We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Brian B
Cape Town Central, South Africa

Back to its world class standard

Review of Quarters Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Mar 2019via mobile
The new management has returned this boutique establishment back to its previous exceptional standards. Rooms are better than simply comfortable; beds are exactly correct and the restaurant is transformed - for all three meals of the day.
Kelly & her team are aware of their guests’ every particular whim and ensure that needs are met, sometimes even before the guest is able to ask. Outstanding service is quietly delivered by all staff making one continually thinking : ‘I want to return’ !
Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 01 Apr 2019
Dear Mr Bechet

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your feedback and its so encouraging to know we are on the right path.

I will definitely pass on your kind words to Kelly and her team. We are glad to have you back to the Quarters Family!

Take care and see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Farhana

This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 010
R 912
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 005
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 010
1.8 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
R 725
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
1.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 705
R 1 385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • Trip.com
2.0 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Parade Hotel
R 770
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.7 km from Quarters Hotel
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
R 800
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
2.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 666
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
2.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 812
  • Priceline
1.7 km from Quarters Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
Front of Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 662
  • Booking.com
2.4 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    R 863
  • Booking.com
3.5 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Outside
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 889
  • Algotels
2.8 km from Quarters Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
60
47
24
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
47
24
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2019 via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel on all my business travels for a long time and never been disappointed. Service is great, staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast on offer and best Chicken & Prawn curry ever. Close to the beaches and shopping

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Bernadette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2019

Thank you so much Ms Odendaal, we really appreciate your feedback. We love having you stay with us :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2019

This was my second stay at Quarters, and I’d certainly return if I have the good fortune of getting back to Durban. The room is spacious and well appointed, the staff wonderful in every way (they even did some much-needed laundry on a Sunday, when normally they have no Sunday service). The breakfast is wonderful, and the French-press coffee – still served a dozen years after my first visit – remains excellent. Add to that the convenience of Florida Road with its great range of reasonably priced restaurants, and Quarters is the place to which I’d send anyone going to Durban. I should note, by the way, that we’d take Quarters any day over the $700-a-night hotel in which we stayed just before coming to Durban.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Mr Asher

It was a pleasure having you and Mrs Asher stay with us. Thank you for your very kind words and we do hope to have the good fortune of having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Farhana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

A lovely, well-run boutique hotel, Quarters combines modern amenities with classic elegance. We had a large upstairs corner room with balcony, which was perfect for late afternoon reading. Florida is brimming with activity, and Mitchell Park up the hill is a lovely respite.

On our brief visit, we arrived jet-lagged after a long trip from the US, and were early for check-in. Kelly and the rest of the Quarters staff treated us warmly and graciously while our room was made up, and service throughout our visit was uniformly excellent. We also chose to stay in for dinner, which was another great choice, as the in-house restaurant serves terrific food at reasonable prices. The breakfast and buffet were also excellent.

Durban has plenty of hotel and resort options, but for a warm, charming and far more personal stay, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better choice than Quarters. It would certainly be our top choice should we return.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hdbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We stayed here for dinner and a night and were surprised by the quality of the rooms and the food they served. The meal was served and left the kitchen as should be: hot and full of taste. The chicken/curry dish may be too spicy for some Westerners. Accomodations more than ok with lots of little attentions for their customers. Due to our extremely early departure for a domestic flight, we were issued a tasty and more than sufficient "breakfast to go".

Room tip: The older part of the hotel is near a busy road
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IDoLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are glad to have made your stay memorable.

We hope to see you again when you are in SA next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Home away from home. Enjoyable stay in Durban. Nice size rooms and well furnished with a great bathroom. Comfy beds and a very good breakfast.
There is safe and secure parking and a walk up Florida Rd means you have a choice of numerous restaurants in close proximity and its a safe environment to stroll up the road.
Rates are market related.

This time I had a room in the back section. It's slightly quite as you don't hear the traffic from Florida Rd, but the front rooms do offer a little extra charm.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hiltontait
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Mr Tait

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us again.

I have noted for a room in the 4th House but on the inside, so you'll have a bit more light.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Farhana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews