We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bonamanzi Game Reserve
Nearby Hotels
US$145
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Emdoneni Lodge(Hluhluwe)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
109
80
34
14
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
109
80
34
14
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstree houseprivate ablutionbush braaicamping sitegame reserveholiday destinationablution blockown bathroomcamping facilitiescleaned dailybird lifeviewing deckpeace and quieta lovely stayself driveriver cruisebush experience
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 246 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2015

This was the worst place ive ever been!
I would not recommend this place to my worst enemy!
The lady who help me my the booking over the phone was so rude its not even funny!
We get there book in go to our room to find its not what was expected it makes you see sick when you walk or move inside !

We go to the restaurant to find its closed for a wedding so no food available for other geusts
The weddings music was so loud that we couldn't fall asleep until 02:30 the next morning

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Anro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

We are very, very sorry about your bad experience at Bonamanzi.
We are very grateful for the time you have taken to review your stay. It has enabled us to investigate and unearth a problem that we had within our room allocation and reservation department. This has now been corrected and I can confidently assure you that this department has been revamped and strict procedures and regulations put into place to ensure guests would never again be disturbed by events such as weddings happening at the property. Bonamanzi is known as a tranquil, peaceful place – please email our Sales and Marketing Manager sales@griddle.co.za it is absolutely essential to us that you do get to experience the true magic of Bonamanzi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

This is the second time we have stayed at Bonamanzi and we were yer again here for a wedding so the whole park was dedicated to the guests! We were in the rondavels by the lake near reception and they are clean and comfortable and offer stunning views over the lake! Warthog and impala and enyala all graze freely round you which is charming! The wedding was held in the fever tree plantation and was delightful! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff here! Thank you! The dinner after the wedding was ok but the staff need perhaps a bit more training as to when to bring stuff out as the veg was out 15 minutes before the meat was carved so was stone cold! It was all delicious and the whole thing was so lovely, nobody would have complained! We went on a game drive on the Sunday and saw giraffe and lots of antelope but the elephant eluded us as did the leopard! We have seen rhino and elephant before here but sadly not this time! Altogether Bonamazi is a great place to stay and it's position and heroic staff do it proud! I would definitely come back for more please!

Room Tip: Near reception for the view!
  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsH0lt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you so much for your comments, much appreciated.

Our food and beverage team have received training and have changed the way they are doing things. All the staff were so happy to have catered this wedding and thoroughly enjoyed hosting your group.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2015

I booked my family and I in here as an interesting base for game drives into Hluhluwe/ Umfolozi. This was my families first time in South Africa so seeing game was pretty high on our agenda. There were lots of buck and warthog around which was nice but we didn't see anything else here.
The majority of us stayed in tree houses. I would highly recommend these. They were comfortably furnished. Not luxurious but you had everything you needed. I was suprised at how well the air con worked! I was a bit dubious but it was positively arctic after about 10 minutes! What we loved about this place was that we felt truly in the bush, it felt like an adventure!
Other members of my family shared the game lodge. This was lovely and the rooms were nice. The pool however needed a bit of care as it was murky and had bugs upon bugs floating in it.
The staff were ok, the lady on the front desk was nice and the waiting staff were friendly. We ate in the restaurant 1 night- it was ok, could have been a bit hotter. A couple of members of my family attended the mysticism night but were unfortunately disappointed. A complaint was made and a credit was given but it was a bit of a mission.
Overall, i hope to go back to this place for the adventure of it. Our toddler loved it and like i have said above, it really did feel wild!

Room Tip: Stay in a tree house!
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ilovetosmile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2015

Thank you so much for your comments. We do hope you get the chance to come back and see us again.

The Bonamanzi Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2015

This camping site was recommended by a friend and I can see why people love it here it is so quiet and relaxing and the campsites are lovely and big. The staff are all friendly and helpful.

Having said that the week-end we were here it would appear as if very little attention is given to the campsite, there is a huge population of ticks (never seen so many in my life) even in the campsite and I am sure if the sites were mowed and cleaned regularly this would assist in controlling them.

It was also lovely to be able to walk around the park, but the trails are also lacking a bit of attention with a couple of fallen down signs, we managed to get lost on the one trail (by the dam nearest the campsite), I am sure the marker must have been moved, so ended up walking along a track until we could get direction,

When we arrived it was 35 degrees and were so happy to hear about the swimming pool in the campsite only to find it full of algae on the walls and the water pea green. Anyone swimming there will more than likely get sick, disappointing as the pool at the reception was beautiful and blue.

Such a lovely place just a pity the campsite doesn't seem to get the same priority as the main camp.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2018

Thank you for your comments. We now have 24 campsites, the executive camp sites with the private ablutions are very popular. We do hope to see you soon in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2015

We camped at the executive campsite over December 2014. Overall bad experience!

During our 6 night stay we had no or interrupted supply of water for 4 out of the 6 nights. It meant no shower or toilet when you wanted / needed to and it is extremely inconvenient during the humid December months. It apparently has been a problem known about for a long time according to staff members but management simply haven't fixed it. Long story short it has to do with incorrect pipeline (and valve) installation and took us getting upset numerous times during our bush breakaway before getting staff out to get the water supply running again every night. After numerous complaints by all fellow campers, did Bonamanzi install a temporary pipe line on our 5th night.

No braai grids are provided at the exclusive private braai facilities, you must pay extra over and above the exclusive camp site rate for a basic item like a braai grid or bring your own.

I've tried to contact management to discuss our bad experience but my email have been ignored.

On the positive, you can walk around the game reserve without a guide which does provide excellent birding opportunities.
The boat cruise also provided ample bird sightings and the independent guides are very knowledgeable on wildlife.

Animal sightings were on the contrary limited to few buck species. No sighting of any of the 4 of the big 5 mentioned to occur at Bonamanzi.
We did get visited each night by a thick tailed bush-baby and a spotted genet which was quite a unique experience.

Maybe something else to mention for fellow campers, there are a extremely large population of ants at the campsite. Take some ant repellent along to keep them out of your tent / caravan.

  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Konkoit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2018

So sorry you had a bad experience. We have now renovate all the camp sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews