We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stayed at elangeni hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
Ranked #3 of 44 Hotels in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2017

Breakfast was excellent, staff was friendly and very helpful.
The buffett dinner was bit over priced but nevertheless the food was too die for.we enjoyed the pool area .rooms was comfortable and we experienced less noise.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the seaside view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 838quintond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay as well as your meal experiences and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2 099)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 500 of 2 100 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2017

Hotel is good but as a frequent guest club should have goat a better rate. Breakfast for halaal must be served separately as there is a lot of halaal guest at this peak season.
so that it does not clash with non halaal food.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Ismael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

Our Rewards card members receive a 10% discount on the best available rate, which is available on our website.
We serve a Traditional English breakfast, which includes pork items, which are placed on the buffet. Unfortunately, we are not able to serve these items separately, although all utensils used for these items are identified with red markings.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

I stayed at holiday inn elangeni from the 23 december and my cell phone was stolen on the 28 december from my room the manager has put the cleaning lady on the lie detector but to my suprise it came out clear i still dont have the report pysically was just told that . please be careful and lock all valuebles away even your cell phones while not in use

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank RASH97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

All incidents regarding alleged loss of valuables are viewed in a very serious light and a thorough investigation is conducted by our security team, which may include lie-detector tests of staff who gained access to your room, during the period in which the item went missing. I am happy to forward you a copy of our investigation, including the test (which is conducted by an independent company), for your records.

Whilst this incident is regretted, our investigation has revealed no wrongdoing of any staff, which is why you were referred to your insurer. We do provide safes in our rooms and advise all guest to secure their valuables in the safe when not in use.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Stayed at Elangeni from the 18th to the 23rd December. It was incredible. We had a room higher up- on the 20th floor and the views were simply amazing- if you do stay, wake up and watch the beautiful sunrise over the ocean. We stayed at Garden Court Marine Parade and Garden Court South Beach, both are great- but the Elangeni is the best. The Elangeni has three heated pools- one of them a kids pool that our son loved. Breakfast is great. Pizzas are awesome from the Oceans view restaurant, room service is excellent- it was an incredible stay and I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank prathna_sheobalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am delighted that you had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2017

Kids paradise at Elangeni Hotel Durban
Rooms are great , pools are stunning for kids
and beaches are the best in the world
Tasneem from reception welcome us warmly
Rosy kept our room spotless
SPHE makes sure you are well fed at breakfast
activity for kids and beach is less than a minute walk
Family had a great time

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
1  Thank Ahmed J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha C, General Manager at Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review and for your valuable feedback.

I am delighted that you and your family had a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
0,9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#2 of 44 in Durban
1 528 reviews
0,9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
1,1 km away
Suncoast Towers
Suncoast Towers
#6 of 44 in Durban
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0,5 km away
Belaire Suites
Belaire Suites
#9 of 44 in Durban
453 reviews
0,7 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#18 of 44 in Durban
637 reviews
1,1 km away
Road Lodge Durban
Road Lodge Durban
#24 of 44 in Durban
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani

Address: 63 OR O R Tambo Parade | North Beach, Durban 4001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Durban
#2 Business Hotel in Durban
#2 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range: R1 977 - R4 582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani 4*
Number of rooms: 449
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Radiating energy and elegance across the Golden Mile, Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani invites you to take your place in the sun. From the stylish bedrooms with breath-taking sea-views to the variety of restaurants and recreation facilities, visitors can look forward to the vibrancy, colour and culture of Durban's premier hotel destination offering more choice than ever before, from service and hospitality through to accommodation and dining. Absolutely everything under one sun! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Elangeni Durban
Elangeni Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing