We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
johnfaysr
Riverside, California

depends on the guide; need more modern drink menu

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Mar 2024
interesting marketing -- clientele seems to be booked largely through charity sales/auctions.

this is a Big Three reserve -- no big cats on site (also no male elephants).
that said, our regular guide (musa, whom we had all but one day) found us lots of game to observe (hippo, rhinos -- black and white, elephants, plus a great variety of other grazing beasts, ...).
he also gave well-informed mini-lessons on animal behaviour.
the other day -- musa had an off-reserve excursion -- we had a different guide who was much less active in finding wildlife and sharing information.

we did add a day excursion (with musa) to a nearby national park where we saw lions and a dozen(?) elephants (they were working their way down a wooded hillside so we saw a few at a time in various encounters as we took various roads/trails to re-engage) to 'fill-in' for our reserve's limitations.

our dining was cafeteria-style with assigned seating (with our "game drive mates").
the food was good all week with choices at each meal to accommodate different tastes.
drinks were not included (even water had to be purchased) and, sadly, included no Non-Alcoholic Beer.
Date of stay: May 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 25 Mar 2024
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Your feedback is appreciated by all

Ranger Musa is an excellent member of our Ranger Team and certainly hosts his safari guests with professionalism sharing his knowledge and insights most generously. The Hluhluwe Imfolozi National Park is well worth the visit. It boasts wonderful, diverse landscapes and big-5 sighting possibilities. It's a special treat to see lions and elephants in larger herds on this massive reserve.

We're pleased you enjoyed the catering team's offerings as served in the Boma Restaurant. We'll mention the non-alcoholic beer possibly being added to the well-stocked bars offerings.

EXPERIENCE THE MAGIC OF AFRICA!

With thanks from the Zulu Nyala Team.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
En suite DOUBLE room
R 800
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
12.8 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
10.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 930
  • Booking.com
12.6 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 025
  • Booking.com
12.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 2 096
  • Hotels.com
22.5 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Bushlands restaurant and pool
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 908
  • eDreams
20.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 281
  • Booking.com
23.0 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (778)
Filter reviews
778 results
Traveller rating
382
266
79
29
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
382
266
79
29
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side trips charity auction zulu nyala game lodge the reserve south africa cape town safari experience elephant interaction six days water buffalo national park st lucia silent auction non profit victoria falls cape buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 778 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Where do I start? The grounds and our very large bedroom suite were magnificent. The maintenance of the grounds were excellent ( one small complaint was the pools were not cleaned regularly/ but they are surrounded by trees). The service was very good. Our meals, especially dinners, were good with adequate variety on the buffet. I would have given a 5 star if the food was better. Our safari guide Chris went above and beyond ensuring we had the best experience every day! He made our trip!

Room tip: When your safari guide says be on time, you listen! Wear non bright colours.
Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank annajasiak20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2024

Thank you for your review and rating. The garden and landscaping team works tirelessly to keep the grounds looking as superb as they are. The entire Zulu Nyala Team through all departments, strives to deliver on service at all times. We appreciate your mention of it being good. Ranger Chris is a valued member of the Ranger Team and does have much experience, knowledge and a sense of humour. He hosts his guests with the utmost professionalism at all times and has delivered to you - excellence!

With appreciation.
The Zulu Nyala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2024 via mobile

Where to begin?! From the accommodations to the service to the impeccable grounds, this resort is the vacation that dreams are made of. Every staff member we encountered was warm, friendly, and helpful. They upgraded our rooms to the most stunning, clean, and well-maintained suites, with super comfortable beds and air conditioning. Within the first few hours, we encountered monkeys, a crocodile, gigantic snails, and wild Nyala right outside our doors.

The safari drives were life-changing though. Our guide, Welcome, is the BEST OF THE BEST, and he treated us like family every day. On the very first drive, we encountered Zebras, Giraffes, Wildebeests, Cape Buffalos, hippos, warthogs, and ELEPHANTS!!!! Absolutely breathtaking. He also arranged all of the excursions we wanted to do and always kept us safe and entertained. We love you, Welcome!!

I cannot say enough about how wonderful this past week has been, and we're heartbroken to leave. Thank you, ZN, for everything!

Room tip: Bring your big spray and sunscreen. No ATMs on sight, so plan ahead.
Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Passenger27628016445
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Lise Holloway, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2024

Thank you for choosing us as your safari destination, and your review and five star rating. These few words say so much and are greatly appreciated by the Zulu Nyala Team - 'Best experience of our lives!'

Everything you've mentioned and reflected on is important to us. To have the opportunity to share all we are blessed to be part of with our safari guests gives us great joy and immense pleasure.

As we say - arrive as strangers, leave as part of the Zulu Nyala Family!
Welcome to our World!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2023 via mobile

We spent 6 nights here and we loved every moment. The staff, the grounds and our safaris were amazing. We did many outside excursions as well and they too were out of this world. Our suite was absolutely huge and very comfortable. Bathrooms are extremely large as well. Air conditioning works super. The grounds are meticulously groomed and very beautiful. Adam was our ranger and he showed us a wonderful time. Our last night we went on Safari and ended it with a sunset from the top of a mountain with the elephants grazing below us. We saw a ton of animals. We did the lion safari
and saw lions and cheetahs and lots more. We did the elephant interaction which was an amazing experience.
We enjoyed plenty of good food and drink. I would highly recommend that if you have the opportunity to come here … just do it. You will
love it. Our table of 10 are now life time friends. We were all very compatible and enjoyed many activities together.
We also did our own side trip and they provided our driver. Check out the home of “ The Elephant Whisperer “.
Airport pick up and return we’re done in beautiful new vans with courteous and friendly drivers. Sad to leave !!

Room tip: Enjoy outside excursions as well.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank 857stevenab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review us and for your many compliments and recommendations. Your review reiterates that all that we strive for as a hospitality venue, were met! We agree that the off-site excursions are a must as they sure do enhance the safari experience by getting you out to see and experience more.

As for the sunset from the viewpoint - just incredible to see it across the African bush towards the Lebombo Mountains - fire in the sky!

Making lifelong friends with your group - wow - how special is this? To enjoy good food and quality drinks of all kinds from our well stocked bar with people you enjoy spending time with, priceless. Ranger Adam is a superb host and important member of the team, as are each and every other staff member from catering to housekeeping, garden maintenance et al.

Our new vehicles for guest pickups and transport are comfy and spacious, driven by friendly and courteous drivers as you mention. We too are sad to see each and every guest leave but hang onto - arrive as strangers, leave as part of the Zulu Nyala family!

We hope to see you again - Just do it. You will love it...

Kind regards.
The Zulu Nyala Team=

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2023

The Safari Heritage Lodge was nice. However, we did not realize that we would be put in a group where we did all our excursions together and game drives with the same people for four days! (I’m glad we didn’t stay the entire 6 days.) We were even set together for every meal (breakfast, lunch, and dinner). I think this type of arrangement needs to be communicated to folks before they purchase this package. It was quite a surprise to find out we would be on vacation with 7 other folks we never met. With the United States as divided as it is, we all had to agree to not talk about politics. Also, the problem with this setup, is that we all had to collectively agree on our excursions for the week. I wanted to go whale watching but no one else in the group wanted to do that excursion. Also, only three people wanted to go to St. Lucia, and they also were told they couldn’t go because it wasn’t the majority decision, and the driver would be needed to take the rest of the group on their daily drives. My game driver also told me that if I wanted to go whale watching, then he needed to find me another group that was going with an empty space, which he was unable to find. This seems crazy to me. Why don’t you just let people sign up for whatever excursions they want and then group them according to their excursions? Also, why do we need to be with the same people every day? I think you should just allow people to go down to the game drives, and then get in whatever truck they see fit. Also, sign up for whatever excursions you want and see who else happens to show up that day for the event. Don’t’ sit people together!!! Let them sit wherever they want. There was one older lady in our group that was not the friendliest and it wasn’t much fun having to see her everyday of our stay.

However, we did have fun at the Heritage Lodge. Our guide was amazing, the drives were great, the Lion excursion was my favorite. Some of the other excursions I did simply because the group wanted to do them. I didn’t get to go whale watching which was very disappointing.

The transfers showed up when they were supposed to, the staff was very polite, and the trip all in all was fantastic.

Room tip: Make sure to plan a side trip to Victoria Falls. Zimbabwe was amazing!!
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dreamer14595628121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review and rate us. We're thrilled that you had fun at the Heritage Safari Lodge and that your Ranger/Guide was 'amazing'. Our Ranger Team is made up of a group of phenomenal people with incredible experience, knowledge, insights of the environment (fauna, flora, landscapes and more) plus being hospitable hosts to their safari groups.

Our transfer drivers strive to be punctual at all times and the full compliment of staff pride themselves in being helpful, polite and great hosts through all departments.

On your comments to do with allocating of safari guests into groups. We have noted your recommendation to let guests know of this beforehand, thank you for this suggestion. The allocation model we use is to assist all with logistics and co-ordination. Being with a 'set' Ranger your whole stay allows a relationship to be built where he is able to best judge his groups interests and needs. He can plan his days and knows what to expect. This system has worked well for us in the past with many guests making 'forever' friends and connections and very few not finding common ground within their groups. We're truly sorry if you were dissatisfied with the folk you spent time with and hope you can appreciate the reasons for our methods The Zulu Nyala Team is greatly appreciative or you regarding your trip as 'fantastic'.

Kind regards.
The Zulu Nyala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2023

The accommodations are first class, the staff and help just want to please and the food was great. Our guide was very knowledgeable and friendly. We took every excursion the guide recommended and wold not change a thing. And everything was cheap.

Room tip: Put it on your bucket list. One of the best vacations we’ve ever had.
Date of stay: April 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Your 5 star rating throughout is greatly appreciated by the full Zulu Nyala Team. We strive to give our safari guests the most incredible time during their stay with us, through every aspect. How pleasing to see that this was achieved! Yes, the off-site excursions are a great way to enhance your time in South Africa and with us with an excellent selection available to choose from. Your Ranger took good care of you, it seems - we certainly have an excellent team! Pricing is good for international travel to South Africa - the benefits are great - not wanting to change a thing about your safari time, now that is magic! Arrive as strangers, leave as family - Experience the Magic of Africa!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews