We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
elarMichigan
Holland, Michigan

Best safari experience ever! Loved it.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 21 Jun 2023
Our family of 10 had a great experience here. Saw all of the "Big 5" on our trip, including a leopard with cub. Saw Leopard, Elephant, Cape Buffalo and Rhino (both white & black) at Zulu Nyala and Lions at another area which they booked for us. We were thrilled to see all 5! Our driver for the week (named Welcome) had a real keen instinct for where to find the animals. Our room was very luxurious and spacious. Food was excellent too. Enjoyed the pool too. We often would encounter monkeys, impala, nyala, etc. while walking the trails to dinner. Entire area is beautifully landscaped. Some of our group enjoyed the spa as well. Highly recommend! Staff is great too, especially Reshmi and Mr. V.
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this review
Responded 17 Jul 2023
Thank you for reviewing our venue and for your 5 star rating. Seeing the 'Big 5' is certainly a bonus and well worth the 'search'. Welcome is a superb Ranger with great knowledge and what an infectious laugh he has! We offer a range of room types to suit our guests' requirements - spot on for you and your group it seems. As we say - 'no-one goes to bed hungry' - a buffet with something for everyone, isn't it? The Heritage gardens are vast and magnificent, a lovely environment for the wildlife that lives on the property, to wander. We're pleased some of your group spoilt themselves at the spa and appreciate your compliments on the staff. Being recommended is an honour! Hope to see you all for a second safari, one day. Arrive as strangers, leave as part of the Zulu Nyala family!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 980
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
12.6 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 131
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 3 131
12.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 1 136
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
12.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Recreational facility
Tripadvisor
R 4 014
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 4 014
18.0 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
En suite DOUBLE room
Tripadvisor
R 800
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
12.8 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 690
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 690
22.5 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 1 352
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
23.0 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 18 796
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 18 796
13.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Breakfast included
Tripadvisor
R 15 042
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 042
  • Priceline
11.1 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
Bushlands restaurant and pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 193
  • eDreams
20.7 km from Zulu Nyala Game Lodge
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (776)
Filter reviews
776 results
Traveller rating
382
265
79
29
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
382
265
79
29
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews side trips charity auction zulu nyala game lodge the reserve south africa cape town safari experience elephant interaction six days water buffalo national park st lucia silent auction non profit victoria falls cape buffalo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 776 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2023 via mobile

We learned about Zulu Nyala through friends and we purchased a stay through a fundraiser. This is a small private game reserve. Our ranger Adam was friendly and quite knowledgeable. We were thrilled to see a wide range of animals on our first drive. Adam was able to teach us a lot about the animals and their behavior. We liked that we were placed in a group for our meals and our game drives, and we enjoyed the connections that we made in our group. However, because Zulu Nyala is so small, the reserve cannot support lions, and there are only 3 elephants. There are opportunities for offsite activities (at an additional cost) but I recommend these as they enhanced our experience. We enjoyed the elephant interaction (we got to touch and feed an elephant), Hluhluwe iMfolozi park, the St. Lucia cruise, and a nearby reserve where we saw lions and cheetahs. The food was plentiful but just okay. There was an assortment of African dishes as well as dishes that were common to Europe or the US. The grounds at Zulu Nyala were beautiful.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank LaurenKC19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review and rate our venue. What can we do in order to receive 5 stars in the future? Zulu Nyala's private reserve is of the size that lion can not be supported, and more elephant would devastate the environment, unfortunately, hence we offer a great variety of off-site excursions to our guests, in order for them to have the opportunity to see and do more during their time with us. Ranger Adam is a valuable member of our Ranger Team - his knowledge is readily shared with all. Isn't meeting Rambo and Rachel incredible? These two rescued elephant that live a free life, love to interact with people on their terms and give so much joy to many. We're thrilled that you did get to see lion and cheetah plus many hippo we're sure, on the St Lucia estuary cruise. Did you dip your feet in the Indian Ocean? The Heritage grounds are spectacular and attract many birds, insects plus of course, the resident Nyala that live on the property plus other. The landscaping and gardening team work hard at maintaining the beauty - it's pleasing that you noticed the plant-life and landscape. Much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2023

Unbelievable experience! Resort was beautiful, everyone so friendly and the safari was incredible! South Africa is a beautiful country and Zulu Nyala is a fantastic resort. Such a great trip - highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Safari44173983691
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2023

Good day. Thank you for taking the time to review and rate our property. Your 5 stars overall plus mention on value, location and service is greatly appreciated. Recommendations are always valued as they truly reflect a guest's experience. Like we say - arrive as strangers, leave as family! Much appreciated by the Zulu Nyala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2023

We loved Zulu Nyala! Can’t wait to go back! The rooms were very comfortable and quiet, with wildlife wandering right outside our door. The food was good! Everyone was very welcoming and nice and the game drives were the best! Our guide was Adam and he was so knowledgeable and fun. We miss being there!!

Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Jeannie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2023

Thank you for your 5 star rating and review. It seems as though you had a great time during your stay - that pleases us immensely. Isn't it great having the wildlife on your doorstep on the Heritage grounds? We strive for - nobody goes to bed hungry - mission accomplished! Our team is fantastic, welcoming and nice - thank you. We miss you being here too, the game-viewer and Adam are waiting for your return! Arrive as strangers, leave as family - the Zulu Nyala way!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2023

This is the perfect for first time game drives on a budget. The reserve is smaller so, viewing animals is very good. The accommodation are very nice, staff is very accommodating, and the massage is fantastic.
Our guide Graison had so much information to share. We had two drives a day and every game drive was slightly different. Wonderful !
The food was delicious buffet style with vegetarian options. All beverages are not included if your booking a room/tent.
There are excursions available from this reserve. I recommend Hluhluwe Reserve and Elephant Encounter. The cost is extra.
If you bid on this trip through a silent auction, good for you. It's a win win for your fundraiser and this reserve..

Room tip: Don't forget to tip staff and especially game drive guides!
Date of stay: March 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2023

Thank you for taking the time to review our venue and for your kind words on all. The off-site excursions certainly are a great way to further enhance your time in South Africa! We pride ourselves in having an incredible Team from game-rangers to catering, housekeeping and front staff. Your recommendation is highly appreciated. Kind regards from the full Zulu Nyala Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2023

We actually visited during October of 2021 and had an extraordinary time! We got a private car from Durban to Zulunyala and friends of ours got a shared ride from Durban to Zulunyala. You can schedule it all with their staff!

Also, amazing food and drinks! We used their Spa services and went on excursions off the reserve and also did both morning and evening safari/game rides.

Jabulane was our tour guide and truly an amazing person. All of the tour guides were great and we can’t say enough wonderful things about all of the staff.

We will definitely go back and take the entire family! I can see doing a company event or conference there too!

No filter on any of the pictures it is all Natural beauty of Hluhluwe <3

Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank R600UXlaurab
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Zulu Nyala, Marketing at Zulu Nyala Game Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2023

Thank you, for your 5 star review and compliments. We're pleased that transport to our Lodge was well organised by our Reservations Team and that you enjoyed the food and bar offerings. Game-drives are a must and yes, the off-site excursions we offer our safari guests, sure enhance the overall memory-making experience. We look forward to welcoming you once again with family and work colleagues. Natural beauty - perfectly said.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews