We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely Poor”
Review of Suncoast Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Suncoast Towers
Ranked #6 of 43 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 week ago

I have never in my life had such a bad experience staying with ANY hotel/self-catering/B&B/Guesthouse etc. We booked a package which included D, B&B and paid in total for the whole experience around R5,400.00. (one night’s accommodation, dinner, breakfast)
Upon arrival the receptionist told us that the dinner arrangements will all be explained to us when we go and have dinner the evening, as I wasn’t aware that dinner was included. Once we had dinner nothing was explained to us regarding the package we booked and what was included, and we asked upon finishing dinner if it would be fine if we settle the difference on our dinner bill the following morning upon checkout. It was confirmed, and we signed the receipt for our dinner with drinks that we had. We went to bed early because we had a long day and around 21h15 the restaurant at the hotel called us awake (both my husband and I were already asleep) asking us to settle our dinner bill in full as there was miss communication between the reception staff and the restaurant. We once again asked if we could settle the following morning and again it was confirmed that it is not a problem and we can do that. It was about 10 minutes after the phone call there was a knock at our room’s door, which was constant as the person gave no pauses in between for us to just properly wake up, get dressed and see who is at the door. To our surprise it was the waitress whom served us at the restaurant, and she requested we settle the difference on our dinner bill immediately (she was standing at our door with a credit card machine!) as she could not finish her shift without the payment, the reception area gave her this direct instruction to carry out.
My husband settled the dinner bill then and there in full (we owed no monies neither on accommodation, drinks, transport, food and tourism levies) and the waitress left. I was extremely upset and angry, got dressed and went to the restaurant to speak to the manager. I explained to him that in no way it was acceptable that they treat clients like this. We left the restaurant area and went to the reception area after which I also requested to see the manager on duty. In between the disagreement that me and the manageress were having another client whom was having drinks at the bar close to the restaurant came and interfered in the discussion. Upon her arrival she and the manageress looked at each other and smiled, I’m not sure what about as I was really upset and frustr

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 657biancad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (476)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 476 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Average hotel witn the proper facility and location wise too good not much distance from the beach area lovely city view from the hotel food was very nice i can recommended this resort to other traveler my experiance was good.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Not the best hotel I ever been but location is very nice on the beach walk and perfect for joggers in early morning easy access . And it’s next to Havana Cafe where you can eat a delicious dinner. Walking distance .

Stayed: November 2017
Thank Remy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall I was impressed with the setup of the hotel, beautiful. The stuff was welcoming and the room was big and tidy. The food, breakfast and dinner was quite enjoyable (delicious ) Excellent hospitality.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank kgabisoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I had a wonderful time at this establishment and the service from the staff was of high standard. The room was cleaned properly. Thanks for the team that took care of my bicycle and made sure it was stored safely.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank tando_nkunjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
1.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 43 in Durban
1 510 reviews
1.1 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
2.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 43 in Durban
452 reviews
0.3 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 43 in Durban
631 reviews
2.1 km away
African Pride Audacia Manor Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suncoast Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suncoast Towers

Address: 20 Battery Beach Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Durban
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#3 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#4 Business Hotel in Durban
Price Range: R1 671 - R2 814 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Suncoast Towers 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the pulse of Durban’s Golden Mile, the SunCoast Hotel and Towers offers everything a discerning traveller could need: beach views, a casino, excellent service and every modern convenience possible. Unwind on the private pool deck, get a facial at the spa or enjoy a private meal overlooking in the ocean in a luxurious room. This contemporary hotel is Durban’ s ideal getaway spot for all types of travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Suncoast Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suncoast Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing