We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very slow service”

Pesto Restaurant At The Palace Resort
Ranked #186 of 678 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
Description: Looking for a quick bite to eat, a creamy cappuccino or in the mood for room service? Pesto is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving an array of delicious treats. Don't miss out on fine Mediterranean dining at Pesto Restaurant, situated on the ground floor overlooking the promenade.
Restaurant details
Description: Looking for a quick bite to eat, a creamy cappuccino or in the mood for room service? Pesto is open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, serving an array of delicious treats. Don't miss out on fine Mediterranean dining at Pesto Restaurant, situated on the ground floor overlooking the promenade.
Reviewed 10 February 2018

This restaurant's location is prime and perfect, and the prices quite reasonable. The service was almost non-existent, and this on a very quiet Friday afternoon. I had to get up more than once to request someone to serve us, at some point even having to obtain their telephone number and giving them a call, while seated at their table, to request some attention. The food was okay, really not bad, and sitting outside was great. Not sure if I'd go back but would not completely write it off.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank OllyPolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shamini P, General Manager at Pesto Restaurant At The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for your feedback and I apologize for the inconvenience caused to you due to the poor service you received. I assure you that this is not the normal standard of Pesto and it has been addressed with staff and management to ensure improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2017

Average service, food didn't take too long and was hot and fresh. Enjoyed chicken burgers and breakfast here, the eggs benedict was good. The coffee is very good and enjoyed a mojito in the evening as well! Nothing spectacular but tasty and affordable!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chryssie92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 17 August 2017

Thank you for telling us about your experience and we are so glad that you enjoyed your meal at Pesto.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2017

Slow service throughout the evening
No Penne pasta available which surprised me... how do you run out of that staple?
Ended up having spaghetti with bolognese sauce which was tasty but I left thinking that with their prime location on the Durban beachfront, the meal & experience could have / should have been so much better!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FanieFza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience.
I assure you that this will be addressed accordingly to ensure improvement in the standard of service offered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

The service was slow and food was way below average. The crispy bacon was way undercooked, the pasta was bland and tasteless, the fish was dry and the pizza had bits of burned wood stuck to the underside. The hamburger seemed to be the shining light in a sea of mediocrity. I would recommend that you walk on to somewhere else. That said, the way in which the Manager (Meschack) handled it gives them an extra point.

Thank AndrewMakkink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Thank you for your feedback. I assure you that these issues will most definitely be addressed to ensure improvement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2017 via mobile

Right across the road from the beach front makes it a perfect setting for breakfast and I suppose all meals. Service was fast and efficient and the food tasty.

Thank 492ricardop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 6 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Pesto. We are so glad that you enjoyed your meal and we look forward to always welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pesto Restaurant At The Palace Resort also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Pesto Restaurant At The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing