We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jaxw1962
Pietermaritzburg, South Africa

Great family room

Review of The Oceanic
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 08 Sept 2019
We booked a 3 bedroom unit which was larger than we anticipated. Three generous bedrooms each with an en-suite bathroom (no bath, 3 showers). A good size lounge/dining room, fully self-catering with well equipped kitchen and full size fridge. Room was clean and nice decor. Secure undercover parking. Staff were attentive and very friendly. Quick, easy check-in and check-out. Definitely value for money.
Date of stay: September 2019
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
10South, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this review
Responded 09 Sept 2019
Dear Jaxw1962,

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment. We look forward to host you again in the near future.

See you real soon.

Regards,

David Sumo
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 400
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
0.2 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 1 086
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Booking.com
0.8 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Free parking
Front of Hotel
R 995
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.8 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Beachfront
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
R 663
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
1.1 km from The Oceanic
R 666
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.1 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 829
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from The Oceanic
Pool
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 1 694
  • Algotels
0.3 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Pool
The Royal Outside
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 757
  • Algotels
2.0 km from The Oceanic
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 828
  • Algotels
4.1 km from The Oceanic
Free Wifi
Free parking
Parade Hotel
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    R 644
  • Priceline
1.0 km from The Oceanic
Beachfront
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
49
46
21
7
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
49
46
21
7
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2019

We had a good stay at Oceanic.
Good value for money and clean and neat. Spacious apartment. Unfortunately you have to pay for parking. Parking is available undercover and secure. No kitchen knives if you plan to cook. Had to call to get a knife. Very friendly staff who are well trained and efficient.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank vgoven739724
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
10South, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2019

Dear vgoven739724,

Thank you for your great reviews and are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will convey the message to staff. We have taken note of your observation and will use it for our improvement.

Regards,
David Sumo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2019

Even with the few disappointing factors, it's good value for money and in a good spot, near the beach, it's a spacious and comfortable apartment.

The restaurant didn't have all the items available, but non the less the food was delicious.

Room tip: The shower heads are awkward and make a huge mess as they face an odd angle
Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gkhan624573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 August 2019

it is a very nice place , i love the staff and services are amazing, the restaurant is great , the room as well its unique and clean as well but please change couches for other rooms, and pool excellent, Jacuzzi is-excellent and steam room excellent.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank zodwa75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
10South, Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2019

Dear Zodwa75

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We appreciate your positive comments and looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards
ST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2019

Is that everything is safe, you will never find your belongings missing, and another thing that made us happy is we did not get bored we had the TV in the room. The aircons were working nicely. bathrooms clean. Every thing overall was perfect.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank patiencephakathi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
10South, Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2019

Dear Patience Phakathi

Thank you for sharing your experience with us .
We real appreciate your positive comments.

We looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm Regards

ST

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2019

No communication was prior to arrival of renovations to the property, we could not make use of any of the facilities such as jacuzzi, sauna, pool area(due to dust). We informed them that we will be 5 instead of 4 and this was personally communicated way in advance yet when I asked for a extra plate and cup, I was refused yet I paid the additional for a extra bed. I did not feel safe to walk outside the property in the evening as it did not seemed safe for ladies. The cleaning staff was friendly but their process can be more efficient as we had to wait hours for clean towels after the staff removed the used towels. The rooms were clean.

Date of stay: August 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank iegshaana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
10South, General Manager at The Oceanic, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2019

Dear iegshaana,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us, we humble apologise for inconvenience during construction at the pool and we noted your concern for future improvement.
We looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Warm regards

I.M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews