We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (268)
Filter reviews
268 results
Traveller rating
218
42
5
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
218
42
5
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews very pleasant stay yogurt berea mosquitoes florida
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 268 reviews
Reviewed 14 May 2016

I had a delightful experience at Essenwood House. Lovey veranda, great views, wonderful service. Breakfast was delicious, and sitting outside overlooking the pool and the views was a great balm for this urban dweller. I am hoping to return.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank spressner2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. Very much appreciated and so glad that you enjoyed your visit !
We hope of course to see you again if you are visiting these parts!
With best wishes
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2016 via mobile

Everything was so nice; I had a lovely room - the honeymoon suite, overlooking a colourful tree rich garden. Breakfast was good - especially the cheese board.
If I may make a recommendation to the owners - I came in after dark every night and there were no lights on - the staircase to and the verandah in front of my room were dark. I realize we are all trying to save electricity, but being alone, it was quite scary, even though you assured me it was very safe.
But apart from that, it was a lovely 4 days.
Will be back.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
1  Thank thecrownza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Much appreciated, but so sorry about the lights, the staff are supposed to put a light on outside your room and unfortunately you did not tell me, otherwise they would have been fixed the next night.
Anyway, great that you might visit us again, we much appreciated your staying with us.
Best wishes
john

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2016

This house is a beautiful colonial residence set well above the city on the hill giving some rooms a splendid view over the city. Our large bedroom had a large veranda, high ceilings and large bathroom - we were very happy and enjoyed the space and comfort. Well located near main access roads this BnB has a character of it's own. So good to see a little extra added to breakfast - the warm croissants were a special touch. The owners obviously take an active care - thanks for a wonderful stay.

Stayed: April 2016
Thank BrianS992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2016

Thank you so much for writing about your stay with us,. It is always a please to hear from our guests, even if they have complaints as that keeps us on our toes!!
Hope to see you some more
best wishes
John and paddy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2016

A three night wonderful stay at Essenwood having a great location, nice large bedrooms, fully equipped with all essentials.
Stephen could not do enough to make our stay perfect even in the absence of his Wife who was away. Stephen even chauffeured us to his recommended restaurants.
Highly recommended for your perfect stay.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2016

Thank you so much for your very kind comments about your stay with us. It is always a pleasure when we hear that our guests have enjoyed their stay and makes all the hard work worthwhile,
Hope to see you again
best wishes
John (not Stephen??)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2016

We sadly stayed only two nights at Essenwood House as there was no rooms available for a third night. Everything at Essenwood was of the highest quality. The rooms are very spacious, beautifully furnished in traditional style and a very thoughtfully stocked minibar is also provided. En suite bathrooms are of an equally high standard with both bath and separate walk in showers. Breakfasts are brilliant with fresh fruit salad provided and individually cooked full breakfasts to order. Florence the senior housekeeper does a wonderful job as do her staff.
Essenwoods very hospitable host John could not have been more helpful. We were close to restaurants and within easy reach of the town centre. A real Jewel, thank you for everything.
We should add that although there is free Wifi at Essenwood, the access was very unreliable indeed during our stay. Hopefully just a glitch.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 different rooms and both were fantastic so I think all rooms here are spacious, well equipped and very comfortable indeed.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essenwood, Owner at Essenwood House, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2016

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write about your stay with us. It is always god to hear feedback from our guests and any criticisms only make us try harder to make things perfect.
Hope to see you again Best wishes
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews