We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Vio.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Alanjustin
Durban, South Africa
True African experience
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 01 Jun 2019via mobile
This is the place to go to if you want to experience the true African feeling. The lodge is situated in a breathtaking location with unique chalets. The Boma is adding to the African experience with a true African braai (bbq). The owner Alan is hands on and makes you feel at home as soon as you walk in. Lizzy with her friendly smile and warm heart also makes the experience extraordinary.
This is a place to relax and just unwind for the local city rats who just need to get away and also highly recommended for the international tourists.
Date of stay: June 2019Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
R 980
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
0.4 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
R 3 410
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
7.7 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 012
R 1 186
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 2 095
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 2 095
  • Agoda.com
15.0 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
En suite DOUBLE room
Tripadvisor
R 800
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.9 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Recreational facility
Tripadvisor
R 2 514
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
15.9 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Tripadvisor
R 15 822
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    R 15 822
23.6 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Bushlands restaurant and pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 206
  • Priceline
8.0 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 052
  • Booking.com
10.1 km from Ubizane Wildlife Reserve
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Hluhluwe
Reviews (96)
Filter reviews
96 results
Traveller rating
54
27
10
3
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
54
27
10
3
2
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 96 reviews
Reviewed 10 May 2019

We had an amazing stay at Ubizane in their Safari lodges. It had everything we needed. Great accommodation, wonderful food and staff and the wildlife we all love in Africa. Very convenient for entrance into the Hluhluwe–Imfolozi game park.
Would stay again and highly recommend. Thanks for a wonderful trip!

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Meljw12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ubizane General M, Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2019

Hi Meijw12,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review of Zululand Safari Lodge. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had such a great experience at Zululand Safari Lodge. We will make sure that Ubizane’s team knows that their hard work doesn’t go by unseen by our guests.

Thank you again for writing this review, we really do hope to see you again soon.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2018 via mobile

Second visit here. Very clean and functional. Ten minutes from Game reserve. Barbecues and boma area available and very pleasant to use of an evening. Nice to see the buck wandering around. I’m sure foreign tourists will enjoy that. Personally don’t approve of the crocodile pens and the ostrich pens, rather don’t have them on the reservation.
I find it a bit tatty to see patches on the mosquito nets.... really?
However, I would recommend it.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank mikesB132CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 December 2018

Ubizane has two standards of accommodation: luxurious tree-top lodges and safari lodge self-catering units. We stayed in the latter on a full-board basis due to an error subsequently compensated by the tour operators. Fortunately, we had transport from the lodges to the restaurant - otherwise we'd have had a walk of around half a mile through bush in darkness.

Despite these issues I found the stay in the safari lodge a very pleasant experience. Whilst a little basic, there is something about waking in the morning to find oneself surrounded by nyala, impala and zebra. My main wildlife interest is birds and I was able to photograph between 10 and 20 species.

We went on one game drive within Ubizane plus two in the nearby Hluhluwe-iMfolozi national reserve. Both were thrilling experiences bringing us into close contact with a variety of animals and even more bird species. It is worth pointing out to anybody planning the Hluhluwe-iMfolozi drives that they involve a journey of 10-15 minutes at up to 60 km/h in an open vehicle with no windshield. Eye protection is essential and something like a scarf to wrap around the face is advisable.

The food offered by Ubizane for breakfast, lunch and dinner were all buffets with plenty of choice of very palatable food.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Roy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 October 2018 via mobile

I stayed here just for one night during one of my visits to South Africa with a colleague. What an amazing experience ... nature, wild life, and good food . Renting a vehicle is a must or visit through travel agents . The best part is you are only with nature and away from city life and internet... they will give a bedtime story to read 😀

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Priyadsrsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UbizaneTeam, General Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2018

Dear Priyadsrsi,

Thank you for the positive review, it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I had been spoilt staying at some of the most incredible lodges on a scouting trip for business. Thus the Safari Lodge was not in any way enticing for my tastes.
I found the dark wood and typical African safari setting a bit much for my palate. I could see the international tourists loved it though.
The staff were friendly and they went out of their way to make sure one was comfortable and well treated.
The accommodation were small little rondavels scattered across a mown area. The buck enjoying the safety of the cut grass in the evenings was a real pleasure.
The room was good in many ways.
This was a convenient B&B for me, not to my taste, but they were friendly and helpful.

Room tip: If you battle with walking, get a room close to the parking area
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
UbizaneTeam, General Manager at Ubizane Wildlife Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Anton N,

Thank you for the honest review, it is really appreciated. We do understand that we will not be ablle to accommodate/meet each and every of our guest's taste/prefrences.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews