We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice but even nicer price” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mitchell Park

Mitchell Park
Ranked #18 of 116 things to do in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but even nicer price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2017

Fun day out with a lovely range of animals, birds and reptiles to see. Lots of shade and you can even picnic inside. Some areas need maintenance and the monkeys can be a real pain, so watch out for their stealing ways! But at less than R10 to get in, this place is a great 2-4 hour trip for families. Avoid Sundays - way too busy. There is a sandy playground just outside the animal park and a lovely restaurant that serves yummy milkshakes and cappuccinos.

Visited February 2016
Helpful?
Thank karen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    81
    36
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“green haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Went to Mitchell Park after a long time and found it to still be beautiful, restful and lovely. There is a nice busy restaurant, Blue Zoo that serves delicious snacks and light meals. the grounds are beautifully kept, but did notice that the little pond did not have water in it. There is a small zoo which will delight little kids.
This park is a popular kids party venue and there is a lovely playground as well.
I have fond memories of taking picnicking with my parents as a child and of taking my own kids there when they were little, and going back did not disappoint, still a lovely place

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Lucyg444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Walk Around”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

For only R11 a person, it is really cheap for what you get. A variety of small mammals and birds that look well taken care of. Its a great park to visit when you have an hour or so free. The highlight for me was seeing the alpaca.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank zbrentano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“shocking!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017 via mobile

The Zoo area was piled with rubbish everywhere. Birds dropping all over. Sick animals unattended to.There was a dead Blue Duiker decomposing with hundreds of flies around it whilst disturbed kids watched helplessly. The eating area at the park had filth all over with thousands of flies, not a cleaner in sight. The park grass was long and not maintained. This place should shut down! I had to answer to my 4 year old for two days as to why a dead animal was unattended to. Close this place down!!!

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
1 Thank Nithesh_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
402 reviews
261 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Great tranquil relaxing park ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2017 via mobile

I have been going to this park for just under 50 years, basically my whole life. From as long as I can remember this park has should the test of time. Now as an out of towner this park brings back good memories, the zoo is great value for money and the intention is for small kids so adults don't expect to see the big five. Still great to have a relaxing picnic. Will always visit when in town.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank TravelFeetZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mitchell Park also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Mitchell Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing