We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Leon L
Cape Town, South Africa

Birthday stay

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 11 Jul 2022via mobile
I stayed during the Easter holidays. Unfortunately due to the flooding the hotel had lots of cancellations. However I made it down to durban without any problems.

My room was on the 15th floor. Nice large room with great views over the Indian ocean. Even got a nice birthday surprise upon check in.

Recommend the breakfast buffet. Big selection of nice full English breakfast and some tea's and coffee.

All the staff are very welcome and friendly all over the hotel. Easy to get taxis, close to the bus stop and beach.Safe location.Will stay here again.
Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 097
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 912
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 175
0.6 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 1 435
R 1 010
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 103
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 100
1.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 900
R 1 385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
  • StayForLong
    R 1 592
0.9 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Pool
Front of Hotel
R 626
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    R 606
  • StayForLong
    R 714
0.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 895
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    R 821
  • Expedia.com
    R 896
1.5 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Pool
Beachfront
R 990
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 428
  • Agoda.com
    R 877
  • Priceline
5.2 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Outside
R 708
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    R 574
  • Expedia.com
    R 801
1.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Pool
Restaurant
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 850
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
0.3 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 659
  • Expedia.com
    R 726
  • Agoda.com
    R 710
1.1 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
    R 667
  • Agoda.com
    R 399
  • StayForLong
1.6 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (1 760)
Filter reviews
1 761 results
Traveller rating
878
544
219
77
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
878
544
219
77
43
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 761 reviews
Reviewed 4 February 2022 via mobile

No idea how this place is the top ranked hotel in Durban. Must be one of those where TripAdvisor has some deal with them. No drinking water in the room, terrible mattress and pillows, air conditioning didn't work, and the windows didn't open so the room was really stuffy. All night you could hear the wind howling through gaps in the window frame.

Date of stay: February 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Nikhil_Advani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 December 2021 via mobile

Went here again last month (November 2021) for our yearly family vacation and this hotel never disappoint. Everything is top notch , from Check in through out our stay the service was on another level.... The baffet breakfast was perfect, different foods every morning, due to covid some of the items we used to were not available plus other items were behind the counter,even for something as simple as juice,the servers would offer to bring it to you.
Mr Osborne went the extra mile to make sure that our table was always clean and our drinks always refilled, ever since we started visiting this establishment from 2015, Mr Osborne has always served us with a smile never a dull moment, Mrs Maureen from the kitchen (cold section) was a darling, she made sure my kids had fresh chocolate and blueberry muffins as she noticed that they love them.
I hope management sees this and give them credit for their outstanding efforts to make patrons happy and comfortable.
I could go on and on about this hotel...
Great stay overall.

Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank 1983arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

The food tastes horrible, Oh Lord out of like 8 dishes maybe one tasted better. I was soo angry and frustrated when I order a breakfast pack and the toasted bread came with hair on it. I will never ever book this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank SwaziM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Worst experience ever!

1. Aircon doesn’t work. Called their maintenance to sort out, they come and pretend like they fixing it and just leave.
2. Aircon then makes a loud buzzing noise in the middle of the night on night one but stops around 8pm. Day two, loud noise is on and off till around 11pm. It’s 23:06 as I write this review and the loud sound is still going. It’s 23:29 and must move the whole family to a new room 11 floors down.
3. Got harassed by their room service over billing on the first night. Didn’t make sense and was woken up at 22:00 to settle a bill. Then the explanation is just a blame game in between their departments.
4. No control at the elevators. Due to COVID, only three persons are allowed at the elevator - fair enough. But then there is commotion because some of us are courteous enough to wait in line but their Porter just comes, jumps the line and takes his guest pass everyone else. On day one, they had a security to coordinate but then decided to just stop that.
5. Stale waffles.
6. Paid parking. Why don’t charge that into the booking fee. Why would I want to leave my car in the streets with no security.

Overall, it was a hotel from hell. I thought it was an episode from pranks or laugh out loud. Only difference there were no cameras coming out during the climax.

All the negative made it difficult to see the little good that could be seen.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2020

It was the first time we went here without our kids, this time around it was our honeymoon.(23-25 October 2020)
We got here @ around 06:50 all the way from Pretoria and Ms Nokwanda Mbele from reception was of great help, we were tired from over night travel and she booked us a room just to rest while they were busy preparing our room, after a few hours we were called and our room was ready (as we requested early check in) .She literally made our stay...
Covid changed a lot of things , but it was still a pleasant stay, i applaud Mr Osborn Dlamini (since our first stay here back in 2015) he always serves us with a smile, a man of great character, great stuff all-round. We had our dinner on Saturday and it was lovely and delicious, we loved it very much. Our stay was perfect, we have no negative comment.... only good ones, this establishment have never disappointed us. Thank you Tsogo sun for another wonderful stay. (we will be back soon)

Room tip: higher rooms have the best view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1983arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews