We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very well done”
Review of Phansi Museum

Phansi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39,74*
and up
Durban City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #22 of 117 things to do in Durban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Paris, France
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very well done”
Reviewed 30 July 2016

I am not a huge crafts follower, but I still thought this place was great. They have a number of costumes and other day-to-day crafts. To visit, you should call and make an appointment for a (short) tour -- the website doesn't say so, but it seems like they prefer to do 30-45 minute tours of the house and holdings. This is a fairly small museum. I wouldn't imagine spending more than about an hour there. I parked right outside on the street -- there is space, but also a number of cars parked in the area. It cost 40 rand per person for the visit. There are stairs, and one narrow stairway in particular to navigate.

Visited July 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 28 June 2016

This is a place not to be missed for the exquisite craft heritage it showcases. They are very helpful; there are volunteers who take you around and tell you more about the Zulu crafts. I must say that making a contribution to a place like this is really worthwhile for the work it does to preserve such intricate, beautiful work.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Devika47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best museum experience”
Reviewed 16 May 2016

What a delightful museum! Such a rich collection of African, particularly Zulu artefacts, that are lovingly presented in huge and colourful abundance. We were given a delightful private tour, which had not been pre-booked, by a wonderful lady who punctuated her narrative with her personal experiences of Zulu life.
This was the most enjoyable museum experience that I have had in many years.
Highly recommended!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank karine-oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat not to be missed in South Africa!”
Reviewed 1 May 2016

Durban is a fascinating city but the highlight for me was the Phansi Museum, an extraordinary private collection of Zulu clothing and artifacts brought to life by the amazing museum guide, a gifted woman name Phumzile. Life-size dolls dressed in traditional and festive clothing were simply awesome; you could not but feel you were in the presence of a great and important culture. Inspiring, fun, unforgettable!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank oldladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History, cultured a way of life”
Reviewed 24 January 2016

A visit to the Phansi Museum is inspirational. A collection of ancient and more modern artefacts beautifully preserved depicting the way of life of the Zulu and Xhosa peoples of South Africa along with incredible life-size models of South Africa's ethnic peoples including the Ndebele. Be sure to do the tour with Mrs Phumzile Ngcobo who brings the history alive with her magical storytelling skills!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phansi Museum also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Phansi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing