We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History, cultured a way of life”
Review of Phansi Museum

Phansi Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$39,49*
and up
Durban City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #25 of 122 things to do in Durban
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Bathroom facilities
Durban, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“History, cultured a way of life”
Reviewed 24 January 2016

A visit to the Phansi Museum is inspirational. A collection of ancient and more modern artefacts beautifully preserved depicting the way of life of the Zulu and Xhosa peoples of South Africa along with incredible life-size models of South Africa's ethnic peoples including the Ndebele. Be sure to do the tour with Mrs Phumzile Ngcobo who brings the history alive with her magical storytelling skills!

Visited November 2015
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    3
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
unguidedmissal
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Zulu treasure trove”
Reviewed 31 December 2015

One needs an appointment to see this and we had one but when we arrived, we discovered that it was a holiday but, no problem, the founder Paul Mikula would take us through. That kind of place. Devoted to maintaining and supporting traditional Zulu culture and educating the public about it. Set in a lovely old building, there are three floors just jam packed with Zulu traditional crafts (beadwork, wire work, pottery, fabric, etc.). We spent three hours but could have easily spent more. If you have even a passing interest in traditional culture and, particularly Zulu culture, this place is not to be missed. We weren't asked for an entrance fee. There was a donation box at the door. There's a collection of books on Zulu culture for sale. Go.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
3 Thank unguidedmissal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Little known but wonderful”
Reviewed 29 December 2015

Phansi Museum is a small museum containing a vast collection of work from natives of the region. There is so much to see in such a small area but well worth the time to closely examine the many items. The director gave us a tour, private as there were no other guests. She explained the items and the culture of the people. We could have spend hours there however, we did have a ship to catch. If you would enjoy an unusual experience without crowds and enjoy a leisurely look at artifacts of the past, I would recommend the Phansi as a worthwhile place to visit.

Visited December 2015
Helpful?
4 Thank Janice P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Zulu Artwork Treasure Trove ”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 via mobile

This is a one of a kind collection, started by Paul Mikula, whose private collection of Zulu artwork is unparalleled. Over the years he has expanded this collection with the help of other private collectors and has created the Phansi museum. It is best to call ahead and book a tour, which is given by an extremely knowledgeable curator. The collection is housed in a beautiful Victorian building, and is the midst of expansion and improvement. A visit here is a unique experience and is not to be missed on a trip to Durban.

Visited September 2015
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Umhlanga Rocks, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Amazing Treasure Trove in Durban.”
Reviewed 13 August 2015

We showed up at the museum without an appointment but were able to get a tour. We enjoyed a wonderful morning learning so many new cultural facts. I was amazed at the way things were displayed, the vast knowledge of our guides and loved the old house turned museum. I'll definitely put this on a to do list for all Durbanites and take visitors there also.

Visited October 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank stephmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Phansi Museum also viewed

 

Been to Phansi Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing