We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$131
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Book now, pay at stay
US$126
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$157
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$172
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$175/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$43
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
7
5
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
7
5
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshop sellssouthern drakensbergchaletfireplacegymresortlounge
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

We had a restful midweek break up in the Southern Drakensberg. The weather was cloudy and a bit chilly for December.
The accomodation was excellent and the youg ones enjoyed the two hour horse tide to see the falls. Other ammenities are good but if you are self catering, make sure you take your own fruit and veggies. The shop sells a few things but not much of a range. Bar and resteraunt are reasonable and the food we ate was good. If you want a restful holiday it is worth the trip.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Qunu Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2017

Dear Nigel,

Thank you very much for the review of your recent stay.

We are delighted that the family enjoyed their holiday in the Southern Drakensberg and look forward to welcoming you all once again in the near future.

Regards
Qunu Falls Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016

Bad management
Beautiful place to stay. The place to go and have a nice relaxing time. BUT the management not that great. There is no details about the area or the lodge. We asked for a brochure but the lodge doesn’t have any. Room service is poor. Don’t bet on it that you’ll get nice fresh towels or linens, maybe the one that smell moldy. On arrival the fan was broken and the refrigerator. I must say when we reported it they did change it immediately. The restaurant is a must and the lumber jack bar. Hopefully the can improve on the small things that’s not in place.

Room Tip: 4 sleeper actually a 2 sleeper one double bed and one sleeper couch
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EWOUD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Qunu Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Ewoud P, Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to read that you feel that we let you down in certain aspects of our guest services. We apologise for any inconvenience caused. Regards. Suntide Qunu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2016 via mobile

What a great place! Nicely and remotely tucked away up in the mountains is a little piece of tranquil heaven.

Coming from Joburg we needed a peaceful break and this is something Qunu lodge does very well indeed. Great views, comfy rooms and loads of activities and farm animals for our 2 year old to interact with made it a really special week.

Food good, bar good, staff great; rooms great and views spectacular! Will be going back for sure!

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Qunu Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2016

Dear Greg, Thank you for your review. We are delighted to read that our resort proved to be the perfect mountain escape from the Joburg rat race for your family. We look forward to your return. Regards. Suntide Qunu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2016

Travelling to Suntide Qunu Lodge was an adventure as we took the off the beaten track and drove through rural villages and up mountains
Arriving at the lodge we were welcomed by professional staff who arranged that the two units i booked had a stunning view over the valley and that they were right next to each other (this was not so via the pc booking)
The bar area was great the facilities fantastic. I made huge fires in the stunning fire places and we made many new friends over the weekend
The trail ponies were truly pleasant.
We were also impressed by the variety in the shop taking into consideration that the superspar in Richmond is 60km of mostly dirtroad which my touareg enjoyd away but it might kill the smaller cars.
The chalets were awesome.
Granite tops.
Comfy beds
Great fire places
Awesome utensils - everything you can basicly think about
the wood is cheap at the bar and shop and the fireplace in the chalet creates a fabulous mood as the mist moves in over the valley and the fire crackles away while you play board games with mates and newly acquired friends while sipping on some good wine
The view over the vwlley is unreal. Its magical
And do go for a trail ride or a hike you will enjoy the fslls and the quietness of the forrest!
If you want peace and quiet and want to listen to the birds of the valley and wake up with nguni cattle grazing 50m away from your chalet and blessing you with their serenit.... then SUNTIDE QUNU LODGE is a place to visit... not once but a few times.

We will be returning soon.... who cares about a 6 hour journey from joburg when you can have peace and quiet for 4 days!

Room Tip: The kitchen also serves awesome food
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roeleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Qunu Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2016

Dear Roeleen, We fully appreciate your positive endorsement of our resort and are delighted that our Drakensberg location allowed you to unwind and relax from the city life. Regards. Suntide Qunu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2016

Looking for a beautiful,quiet place just to distress i will recommend this place. This is a place i would recommend. Me and my partner we had a wonderful relaxing week. The atmosphere, the valleys and the walks were breathtaking.There was no need to even drive out of the resort to look for activities because they have activities to keep you busy and entertained.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Moratuwa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BeekmanGroup, Manager at Qunu Falls Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2016

Dear Moratuwa, Thank you very much for your review and we are delighted to read that you both enjoyed your holiday escape in the Drakensberg at our resort. Regards. Suntide Qunu Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews