We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
R 1 158
Priceline
R 1 199
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
R 1 047
Fully refundable before Fri, 26 Apr
No booking fees
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (515)
Filter reviews
515 results
Traveller rating
189
166
93
42
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
189
166
93
42
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the hotel staff hluhluwe game reserve zulu dancing pool area pleasant stay game park game drives self catering safari gm project gate wildlife rhino lodge guide
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 515 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2023

Two nights stay during our group tour (17 pax) in SA.
When we arrived we felt very welcome, a drink and refreshing towels were served.
The room was on the ground floor in, what I would call a "transit" corridor...many other guest from group tours were allocated here that resulted in much traffic and noise here. Room was large but we found a major cleaning problem here...told reception and was solved after we had diner but we kept wondering whether the rest of the room would have been properly cleaned or not. Bathroom was very small, "one person each", luckily there was a separate toilet. Diner (buffet) was OK. When we go to sleep there was a tremendous noise from a bunch of guests laughing and shouting in the room next to ours. We waited about 30 min. but the noise was only increasing so we asked housekeeping to ask them to be more quiet, which hey dit and it was quiet the whole night.
Breakfast was just OK, no cheeses available and the live cooking stand for eggs took too long to prepare an egg, only one person to do the job was way to few, coffee or tea was self service. Prices for drinks in the restaurant and the bar were good but service, again, very slow, even chaotic when we ordered a bottle of wine during diner.
During our two days stay we had three times a problem with our key card and two times a problem with the safe who wouldn't open with the correct code ! Each time we had to go to reception desk and stand in line to resolve this. Regarding the safari part, we had a lovely time, saw many animals, great 4x4 truck with an excellent driver/guide.

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drika Wylie, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2023

Good day,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a detail review for ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe.

Your comments have been noted and well received. We always apricate feedback as it assists us greatly in running the business more efficiently and also show us where there is room for improvement.

Kind regards,
Drika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2023

Can’t recommend ANEW highly enough!!! The highlight of our trip to South Africa. Extremely comfortable and luxurious (especially for the price). All of the staff were extremely friendly, helpful, and accommodating. Food was delicious. But most importantly, of course, are the many activities in the area, including the game drives in Hluhluwe. It is a stunningly beautiful park. Our guide was fantastic and we were lucky to see lions, rhinos, elephants, and more! But more than just the iconic big animals, we enjoyed all that the park had to offer.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Passport693689
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drika Wylie, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Hi There

Thank you so much for the lovely comments with regards the delicious food and the friendly staff at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe. It is indeed a special place with lots of activities in the area.

We are so glad that you had a comfortable stay and that it was the highlight of your trip.

Thank you for choosing ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe

Warm Regards Drika Wylie -General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2023

We went for our 10 year anniversary, and was pleasantly surprised by a "Happy Anniversary" cake, bottle of wine, petals on our bed. It was absolutely amazing to find personal service and being welcomed in this manner. A VERY load shout out to Drike and her team.

Date of stay: October 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank P286ZLinfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drika Wylie, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe, responded to this reviewResponded 4 November 2023

Hi Mrs L,

Thank you so much for the awesome review and the kind words. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your 10th anniversary a special one.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Hatlike groete

Drika and the ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2023

Make sure to visit the Cheetah center while you're there for some big cat interaction. The rooms are spacious and clean. The facilities are spacious and neatly kept. The food never disappointed. I will definitely be going back.

Date of stay: August 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kklopp437185
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drika Wylie, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2023

Dear KKLOP

Thank you so much for taking the time to review ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe.
We really appreciate your kind comments. It is always so nice to get feelgood feedback.

THANK YOU!!!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards
The ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2023 via mobile

We were travelling as a family of 4 and requested rooms next to each other. First attempt, we were split on both ends of the corridor. Second attempt, we were at different sides of the corridor. Strangely, we noticed that one of the offered rooms had a connecting door. So, we asked if it was possible to have such a room with connecting doors. This was not possible but we got another offer with two rooms next to each other having a connecting door to the wrong room. We gave up.
Our rooms were very dark.
There were some spots on the bed sheets but I guess they were clean.
Our children had an extra asset in the bathroom, a gecko. It was there for our complete stay,of 2 days.
The good news is that it is close to the national park for spatting animals.
Some members of our travelling group had similor remarks but other were excited about their room. They must have better rooms than ours.

Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank woutv227
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Drika Wylie, General Manager at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023



Thank you for taking the time to complete a review about your stay at ANEW Hotel Hluhluwe. We always appreciate hearing feedback about the experience that we provide.

Not allocating your family in rooms next to each other was clearly an oversite from our side and for that I would like to apologise. As part of a group your rooms would all have been pre- allocated, and this is perhaps why in the end you landed up with a connecting door not connected to your family as other guest would have been allocated and checked into these rooms.

I can assure you that we take great care in providing our guest with clean linen and that all our rooms are of the same standard. We do prefer to use warm white lighting in our rooms as it creates a bit of ambiance.

Your feedback is of great value to us as we are constantly trying to improve our offering.

Thank you so much.

Drika

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews