We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
113 results
Traveller rating
28
51
20
3
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
51
20
3
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews viewing deck self catering the reserve buffet dinner bird life thoroughly enjoyed our stay units buck wildlife zebra nature lodge accommodation game africa mattress trees
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 113 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Very quiet peaceful
clean comfy chalets
great food
friendly staff
if you want a place 15 mins from game park rustic charm
awesome game viewing place
animals on property
close to endormi cheetah project

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbiepearmain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

We recently stayed here for 6 nights in one of the self catering lodges. Was very happy with it. Was clean & the facilities were good. The only draw back we found was we were far away from the main facilities (bar, restaurant, reception & viewing deck) so therefore had to drive to reach these. However having the giraffe wander around outside our lodge certainly compensated for this. We went on a game drive to Hluhluwe umfolozi game reserve every day except one when we visited Mkhuze. All of these were done in our own vehicle except one, when we went out with the ranger from bushlands on an early morning drive. We had an amazing experience on all. As for someone in a previous review saying it's a waste of time there's not many animals, I can honestly say we saw everything except from leopard & cheetahs. We saw lion, rhino, elephants, buffalo zebra & even had the very fortunate experience of seeing a herd of 15 wild dog on two occasions. We had evening meal at bushlands every night & breakfast just the once. We found the food good value for money & didn't have any complaints at all. The accommodation has it's own viewing deck overlooking a watering hole where it's own wildlife visit. Here you can see giraffe, wildebeest, nyala & zebra. Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here & would recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FamilyBroome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

The hotel per say is fine. The rooms are rustic and could use updating, but they are clean. The food is good, but it is often between room temperature and cold. When it comes to the safari, do yourself a favour, go to the Kruger national park and skip this destination, as there are far less animals. Our safari experience was quite the nightmare. During the Safari, the driver and guide was driving approximately 60 km/h throughout the park on curved roads. Way to fast to see any animals. There were not many to begin with. The driver was required to leave the park at 6pm according to the boss I assume. Thus, we stayed in the park far after the sunset, which was aggravating considering we didn't see many animals. When we finally left the park, the driver tried to put the tarp on the top of the truck, to protect the passengers from the cold wind and flying debris. The driver was unable to put the tarp on, so he didn't. We could have received a rock projected by a passing car, which could have caused serious damage to anyone who may have received such an object. At one point, the driver drove too close to the side of the road and passed over some broken glass, which evidently popped a tire. The driver then pulled over to a nearby gas station to inspect the tire. The driver knew the tire was popped, and rather than call his supervisor for another truck to come pick us up and drive us back, he decided to drive on the flat tire, rather than changing it with the spare. The driver then drove back to the reserve way too fast, as he was afraid he wouldn't have enough air in the tires left to get back to the reserve. The driver drove 120 km/h on a dangerous dirt road with tons of little pebbles in the pitch black night. The ride lasted 10 minutes, going at an extreme speed the whole time. We drove on that road the previous day to get to the lodge, and we were driving 40 km/h as the road was extremely unsafe. Going 120 km/h on a flat tire with an old beat up pickup truck, on a dirt, curvy, pothole filled road, is tremendously stupid and imprudent. The driver put all 9 passengers life in danger. When we finally arrived, everyone looked at each other and immediately starting asking each other if they were scared as well, as we could literally see our lives flashing in front of our eyes. Horrible experience, as you can imagine. I would never recommend going to this place if you want to go on a safari, as you won't see any animals, and you might experience the same type of road trip as I did, possibly with a different outcome.

Date of stay: June 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

Arriving at Gooderson's the receptionist was very friendly, within 5 minutes, all "paper work" was done and on the way to our room (no.11). Nothing wrong with the room it was clean and good. It's like being in a tree house, the walkway to the viewing deck is good and give you a feeling like walking in the trees. The viewing deck is really a place to sit down and just chill with every thing happening in front of you. Lots of bird life an animals.
Buffet dinner was very good and tasty. Once again the staff was excellent, just remember you are in Africa, and you have time , no rush. Although we good not see the bush babies, but they did eat the food that was put out for them. We will be back .

Room tip: the rooms close to the main area swimming pool can get noisy.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Elzabe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

The Manager and staff make this a place worth staying at. Excellent service - and always with a smile.
Good home cookng.. aircons in the bedrooms.. who could want for more ?
The look out deck is beautiful. We will be back.

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Norma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews