We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 958
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Priceline
R 1 009
Fully refundable before Wed, 24 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Trip.com
R 1 796
Fully refundable before Sun, 28 Apr
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
476les
Park Rynie, South Africa
Good meals and clean rooms.
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Sept 2023
Friendly helpful staff. Great selection of well prepared food in the restaurant. Clean rooms, Good air conditioning. Hot water. The bath towels were threadbare and need replacing. No wi-fi in the rooms. A great plus is that the lodge has generator back up so loadshedding (scheduled national power outages) are not experienced at all.
Date of stay: September 2023
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Agoda.com
R 2 207
R 1 296
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • Lol.travel
  • Trip.com
    R 2 207
  • Expedia.com
3.0 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 980
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 980
  • Agoda.com
    R 896
  • Expedia.com
    R 980
8.4 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
R 6 637
  • Priceline
    R 6 637
  • eDreams
    R 6 637
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 637
30.2 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front Of Hotel
Booking.com
R 1 158
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 989
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 163
8.4 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 4 380
  • Priceline
    R 4 380
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 380
  • eDreams
    R 4 380
7.3 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Recreational facility
Booking.com
R 4 832
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 754
  • Priceline
    R 4 832
16.9 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 11 990
  • Tripadvisor
    R 11 359
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 11 990
33.8 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
Booking.com
R 1 340
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 387
  • Agoda.com
    R 945
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 445
2.8 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Booking.com
R 12 107
  • Hotels.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 11 578
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 410
31.5 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    R 3 069
  • eDreams
    R 3 069
  • Expedia.com
11.0 km from Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
54
71
30
6
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
71
30
6
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viewing deck self catering bush baby fantastic stay boma area buffet dinner jungle gym fire pit spent two nights load shedding the cottages each morning african bush south africa zebra wildlife lodge
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2023

We only stayd for one night at this establishment.firstly the food at this place is amazing 👏. At the bar the barman wasnt really shure about pricing and how to pour the correct dinks. We enjoyd the desplay of the various game against the wall but the reedbuck looks a littlebit out of shape 😳. Dinner service was lovely .the walkways on this property are a little bit scary as they are not propperly maintaind and feels if you are going to fall through or off , beacuse of the slope of the walkway in some places.
The pillows where terrable !!! Me and my wife could not sleep as the pillows were lumpy and too soft . Dont get me wrong this is a amazing establishment with huge potential. This was a great place and would defintily come again should this be fixed .

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cwille365593
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 June 2023

Was a good experience to enjoy what Gooderson Bushlands has to offer - the wildlife and cosy lodge. It is more rustic than upmarket, but does not take away from experiencing a real bushveld experience. We could easily have stayed for a week!

Date of stay: June 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank msteph316228
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bushlands Game Lodge BGL, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2023

Good day Steph.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bushlands Game Lodge.

I will let the team know that you enjoyed your stay and the rusticity of the lodge. We are one of the last remaining sand forests in South Africa which adds to the splendor of the place.

We really hope to see you again in the future.

Yours sincerely.

The Bushlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2023

Very beautiful place, spent 3 nights at the Nyala Lodge, self catering. Rustic ( which I love), comfortable with very helpful staff. The animals wonder around the units and the outlook across the pool is just beautiful. Great value for money, especially as we stayed during the week, very quite and peaceful.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Misha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bushlands Game Lodge BGL, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2023

Good day Misha.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bushlands Game lodge.

Nyala lodge is known for its serenity, peace and quiet. And all of us here are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed yourselves. Its very common that the guests down there get visited by our furry friends and that is a serious highlight for most of the guests.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the staff. I shall definitely pass them on.

We truly hope to see you in the near future.

Keep well.

Yours sincerely.

The Bushlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2023

Had the pleasure of staying here in March 2023 as a visitor from Australia. Stayed in Nyala Lodge and found the accomodation to be excellent and very clean. Had a great view of the pool and each morning and late afternoon we were vistied by numerous locals wandering around the property. Made for a woderful yet peaceful exerience

Room tip: If you decide to do the nature walk around property ensure you use plenty of the tick repellent available at reception or risk tick fever
Date of stay: February 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Grant M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bushlands Game Lodge BGL, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2023

Good day Grant.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bushlands game lodge.

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Nyala lodge (self catering). The animals that come around there especially at sunset are the highlight of most of the guests that come to the lodge.

Ill pass on the nice words to housekeeping that try their level best to keep the accommodation as clean as possible.

Please do come again as we have done some exciting things at Nyala lodge and would love to get your feedback.

Yours sincerely.

The Bushlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2023 via mobile

My family and I had the best time here. Giraffes were literally in our front yard amongst some other friendly animals. Accommodation was comfortable. Water quality for the tub and showers are questionable though. Great viewing deck but waterhole was dry while we were there.

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 287adhilr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Bushlands Game Lodge BGL, General Manager at Gooderson Bushlands Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2023

Good day Adhilr

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review on Bushlands Game lodge.

Also for your kind words regarding the place and the animals.

The watering hole is under renovations at the moment, but next time you come out I'm sure you will love the way it looks.

Unfortunately we have had massive water issues at Bushlands. We are however rectifying them rapidly and will soon be done with any water related problems.

We hope to see you again in the near future.

Keep well.

Yours sincerely.
The Bushlands Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews