We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Swam cageless with sharks”

Blue Wilderness Shark Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Shark Cage Diving - Swim with Sharks - Shark SCUBA Diving - These are just some of the great shark adventures that Blue Wilderness offers from our Shark Center in Scottburgh along Durban's South Coast. Our shark expeditions are suited for all levels of experience, age and confidence. Our goal is to allow everyone a safe, exciting and educational encounter with the sharks of Durban's Aliwal Shoal. We also offer Scuba Diving and during the months of May to July we follow South Africa's incredible Sardine Run.
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Swam cageless with sharks”
Reviewed 20 March 2017

Amazing experience with family. Assumed I would swim only in the cage but the whole of the staff from safety briefing to boat we all felt we could swim cageless and in the end none of us even went in cage. Amazing seeing these beautiful animals up so close and even when they touched you I was more scared of drowning myself with my poor snorkel technique. Hats off to them launching the boat with such rough water especially at shoreline!

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank SteveFinBourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    270
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
325 reviews
116 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“DO IT - a fantastic experience with an exceptional team at Blue Wilderness”
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Absolutely amazing experience enjoyed by our family of 5 with Blue Wilderness. The whole team are focussed on customers having a fantastic experience - but they do so with the relaxed nature of people that love what they do. We had a very informative briefing from Odette, who was also very helpful in the communications beforehand to make sure weather and conditions would be suitable for our children to enjoy the experience. Muller, Pilau and Justin the cameraman were great in making sure we had the right equipment (flippers, wetsuits etc) and were focussed on safe enjoyment throughout. The surf launch is really great fun, the ocean was rolling further out but Muller found a spot (along with another operator) where we could get the cage in the water and start our swim. There were loads of sharks, they are big (2m), and visibility was 10m - so very good for this type of experience. Our children started in the cage and after a while came out to join us in the open water. Muller was really helpful in helping with that - but only when each child felt ready. The boat was constantly on-hand. Our time in the water felt like forever, we had such a great experience. It was actually just over an hour. The journey back in was also fun, beaching the boat at speed. Afterwards some tea, drinks, and sandwiches were accompanied by more really interesting information about the world of sharks from Odette and Muller, while our video was being edited. We watched the video together and then also looked at some other interesting photos and videos - it was so interesting and relaxed, we are unable to think of a better experience we could have had for our children to learn about sharks through first hand experience and from experts who spend every day with them. A really exceptional day for us as a family and so much credit to Blue Wilderness for that. Super highly recommend the Blue Wilderness team.

Visited March 2017
Helpful?
Thank GoLiveYoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceptionally exceed expectations”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

- Crew was fantastic and nice
- Saw plenty of sharks
- Team was dedicated to customer experience and ensuring we all had a fabulous time
- They well fed us
- NO REGRETS -- this is the company to go with

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Austin519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pietermaritzburg
1 review
“Awesome experience”
Reviewed 15 March 2017

I had an amazing experience and actually over came my fear of sharks and drowning. Will definitely do it again. Blue Wilderness Team made it a comfortable and exciting experience.

Visited February 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank serushar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great bunch of people at this outfit. We saw a lot of black tip sharks.The cage was high grade and we loved the up close experience. Highly recommend!

Visited March 2017
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank Amelia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Wilderness Shark Adventures also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Scottburgh, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Blue Wilderness Shark Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing