We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“First disappointment but ended with a wish to extend my stay. Just so not like me to wish to expand hotel stay.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Durban

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Durban
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“First disappointment but ended with a wish to extend my stay. Just so not like me to wish to expand hotel stay.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What I experienced is not what I had expected n wished especially as had hoped for a relaxing resting space instead found myself with more concerns n complains. This spoilt my two nights stay. Having said this but the manner duty managers dealt with complaints had is welcomed and very much appreciated. I call that ensuring customer is made to feel important n appreciated. Follow ups emails received also indicate willingness to address issues n improve on services which is a plus sign in the part of management.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 85smangelek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on TripAdvisor.

I am pleased to read your kind words toward our staff and that you enjoyed, however it saddens me that you were not completely happy with your stay and that you did not make you feel cared for or respected. My sincerest apologies for not meeting nor exceeding your expectations.

We all want to make sure your stay would be as comfortable as possible and we would love to receive an opportunity to make it happen for you.

We sincerely hope you would give us another chance to better your experience with us.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1 271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    473
    416
    214
    90
    78
See reviews for
202
261
77
612
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hergiswil, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

-Poor slow service (30min check in)
-Useless management
-Old rooms, very bad lights in the room, I wasn't able to read papers on the desk.
-Desk lamp was broken
-No free wifi unless you are a free hhonor member.
-I had to call guest service to get towels in the morning.


-I booked a massage, i realized only later how dirty this massage bad was. All over hairs and it wasn't clean nor disinfected!!!!Very disgusting!!!! Dust was on the bed railings and it was even rusty!!

Please see pictures attached.

Health department should close down the spa, big health risk!!

The Manager in charge should get changed!!!!!

Stayed January 2017
Helpful?
Thank kingston1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We are very sorry that your experience with the Hilton Durban did not meet your expectations. I will be informing our hotel leaders about the issues you experienced, so that we can avoid complications like these in the future. It always our goal for our Front Desk, Restaurants and Housekeeping teams to make sure we have all our guests cared for and respected throughout there stay and I will be reaching out to the Managements of these departments to make sure we are more vigilante about this going forward. We do hope that you will visit us again in the future so we have another chance to show you a true Hilton experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Older rooms are outdated and tired. Poor value for money at a 5 star property. Expensive. Poor service delivery. Slow turnaround by staff to requests especially the housekeeping staff. Lack of action to address problems by management

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank zunaidd2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest

Many thanks for being our guest and for posting your review. As a HHonors member, you are among our most valued guests.

We are truly very concerned and sorry to read your comments and the way you feel about our property and the service provided. Despite the impression created, however we want to assure you that we do care for all our guests and we aim to always provide high quality service and hospitality standards. I have addressed this with our Front Office Manager, Executive Housekeeper and the Chief Engineer.

Once again thank you for having chosen to stay with us. Your satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We spent one night in this Hotel an paid quite a high rate which I cannot say was worth it. We were given a room on the 2nd floor which was old an in desperate need of renovation. We were advised that rooms on the top floors were already renovated. The rooms did not have towels upon arrival. But it was a peak period and the hotel was fully booked up. Even breakfast was a mission due to the amount of people present. The pool area was very badly kept and did not look inviting.

On the overall however the food was really good. We ordered in room dining and the breakfast was really good as well. The service was good overall, even though we had to call housekeeping a few times to get our towels. The room was clean.

My advice would be to stay clear of it during the peak period an opt for a room on a higher up floor. It is of a 4 star standard. There was no turn down of our room or chocolates on the pillow. It was basic rooms an bathroom as well.

I think the renovated room would fine.

Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rowena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your review and for choosing our hotel! We are pleased to hear you were happy with your overall service and breakfast in-room dining. Please accept our apologies for the unsatisfactory overall accommodation and experience you received. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and we hope to see you again the next time your travels bring you to Durban!

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overall service was more than 5 star. Staff were friendly and efficient, even tho the hotel was fully booked over the Christmas & new year period. we received excellent service all round. would definitely stay there again. rooms were impeccable and clean and fresh. great Service

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank munazzak2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkusMFritz, General Manager at Hilton Durban, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your comments from your recent visit to the Hilton Durban! I am delighted that you had an exceptional time and that your expectations were exceeded. We will certainly share you feedback with our team, and thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely
Markus
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Durban
1.0 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
0.9 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
1.9 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 km away
Premier Hotel Pinetown
Premier Hotel Pinetown
#1 of 1 in Pinetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.5 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.5 km away
City Lodge Hotel Durban
City Lodge Hotel Durban
#15 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Durban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Durban

Property: Hilton Durban
Address: 12 - 14 Walnut Road, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
#9 Business Hotel in Durban
Price range (per night): R1 100 - R2 701
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Durban 5*
Number of rooms: 324
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA and Expedia so you can book your Hilton Durban reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Durban Hotel Durban
Hilton International Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing