We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
1983arthur
Soshanguve, South Africa

Another great family vacation

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 02 Dec 2021via mobile
Went here again last month (November 2021) for our yearly family vacation and this hotel never disappoint. Everything is top notch , from Check in through out our stay the service was on another level.... The baffet breakfast was perfect, different foods every morning, due to covid some of the items we used to were not available plus other items were behind the counter,even for something as simple as juice,the servers would offer to bring it to you.
Mr Osborne went the extra mile to make sure that our table was always clean and our drinks always refilled, ever since we started visiting this establishment from 2015, Mr Osborne has always served us with a smile never a dull moment, Mrs Maureen from the kitchen (cold section) was a darling, she made sure my kids had fresh chocolate and blueberry muffins as she noticed that they love them.
I hope management sees this and give them credit for their outstanding efforts to make patrons happy and comfortable.
I could go on and on about this hotel...
Great stay overall.
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
R 1 162
  • Priceline
    R 982
  • Agoda.com
    R 912
  • Hotels.com
    R 1 086
0.6 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
R 850
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 850
  • StayForLong
  • Agoda.com
    R 850
0.3 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
R 959
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 917
  • Vio.com
    R 878
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 007
1.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
R 1 674
R 1 385
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 1 385
  • Vio.com
    R 1 385
  • StayForLong
    R 1 579
0.9 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Pool
R 844
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    R 958
  • Lol.travel
    R 821
  • Expedia.com
    R 895
1.5 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Pool
Beachfront
Front of Hotel
R 693
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 628
  • Agoda.com
    R 606
  • Expedia.com
    R 691
0.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
SUN1 DURBAN EXTERIOR
R 710
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 659
  • Expedia.com
    R 723
  • Hotels.com
    R 725
1.1 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
R 1 021
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 988
  • Agoda.com
    R 866
  • Expedia.com
    R 1 414
5.2 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
R 712
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    R 661
  • Agoda.com
    R 559
  • Expedia.com
    R 798
1.8 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (1 760)
Filter reviews
1 760 results
Traveller rating
878
543
219
77
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
878
543
219
77
43
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1 760 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2021 via mobile

The food tastes horrible, Oh Lord out of like 8 dishes maybe one tasted better. I was soo angry and frustrated when I order a breakfast pack and the toasted bread came with hair on it. I will never ever book this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank SwaziM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 April 2021

Worst experience ever!

1. Aircon doesn’t work. Called their maintenance to sort out, they come and pretend like they fixing it and just leave.
2. Aircon then makes a loud buzzing noise in the middle of the night on night one but stops around 8pm. Day two, loud noise is on and off till around 11pm. It’s 23:06 as I write this review and the loud sound is still going. It’s 23:29 and must move the whole family to a new room 11 floors down.
3. Got harassed by their room service over billing on the first night. Didn’t make sense and was woken up at 22:00 to settle a bill. Then the explanation is just a blame game in between their departments.
4. No control at the elevators. Due to COVID, only three persons are allowed at the elevator - fair enough. But then there is commotion because some of us are courteous enough to wait in line but their Porter just comes, jumps the line and takes his guest pass everyone else. On day one, they had a security to coordinate but then decided to just stop that.
5. Stale waffles.
6. Paid parking. Why don’t charge that into the booking fee. Why would I want to leave my car in the streets with no security.

Overall, it was a hotel from hell. I thought it was an episode from pranks or laugh out loud. Only difference there were no cameras coming out during the climax.

All the negative made it difficult to see the little good that could be seen.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donda78
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 November 2020

It was the first time we went here without our kids, this time around it was our honeymoon.(23-25 October 2020)
We got here @ around 06:50 all the way from Pretoria and Ms Nokwanda Mbele from reception was of great help, we were tired from over night travel and she booked us a room just to rest while they were busy preparing our room, after a few hours we were called and our room was ready (as we requested early check in) .She literally made our stay...
Covid changed a lot of things , but it was still a pleasant stay, i applaud Mr Osborn Dlamini (since our first stay here back in 2015) he always serves us with a smile, a man of great character, great stuff all-round. We had our dinner on Saturday and it was lovely and delicious, we loved it very much. Our stay was perfect, we have no negative comment.... only good ones, this establishment have never disappointed us. Thank you Tsogo sun for another wonderful stay. (we will be back soon)

Room tip: higher rooms have the best view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1983arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

The property is well located, right in the middle of the Durban beachfront - you can walk the full promenade from there. We had a room on the 24th floor, and the views out to sea, across central Durban, and towards the harbour mouth were all great. However, walking towards town from the hotel is not a good idea and does not feel safe.

The front desk staff were all extremely friendly and helpful at all times.

The rooms and common areas were all clean and comfortable. We had a good night's sleep in a comfortable and spacious bed.

The decoration in the restaurant is however a bit old and bland, and restaurant staff were not as friendly as the front desk. The food was very tasty though - the buffet breakfast was well handled, taking government Covid regulations into account.

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Our room was neat and clean. Everything was nice and clean at the breakfast buffet, in line with Covid19 regulations. The dinner buffet can be better in terms of variety, but due to many dishes having to be prepacked by the kitchen it does make it more challenging for them to offer more variety. We bought our tickets for Ushaka direct from the hotel and we were so glad we did, as the lines were loooong and we just skipped right pass it. Convenient and we got to enjoy the park for longer. We will definitely go back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ackadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews