We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Bernadette O
Cape Town, South Africa

Best Hotel

Review of Quarters Hotel
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 06 Feb 2019via mobile
I have stayed in this hotel on all my business travels for a long time and never been disappointed. Service is great, staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast on offer and best Chicken & Prawn curry ever. Close to the beaches and shopping
Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 07 Feb 2019
Thank you so much Ms Odendaal, we really appreciate your feedback. We love having you stay with us :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 898
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 958
  • Vio.com
    R 805
  • Expedia.com
    R 890
1.7 km from Quarters Hotel
Pool
Beachfront
R 1 340
  • Priceline
    R 982
  • Agoda.com
    R 912
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 086
2.3 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 600
R 1 385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 385
  • Vio.com
    R 1 385
  • StayForLong
    R 1 578
2.0 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
R 710
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 659
  • Expedia.com
    R 722
  • Hotels.com
    R 725
1.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Parade Hotel
R 690
  • Priceline
    R 770
  • Agoda.com
    R 626
  • Expedia.com
    R 767
2.7 km from Quarters Hotel
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
R 712
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 656
  • Agoda.com
    R 559
  • Expedia.com
    R 797
2.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
R 949
  • Priceline
    R 868
  • Trip.com
    R 944
  • Agoda.com
    R 949
3.1 km from Quarters Hotel
Beachfront
Restaurant
R 574
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 574
  • Agoda.com
    R 574
3.3 km from Quarters Hotel
Beachfront
R 420
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 663
  • Agoda.com
    R 399
  • Trip.com
    R 662
2.9 km from Quarters Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
60
47
24
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
60
47
24
8
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 17 January 2019

This was my second stay at Quarters, and I’d certainly return if I have the good fortune of getting back to Durban. The room is spacious and well appointed, the staff wonderful in every way (they even did some much-needed laundry on a Sunday, when normally they have no Sunday service). The breakfast is wonderful, and the French-press coffee – still served a dozen years after my first visit – remains excellent. Add to that the convenience of Florida Road with its great range of reasonably priced restaurants, and Quarters is the place to which I’d send anyone going to Durban. I should note, by the way, that we’d take Quarters any day over the $700-a-night hotel in which we stayed just before coming to Durban.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Frederick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2019

Dear Mr Asher

It was a pleasure having you and Mrs Asher stay with us. Thank you for your very kind words and we do hope to have the good fortune of having you stay with us again.

Kind Regards
Farhana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2018 via mobile

A lovely, well-run boutique hotel, Quarters combines modern amenities with classic elegance. We had a large upstairs corner room with balcony, which was perfect for late afternoon reading. Florida is brimming with activity, and Mitchell Park up the hill is a lovely respite.

On our brief visit, we arrived jet-lagged after a long trip from the US, and were early for check-in. Kelly and the rest of the Quarters staff treated us warmly and graciously while our room was made up, and service throughout our visit was uniformly excellent. We also chose to stay in for dinner, which was another great choice, as the in-house restaurant serves terrific food at reasonable prices. The breakfast and buffet were also excellent.

Durban has plenty of hotel and resort options, but for a warm, charming and far more personal stay, you’d be hard-pressed to find a better choice than Quarters. It would certainly be our top choice should we return.

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank hdbyrne
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 November 2018

We stayed here for dinner and a night and were surprised by the quality of the rooms and the food they served. The meal was served and left the kitchen as should be: hot and full of taste. The chicken/curry dish may be too spicy for some Westerners. Accomodations more than ok with lots of little attentions for their customers. Due to our extremely early departure for a domestic flight, we were issued a tasty and more than sufficient "breakfast to go".

Room tip: The older part of the hotel is near a busy road
Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IDoLoveFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2018

Dear Guest

Thank you so much for your kind words and we are glad to have made your stay memorable.

We hope to see you again when you are in SA next.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

Home away from home. Enjoyable stay in Durban. Nice size rooms and well furnished with a great bathroom. Comfy beds and a very good breakfast.
There is safe and secure parking and a walk up Florida Rd means you have a choice of numerous restaurants in close proximity and its a safe environment to stroll up the road.
Rates are market related.

This time I had a room in the back section. It's slightly quite as you don't hear the traffic from Florida Rd, but the front rooms do offer a little extra charm.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank hiltontait
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear Mr Tait

Thank you for your kind words, we are happy you have enjoyed your stay with us again.

I have noted for a room in the 4th House but on the inside, so you'll have a bit more light.

Look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards
Farhana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

I used to travel a lot more to Durban for business so it’s been a while but it’s always good to be welcomed back to The Quarters.

It’s a great Boutique hotel where service is important. Nothing is too much trouble. The guests are really made to feel at home.

It’s so central for business trips.

The restaurant serves food of a high quality which is well presented. There is a little boutique in the hotel which often has great pieces.

The rooms are a little dated but they are always super clean.

I have stayed here for many years and it honestly is a great well located little business hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank MarvBlonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Farhana B, General Manager at Quarters Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Thank you so much for your comments and observations. We are hoping a room refurb is on the cards for next year and your motivation above helps strengthen the vote :)

.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews