 915
  • Priceline
    R 1 000
14.1 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 142
  • Vio.com
    R 1 060
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 173
13.9 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
En suite DOUBLE room
R 800
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 800
  • Agoda.com
    R 800
  • eDreams
    R 800
14.8 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 637
  • Priceline
    R 6 637
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 637
27.3 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 380
  • Priceline
    R 4 380
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 380
  • eDreams
    R 4 380
20.7 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Recreational facility
R 4 032
  • Priceline
    R 4 032
  • Agoda.com
    R 2 820
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 040
29.7 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Bushlands restaurant and pool
R 920
  • Priceline
    R 654
  • Agoda.com
    R 579
  • Trip.com
15.6 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 1 340
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 387
  • Agoda.com
    R 937
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 351
14.7 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 11 990
R 10 251
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 11 990
  • Booking.com
    R 11 990
  • Hotels.com
    R 10 251
22.3 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
R 13 064
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 12 688
  • Agoda.com
    R 12 030
  • Hotels.com
    R 13 033
30.1 km from Hilltop Resort Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
19 results
Traveller rating
2
7
7
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2
7
7
1
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 19 reviews
Reviewed 5 April 2023

We spent two nights in the Rondavels. Gate and Hilltop staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooms and communal bathrooms and kitchen were very clean. The pool area and pool was clean. Breakfast included with a night in the rondavels was excellent.
Great birding in the forest walk inside Hilltop that starts near the pool e.g. Narina Trogon, African Broadbill, Crested Guineafowl and African Yellow White-eye. We enjoyed seeing Nyala, Red Duiker and Samango Monkeys just walking around the camp. The water from the taps is safe to drink. Overall, the accommodation and facilities were excellent.

Room tip: Know how to change the tyre on the vehicle you are driving. Keep distance of at least 30m from elephant. Get a map from reception (R5)
Date of stay: April 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Trail18256367840
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 January 2023

This game reserve is gorgeous, so lush when we were there after recent rain. The accommodation needs attention, taps not working and the lack of power (& no backup generator) is bad for guests. A storm knocked out the power & we just had to stay with no power all night. Staff are pretty useless, asked for candles and they finally found 2 & had no matches! The food was excellent in the restaurant, but they could do much better with good staff. Tried to give them some feedback - but she couldn’t even find a feedback form! Disappointing that they don’t care to give guests good service :(
The animals were beautiful, nice & close, bird life wonderful & so great to see rhinos just beside the road grazing.

Room tip: Take torch & candles as power goes out.
Date of stay: December 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Felicity B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2021

when our children announced that they were treating us to a weekend away at Hluhluwe Game reserve and we were booked in to the Hilltop Camp. Breakfast would be included and we would take our own dinner and lunch. Well if only Hilltop camp lived up to our meagre expectation. But sadly it was a disaster. The staff looked as if they were at a funeral and the small shop was definitely understocked. The main unit we were allocated was enough to make you sick. See images attached. It would seem that the baboons had pulled out almost every single grass strand and dumped it on the floor. Obviously no inspection before our arrival at 2 pm. A window was left open with no primate proof gauze so the primates had urinated all over the unit leaving an obnoxious smell. it was disgusting, we asked for another unit which the manager obliged but unfortunately on entering you could smell the mould. On closer inspection we found the mould had never been cleaned for months it seemed. See attached images. Two of our party suffer with allergies especially mould so disaster. Breakfast was a joke, no Covid protocols, Buffer for serial, yogurt and fruit mix. Ordering form the menu with most of the items not being available, like mushrooms, pancakes etc. I fully understand the effect Covid has had on tourism but in this case rather close the camp till you can run it properly I suggest. I sent in a formal complaint which the response was that they had asked the camp manager to respond to same I should hear within a week. Well its been 3 weeks and not a single word from the Enzemvelo Head office.

Date of stay: March 2021
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank William F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 September 2019

We stopped here for lunch on a recent Safari. The food was good, but the view was better. We could see both Buffalo & Elephant across the valley. Well worth a visit to stay over night, or just for lunch.

Date of stay: December 2018
Thank D-Butel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

Communal areas all ok but accommodation (4 bed self catering lodge) a little dated and tired. Food was generally poor, especially if you come off an evening game drive, as appeared to have been sitting around a while. Breakfast ok, good if you are up for full English. The one redeeming factor was the very enthusiastic entertainment by the lovely kitchen staff (Zulu song and dance). The game drives where poor (felt like guided tour) and by far worst of our trip. Ok for Rhino but animals a little sparse otherwise. My grown up kids did enjoy the walking safari but it could have been longer. Will not be visiting again.

Date of stay: August 2018
Thank 938alastairk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews