We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
reinholdbaumann
Mannheim, Germany

A very nice Stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 May 2019

It was a nice stay, we were greeted very well. the food was buffet but delicious. we were completely satisfied. The houses were very clean. We had two nights there and gave up laundry to wash. This also worked very well. The laundry was punctual and clean.
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 2 760
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 727
  • Priceline
    R 2 270
  • Hotels.com
    R 2 706
17.7 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Recreational facility
R 4 084
  • Trip.com
  • Agoda.com
    R 3 049
  • Priceline
    R 4 224
21.1 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
R 6 637
  • eDreams
    R 6 637
  • Priceline
    R 6 637
  • Agoda.com
    R 6 637
21.7 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 4 370
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    R 4 370
  • eDreams
    R 4 370
  • Agoda.com
    R 4 370
18.8 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
R 15 860
  • Trip.com
  • Vio.com
    R 12 256
  • Expedia.com
    R 14 273
23.8 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 1 041
  • Algotels
5.2 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 856
  • eDreams
5.2 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    R 4 380
  • Agoda.com
13.1 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Bushlands restaurant and pool
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
    R 654
  • StayForLong
10.5 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 992
  • eDreams
11.5 km from Zululand Tree Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (212)
Filter reviews
212 results
Traveller rating
96
74
27
11
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
96
74
27
11
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 212 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2019

We were very impressed by the high standards which we found at this charming lodge. It is not new anymore but kept in excellent condition. Maybe the shower could do with a facelift, but this is a minor detail. Situated in a game farm with lots of animals and being close to the Hluhluwe gate, it is an ideal place to stay. Besides, the food was very lekker too. We thank the Zululand tree lodge team for making us feel at home

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank GoPlaces49516855729
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 May 2019

The staff was perfect! After a trouble trip in which we got lost, the staff went looking for us. When we arrive to the lodge, quite late for African time, we had a marvelous dinner waiting for us. They really make our night much more better than we thought it would be.
The lodge is very comfortable and quite. We can see grazers everywhere near the houses and you can walk around to explore the reserve. We loved and we would recommend it.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Climber51531732370
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Nice accomodation with lots of animals, breakfast and dinner average, service was medium. Hot chocolate with milk on extra charge. No help with the lugagge when leaving. Lots of extra charges. For beeing in Africa it was too expensive. We had 5 nights, that was definitely too much.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wanderer19032898223
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 March 2019

Great setting and wonderful rooms. Staff very friendly and professional. The pool is not obvious and the staff had to be asked where it was. Turned out to be in the sister hotel next door, 400m away.
Excellent pool though, also a large lounge with full sat tv next door which is also not mentioned. Not much else to do so best visited for short trips. Overall excellent place.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway42863892412
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 March 2019

I had stayed at Tree Lodge 20+ years ago and it was wonderful! Great memories of a Luxury Lodge with good food and proximity to Hluhluwe-Umfolosi Game Reserves

The Lodge is now very tired. The location is still good, the staff are friendly and helpful, no problem with the service at all, even the food was pretty good.. we had breakfast and dinner buffets, but we were too late to enjoy the afternoon high tea included in our package.

I wasn't a fan of the croc pen that the restaurant/bar overlooked, it was a bit smelly in the evening!.. and the dis-used aviary should be taken down, it's not what your guests need to be looking at in an area where fabulous wild bird life abounds! These enclosures are reminiscent of bad zoos. I'm not sure, but I may have spotted a third enclosure for ostrich?

Our room smelt of moth balls and age. There were no pictures on the bare walls, the over-bed mosquito net was hung on electrical tubing a piece of string and a prayer, not lovely!

The good bits, unfortunately didn't warrant the price of the accommodation/package.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank Gail F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews