We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Donda

Worst experience ever

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 03 Apr 2021
Worst experience ever!

1. Aircon doesn’t work. Called their maintenance to sort out, they come and pretend like they fixing it and just leave.
2. Aircon then makes a loud buzzing noise in the middle of the night on night one but stops around 8pm. Day two, loud noise is on and off till around 11pm. It’s 23:06 as I write this review and the loud sound is still going. It’s 23:29 and must move the whole family to a new room 11 floors down.
3. Got harassed by their room service over billing on the first night. Didn’t make sense and was woken up at 22:00 to settle a bill. Then the explanation is just a blame game in between their departments.
4. No control at the elevators. Due to COVID, only three persons are allowed at the elevator - fair enough. But then there is commotion because some of us are courteous enough to wait in line but their Porter just comes, jumps the line and takes his guest pass everyone else. On day one, they had a security to coordinate but then decided to just stop that.
5. Stale waffles.
6. Paid parking. Why don’t charge that into the booking fee. Why would I want to leave my car in the streets with no security.

Overall, it was a hotel from hell. I thought it was an episode from pranks or laugh out loud. Only difference there were no cameras coming out during the climax.

All the negative made it difficult to see the little good that could be seen.
Date of stay: April 2021
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Coastlands Durban Main Pic
R 850
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • StayForLong
0.3 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 965
  • Algotels
0.6 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 128
  • Algotels
1.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
R 701
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    R 611
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    R 824
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Pool
Beachfront
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani exterior
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    R 1 548
  • Algotels
0.9 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    R 898
  • Algotels
5.2 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
The Royal Outside
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 780
  • Vio.com
    R 755
  • Booking.com
1.4 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Pool
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
    R 567
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    R 462
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    R 667
1.6 km from Garden Court Marine Parade
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Durban
Reviews (1 760)
Filter reviews
1 760 results
Traveller rating
878
543
219
77
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
878
543
219
77
43
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 1 760 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2020

It was the first time we went here without our kids, this time around it was our honeymoon.(23-25 October 2020)
We got here @ around 06:50 all the way from Pretoria and Ms Nokwanda Mbele from reception was of great help, we were tired from over night travel and she booked us a room just to rest while they were busy preparing our room, after a few hours we were called and our room was ready (as we requested early check in) .She literally made our stay...
Covid changed a lot of things , but it was still a pleasant stay, i applaud Mr Osborn Dlamini (since our first stay here back in 2015) he always serves us with a smile, a man of great character, great stuff all-round. We had our dinner on Saturday and it was lovely and delicious, we loved it very much. Our stay was perfect, we have no negative comment.... only good ones, this establishment have never disappointed us. Thank you Tsogo sun for another wonderful stay. (we will be back soon)

Room tip: higher rooms have the best view
Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 1983arthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 October 2020

The property is well located, right in the middle of the Durban beachfront - you can walk the full promenade from there. We had a room on the 24th floor, and the views out to sea, across central Durban, and towards the harbour mouth were all great. However, walking towards town from the hotel is not a good idea and does not feel safe.

The front desk staff were all extremely friendly and helpful at all times.

The rooms and common areas were all clean and comfortable. We had a good night's sleep in a comfortable and spacious bed.

The decoration in the restaurant is however a bit old and bland, and restaurant staff were not as friendly as the front desk. The food was very tasty though - the buffet breakfast was well handled, taking government Covid regulations into account.

Date of stay: September 2020
2  Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 September 2020 via mobile

We had a lovely stay here. Staff were mostly friendly and helpful. Our room was neat and clean. Everything was nice and clean at the breakfast buffet, in line with Covid19 regulations. The dinner buffet can be better in terms of variety, but due to many dishes having to be prepacked by the kitchen it does make it more challenging for them to offer more variety. We bought our tickets for Ushaka direct from the hotel and we were so glad we did, as the lines were loooong and we just skipped right pass it. Convenient and we got to enjoy the park for longer. We will definitely go back.

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Ackadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020

When visiting family in a town or city across the country, one often looks for acomodation that serves as one's home away from home, especially for a family of four.

The Garden Court Marine Parade with its relatively large well appointed rooms , interleading if so requested , fits this criterion perfectly.

We were equally impressed by the variety of the Breakfast menu. To elaborate , on our first morning I had to leave very early for a destination just outside the city with the intention of eating out on my own. At about 9h30 I got a call from my wife to say that if I could , I should rather attempt making it back to the hotel to enjoy their breakfast. For me, that was the most rewarding attempt during our stay. Being vegetarian , the offering was profound and equally sumptious. Compliments to the chef for choice and to the dining staff for their hospitality.

The hotel is ideally located to access destinations both north and south of the city as well as being in close proximity to excellent entertainment venues within the greater metropolitan landscape.

The unobstructed seaview is an obvious charm. The unique internal archictectural features with interesting use of space makes this an enjoyable venue to meet over a nightcap. We enjoyed our brief stay at this establishment and would definitely return there in the future.

One item that was slightly irksome was the incapacity of the room airconditioning to sufficiently cool despite attention by maintenance personnel.

Our overall experience was otherwise extermely good.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank pravinsingh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 March 2020

From reception during checking in And through out the entire weekend the staff at Garden court were really great. Courtesy calls to Check if there’s anything we need or any complains we may have. The food was amazing, the room was warm neat and very clean. We really enjoyed our stay at Marine parade. To the staff and the management team, keep up the good work.

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Refilwe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews