We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice seafood restaurant”
Review of Fish

Fish
Ranked #47 of 741 Restaurants in Durban
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 14 July 2017

I've visited this restaurant for dinner during a business trip to Durban. The food tasted very good, we had a fish platter for two which came with shrimps, linefish, calamari and mussels. The only negative point is that we expected simply grilled fish while there were several sauces that may have covered the fresh taste of this seafood platter. The service was quick and friendly.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrancescaB2471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

Visited for lunch! Our first visit, we Were pleasantly surprised indeed!! Food was fantastic, my husband and I had a platter for 2. Everything was perfectly done, very tasty and great service! We will definitely be returning :)

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Ugie_Govender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

Great food and a relaxed atmosphere, which is exactly what I want when I'm by the sea.
So nice to have a different menu depending on the fisherman's catch. Umhlanga is becoming very franchised and this little gem is local food at it's best.

Date of visit: November 2016
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2016 via mobile

After reading the reviews I thought we had hit the fish jackpot.

We sat outside - huge mistake traffic horrid and noisy.
We had to go inside to ask for a menu. A horrible short man threw one at us with a very rude demeanour. Think he is the manager. Rude.
Finally got a menu- she took ages to do anything.

So sadly service was pretty terrible, asked for ice, asked for water.
Neither came.

Fish was supposed to be grilled!!!
It had been fried in lots of oil or butter, drowning in the sauce. NOT grilled.

Salad was ok- few large over ripe tomatoes.

So not a good meal.
We struggled to get the bill.

We went to a very upmarket steak place , had three courses and paid the same as for our swimming in oil fish.

I don't recommend eating there.

Date of visit: November 2016
1  Thank Mespey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

Introduced to this restaurant by some locals for its excellent seafood. The fish and chips was only the best we have had for a long time. Friendly and quick service. We surely recommend this place and look forward to come back soon.

Date of visit: June 2016
Thank joko245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish also viewed

Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing