We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best steak in town..or of the world? ”

Butcher Boys Florida Road
Ranked #1 of 672 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$20
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Butcher Boys, an elegant upmarket steak restaurant, opened its doors in Morningside, Durban in November 1999. This sanctuary for meat lovers serve the best grain fed beef South Africa has to offer and our wet & dry aging process results in exceptional quality and texture. Our in house butcheries will cut to your preference whether it be lean or with a little fat or of a particular weight or thickness. Our unique temperature controlled wine cellars proudly house a diverse selection of indigenous vintage estate wines from the fairest Cape and surrounds.
Reviewed 16 March 2018 via mobile

I've been there a lot times now..amazing steaks, great ribs and perfect atmosphere - nothing to complain about. Service is also very good, especially the seatings on the balcony are very nice (booking in advance maybe necessary)

Thank Felix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley H, Owner at Butcher Boys Florida Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Felix,

What a great review, especially the title. Thanks for the continued support and hope to see you again soon?

Regards,
Bradley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2018

If you are a meat lover this is the place. Awesome selection of cuts. Service was good. Atmosphere was excellent, and we could actually have conversations around the table without having to shout. All around awesome experience

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank carel2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley H, Owner at Butcher Boys Florida Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Carel,

Appreciate the time taken to write this awesome review. Wishing you all the best.

Many thanks
Bradley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch with polo playing son post game. He was starving! Wendy was our waitress and beyond amazing. Happy to set up our table where son could watch soccer game in anticipation of food arriving.
And arrive it did. Steak done to perfection! Delicious fries and the spinach is to die for.
We will definitely be back when next we visit Durbs

Thank WendyDaffarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley H, Owner at Butcher Boys Florida Road, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Wendy,

Thank you for the great review, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. Hope your sons polo game was a success.

Kind regards,
Bradley.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

I want good tasty food, excellent service, and reasonable prices. All three ticked.
Wednesday is couples night for which we got a three course meal for two people including a 200gm fillet steak, all for 520 R
You know the service is good when the toothpicks arrive before you realise you need one!
BTW we booked at 6pm for a table at 7.30, so you don’t necessarily need to plan weeks ahead.

Thank JoeOmar2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley H, Owner at Butcher Boys Florida Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Joe.

One of the best reviews I have read in a while, thank you.
This review has been shared with all my staff.

Regards,
Bradley H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

we did not make a reservation, however, it is advisable if you do as the establishment does get quite busy. Set in a festive and vibarant location, the dinning experience is a pleasure. Management and staff are accommodating . Prompt sevice. This is a steak restuarant, however, all dishes are mindblowing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 239ajayb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradley H, Owner at Butcher Boys Florida Road, responded to this reviewResponded 10 March 2018

Hi Ajay,

Your word are awesome, thanks for this great review.

All the best!

Bradley H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Butcher Boys Florida Road also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Butcher Boys Florida Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing