We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best museum experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phansi Museum

Phansi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40,56*
and up
Durban City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #27 of 116 things to do in Durban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best museum experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2016

What a delightful museum! Such a rich collection of African, particularly Zulu artefacts, that are lovingly presented in huge and colourful abundance. We were given a delightful private tour, which had not been pre-booked, by a wonderful lady who punctuated her narrative with her personal experiences of Zulu life.
This was the most enjoyable museum experience that I have had in many years.
Highly recommended!!

Visited May 2016
Helpful?
2 Thank karine-oliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London Ontario
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A treat not to be missed in South Africa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2016

Durban is a fascinating city but the highlight for me was the Phansi Museum, an extraordinary private collection of Zulu clothing and artifacts brought to life by the amazing museum guide, a gifted woman name Phumzile. Life-size dolls dressed in traditional and festive clothing were simply awesome; you could not but feel you were in the presence of a great and important culture. Inspiring, fun, unforgettable!

Visited April 2016
Helpful?
1 Thank oldladybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“History, cultured a way of life”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2016

A visit to the Phansi Museum is inspirational. A collection of ancient and more modern artefacts beautifully preserved depicting the way of life of the Zulu and Xhosa peoples of South Africa along with incredible life-size models of South Africa's ethnic peoples including the Ndebele. Be sure to do the tour with Mrs Phumzile Ngcobo who brings the history alive with her magical storytelling skills!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
unguidedmissal
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Zulu treasure trove”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2015

One needs an appointment to see this and we had one but when we arrived, we discovered that it was a holiday but, no problem, the founder Paul Mikula would take us through. That kind of place. Devoted to maintaining and supporting traditional Zulu culture and educating the public about it. Set in a lovely old building, there are three floors just jam packed with Zulu traditional crafts (beadwork, wire work, pottery, fabric, etc.). We spent three hours but could have easily spent more. If you have even a passing interest in traditional culture and, particularly Zulu culture, this place is not to be missed. We weren't asked for an entrance fee. There was a donation box at the door. There's a collection of books on Zulu culture for sale. Go.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
98 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Little known but wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2015

Phansi Museum is a small museum containing a vast collection of work from natives of the region. There is so much to see in such a small area but well worth the time to closely examine the many items. The director gave us a tour, private as there were no other guests. She explained the items and the culture of the people. We could have spend hours there however, we did have a ship to catch. If you would enjoy an unusual experience without crowds and enjoy a leisurely look at artifacts of the past, I would recommend the Phansi as a worthwhile place to visit.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phansi Museum also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Phansi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing