We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Nearby Hotels
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Benjamin(Durban)
US$144
US$140
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$148
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Durban(Durban)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$124
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$135
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$147
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2 320)
Filter reviews
2 320 results
Traveller rating
906
847
324
134
109
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
847
324
134
109
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsocean breezetsogo sunpool deckindian oceangolden mileroom servicedurban beachfrontsea facingexcellent servicefamily roomrooms are spaciousenjoyed my staypleasant stayvigourvervedarumasamantha
Filter
Updating list...
712 - 717 of 2 320 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Breakfast was excellent, staff was friendly and very helpful.
The buffett dinner was bit over priced but nevertheless the food was too die for.we enjoyed the pool area .rooms was comfortable and we experienced less noise.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the seaside view
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 838quintond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as your meal experiences and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Hotel is good but as a frequent guest club should have goat a better rate. Breakfast for halaal must be served separately as there is a lot of halaal guest at this peak season.
so that it does not clash with non halaal food.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ismael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

Our Rewards card members receive a 10% discount on the best available rate, which is available on our website.
We serve a Traditional English breakfast, which includes pork items, which are placed on the buffet. Unfortunately, we are not able to serve these items separately, although all utensils used for these items are identified with red markings.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I stayed at holiday inn elangeni from the 23 december and my cell phone was stolen on the 28 december from my room the manager has put the cleaning lady on the lie detector but to my suprise it came out clear i still dont have the report pysically was just told that . please be careful and lock all valuebles away even your cell phones while not in use

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank RASH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

All incidents regarding alleged loss of valuables are viewed in a very serious light and a thorough investigation is conducted by our security team, which may include lie-detector tests of staff who gained access to your room, during the period in which the item went missing. I am happy to forward you a copy of our investigation, including the test (which is conducted by an independent company), for your records.

Whilst this incident is regretted, our investigation has revealed no wrongdoing of any staff, which is why you were referred to your insurer. We do provide safes in our rooms and advise all guest to secure their valuables in the safe when not in use.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed at Elangeni from the 18th to the 23rd December. It was incredible. We had a room higher up- on the 20th floor and the views were simply amazing- if you do stay, wake up and watch the beautiful sunrise over the ocean. We stayed at Garden Court Marine Parade and Garden Court South Beach, both are great- but the Elangeni is the best. The Elangeni has three heated pools- one of them a kids pool that our son loved. Breakfast is great. Pizzas are awesome from the Oceans view restaurant, room service is excellent- it was an incredible stay and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank prathna_sheobalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Kids paradise at Elangeni Hotel Durban
Rooms are great , pools are stunning for kids
and beaches are the best in the world
Tasneem from reception welcome us warmly
Rosy kept our room spotless
SPHE makes sure you are well fed at breakfast
activity for kids and beach is less than a minute walk
Family had a great time

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Ahmed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews